We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great for the kids!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We used Broekhaven as a base for visiting nearby attractions in Rotorua in July 2011. The self-contained cottage, while not an old-fashioned farmhouse, was spacious, clean and very well equipped with modern appliances and stocked with ample breakfast items and snacks. Debbie, the host, as what everyone else has mentioned, bakes the most delicious croissants, bread and pastries. She leaves a leaflet for you to indicate your choices for breakfast the next morning and bakes them to order!

A highlight here for the kids would definitely be the farm animals right in front of the cottage. Debbie brought them to feed the goats, sheep, chicken and the most ginormous pair of rabbits we've ever seen! They really had an exciting hands-on experience, not to mention, running around the field with sheep noses poking at them! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susantiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

From start to finish we had a wonderful time at Broekhaven. Every little thing has been thought of from children's toys to delicious bread and pastries. My eldest daughter loved feeding the animals and still talks about Emma the lamb! A great location and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The warmth of the hosts and freshly baked loaves will warm your heart. On top of the humanly experience, there is also a host if friendly animals that will welcome you throughout your stay! If you don't mind to pay a little more for a comfortable stay, Broekhaven is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family of four (hubby, me, g8, b3) stayed with Debbie and Ed on 8-9 June 2013. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by home made croissants, milk, juice and other supplies in the fridge. The apartment was clean and cosy with many warmers, which was really helpful for the beginning of winter. The boxes of toys came in really handy and my kids were thrilled!
Debbie gave us a list of bread to choose from, and the loaves always arrived piping hot! It was the most delicious bread I had eaten. It was unforgettable!
My family and I had a wonderful time with the farm animals despite the rain (hello snow and flake- the goats!) It was great to feed the sheep, chickens and ducks too. My girl was so excited to pick up freshly laid eggs from the hens!
Thank you Debbie and Ed for the memorable stay!

Room Tip: The cottage is away from town. Groceries and supplies can be purchased from a nearby town or Rotorau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adawong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had four nights at Broekhaven in May/June. Debbie, Ed and family were very pleasant and the homemade bread, pastries along with fruit and other conveniences were appreciated every day. Our girls brought in more eggs from the chickens than we could eat. It was wonderful to be able to just let the girls wander outdoors with the animals which they did dawn til after dusk and not worry about their safety. Needless to say they loved their "chores" and tried to make sure we wrapped up our days' activities to be back and repeat them in the afternoon. The hike to the nearby spring is not to be missed, a great walk with beautiful color along the way. Okere Falls is not far beyond and we would recommend that as well. We wanted for nothing except maybe a stronger internet signal but we could get it when needed, otherwise it encouraged us to put down the electronics! It was very much what we were hoping for and we were very happy with our decision to stay at Broekhaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlelamb_7, Owner at Broekhaven Country Cottage, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for making lovely comments and a suggestion for improvement, we have now improved the WiFi strength so the signal works better with iPads. and phones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Broekhaven for two nights at the end of a cold and frosty May. Debbie was an amazing host - when we arrived, we had freshly baked bread and croissants with home made jam ready and waiting for us, and the house was already warm and toasty. We travelled with our 2.5 year old toddler and our 7 month old baby, and everything was all set up for them - a bed and a cot in our room all made up and ready to go.

On both mornings, our toddler went with Debbie to feed the sheep, chickens, goats, and lions (although the lions may have been in our son's imagination) - we even had fresh eggs from the chickens, which were delicious - what a wonderful memory for him to have of his first New Zealand holiday.

We'll come back again for sure the next time we head down near Rotorua, as it's perfectly positioned as a launching pad for the nearby attractions and hot springs.

Love it - thanks or having us, we're sorry to be going home so soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMackesonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 5 nights at lovely Broekhaven. It's location is perfectly out of the bad smell zone of rotorua yet close enough to all the activities. The hosts including pets were all very welcoming and were too happy to help us with anything we needed. This is a great place to stay for relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamurana
1.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
402 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
1.5 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#15 of 52 in Rotorua
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Springwaters Lodge
Springwaters Lodge
#9 of 58 in Rotorua
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
B&B Blossom Cottage
B&B Blossom Cottage
#6 of 52 in Rotorua
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Panoramic Country Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Property: Broekhaven Country Cottage
Address: 44 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering farmstay only 500m from the lake. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with special touches to make your holiday memorable. Savour the freshly baked bread, pastries, free range eggs and fresh fruit that you can enjoy at a time that suits you. Enjoy panoramic views over surrounding countryside and the lake from the privacy of your own cottage. Only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities include a full kitchen with dishwasher, flat screen TV, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, DVD, iPod Dock, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, chickens, ducks, rabbits and the goats. We sometimes have other small animals that we are helping recover their full health before returning them to their natural habitat. We really listen to our guest's Trip Advisor comments and have installed a new comfy double sofabed and upgraded our Wifi for a better guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broekhaven Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing