We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everything was perfect. Wanted two nights and stayed three.
What made it special: Lovely animals, self baked bread every morning, quietness, friendly hosts
And we didnt smell rotorua ... ;-)

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a great stay, the kids were most entertained with feeding animals, collecting eggs and holding newborn lambs - all right outside our door. Very clean and comfortable self contained cottage with all amenities provided, including delicous home made baking.

The benefit of being out of town a little was the fresh country air and quiet surroundings - a great spot, we would most certainly stay again. Many thanks for the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

How delightful a stay! Impeccably clean, but incredibly cozy! We loved the friendly sheep right up to our front fence. No shy ones these, they want attention! This is a nice sized farm with all this within a short stroll... Ever-so-friendly Debbie spoiled us with her fresh, warm bread, home made jam, muffins and treats. She provided yogurt, fruit, butter, and even some tins of food if needed. Fully equipped kitchen and then some. The girls were so happy to collect eggs with Debbie, and we were so happy to have them! The dogs were friendly, but the ace ambassador was Benson the cat, what a wonderful fellow, we wanted to take him home. The bed was supremely comfortable, the bath was very spacious, the carpet brand new. We were able to put the two small girls in one bed in our room with us, but the couch in the living room gives plenty of extra room, too... Ed gave us a great tip on the Indian takeout restaurant in town, chili chicken is a must! We really enjoyed the geothermal village. This is a good compromise for the youngsters instead of the night cultural shows. Plus it was SO unique!! Really wish we had more time here, we would have added on White Island, an off-shore volcano. But that gives us an excuse to come back...can't wait! Just book it, but save a slot for us!!

Room Tip: You cannot miss with this cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful, peaceful location with the most stunning views. Perfect for our school holiday trip with our farm loving 5year old. And great for the younger one too. Everything you could need...lovely cottage, wonderful home baking, generous breakfast supplies...and lovely hosts that come and get the kids twice a day to help with the animal feeding. This was our second stay, and we can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHarris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Marvelous cottage, extremely clean and very warm and friendly atmosphere. The little treats are lovely, the animals are so friendly too! A must to try, this is the best we've experienced in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariusBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My friends and I were completely mesmerized the moment we stepped on the cobbled passage of Broekhaven Country Cottage. The cottage was absolutely clean, dustless and spotless that we were so afraid to stain anything. The owners were so warm and hospitable, they provided us with farm-grown fruits and home-made bread and jam. Their apples were the juiciest I've ever tasted. We were surrounded by scenic farm view and adorable farm animals such as goats, lambs and chickens. There was even a complimentary farm-animals feeding session. This place left a lasting impression for us and is highly recommended for those who wishes to have a cosy and comfortable farm-stay.

Room Tip: There seems to be only 1 cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynTaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It's one of the best place I've been during my trip in New Zealand. Home made bread, organic eggs and fruits and the best home made croissant full of jam. A really nice cottage with everything you need, especially if you travel with kids. My 2 years old daughter was in paradise with a lot of space to run around and a lot of animals to play with and feed. Really I recommand to everyone to go there, you won't regret it....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinecalame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamurana
7.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#15 of 52 in Rotorua
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Springwaters Lodge
Springwaters Lodge
#10 of 55 in Rotorua
75 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Property: Broekhaven Country Cottage
Address: 44 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering farmstay only 500m from the lake. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with special touches to make your holiday memorable. Savour the freshly baked bread, pastries, free range eggs and fresh fruit that you can enjoy at a time that suits you. Enjoy panoramic views over surrounding countryside and the lake from the privacy of your own cottage. Only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities include a full kitchen with dishwasher, flat screen TV, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, DVD, iPod Dock, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, chickens, ducks, rabbits and the goats. We sometimes have other small animals that we are helping recover their full health before returning them to their natural habitat. We really listen to our guest's Trip Advisor comments and have installed a new comfy double sofabed and upgraded our Wifi for a better guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Broekhaven Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing