We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fun and adrenaline”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rotorua Rafting

Rotorua Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.62*
and up
Kaituna River White Water Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rotorua Rafting is a whitewater rafting company that rafts the highest commercially rafted waterfall in the world, found in beautiful Rotorua, New Zealand on the incredible Kaituna River!
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best fun and adrenaline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The guides are really good. They give you all the briefings and instructions that you need to know to go on the trip. We booked through the i-center and was told that they are the best, and they're right.

They told us that rafts never turn... I guess maybe we were a bit overweight and kind of off-balanced the raft. Anyways even though our raft flipped over, it was great. We stuck to all the instructions they gave us and we were fine, plus the team immediately gave us assistance (fished us out of the river back into the raft).

I loved it, you could feel the adrenaline and would do it again soon. I am glad that the raft turned over, because only this way you can say you fully experienced rafting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    16
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was the first time my boyfriend and I had ever been rafting and I think we did it with the best company and the best river. It was absolutely amazing, one of the top things to do in NZ! The rafting team were great fun. I highly recommend it as a thing to do when visiting Rotorua!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank McGoodone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Adventure Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The kids (15 & 16) were looking for adventure, and this tour was highly recommended. The guides were fun, experienced yet took it seriously and very professional. The kids had a ball and rate the experience as the most fun that they have had. As a spectator you can walk along the river and get good vantage points for some of the rapids and drops. Spectacular acenery. The kids are hooked on rafting!!! Well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exciting rafting tour...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have booked a rafting tour after the tourist center recommended the Rotorua Raftingteam. We were kind of late, but still early enough to jump in our suits. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. Young, motivated team it is indeed.
As soon as we were at the river, which was more than beautiful, we got our tourguide. Because of this guide, I can only rate 4 stars instead of 5. She (Amy, or whatever her name is) was unfriendly, unmotivated and seemed very angry. During the tour she was screaming, looking at her mobile all the time. Not very professional. My brother is not the best english speaker, but though he understands what someone wants as soon as they explain it a bit slower. She really had no nerves for that.

If you go there, ask for the other guys to join you. they are perfe

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank missclaire666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic....so impressed with the whole experience- dont just think about going...Go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is always difficult to choose a company with the range of rafting company leaflets. My friend and I could not believe how lucky we were picking Rotorua Rafting. Neither of us had done it before but had so much fun and would definately do it again. The guides and owner were so relaxed and full of fun, loving what they do but safety was clearly their number one priority. All kit is provided, all you need is your swimwear for under the wetsuit. Their were only 2 rafts in our group and we didnt see anyone else on the water. The river was beautiful and there is plenty of white water to get you wet. We were totally relaxed and not at all nervous once we had passed the first set of rapids. The team have it totally in control and brilliantly explain what we needed to do and what to do in certain situations....so all that is left to do is enjoy it. Our raft flipped on the waterfall....and im so glad it did as it was such a rush. If you do go rafting, definately go with Rotorua Rafting, we had a fantastic time and such good value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Rafting also viewed

 
Tikitere, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Rotorua Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing