We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
Review of Railcruising

Railcruising
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mamaku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the unique joy of traveling along a railway line in your own powered self-drive railway vehicle, called a RailCruiser. The RailCruiser is a fully automated, state of the art petrol-electric four seat self-drive railway vehicle, with comfortable seats and unobstructed views. It is fitted with clear drop down waterproof sides. Departing from Mamaku Railway Station travel 10km through a majestic 1000 year old native forest, past rolling pastures with views out over Lake Rotorua to Tarukenga Railway Station. After a short break at Tarukenga whilst the RailCruisers are turned, you return in your RailCruiser back to Mamaku. Cruising along at 20km/hr, you can listen to the audio tour. This is the ultimate way to experience a railway.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This trip was one of the optional land adventures from our Cruise Ship. Great day and very friendly staff who provided us with a nice lunch too. The railcruiser is comfortable and the trip down is quiet, as the petrol motor is not used. A little noisier on the way back up but not bad. Some nice scenery with sheep, cattle and deer to see as well as some bush. An automatic commentary tells you all about the history of the line.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    73
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rail Cruising on the Rotarua Railway”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a great day out! We turned up without reservations, not sure what to expect. We were given a very friendly reception and an explanation of how the railway works. Fortunately a tour was about to leave in about 20 min, and space was available (definitively check first you may not be so lucky). Cruising down the track was a wonderful and relaxed way to watch the world go by. If you are interested in railways this is a must not miss experience. If you are not interested in railways it is still a must not miss experience. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeBwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our visit to Rotorua!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We absolutely loved this experience - it was as though we were the only people in the world (you can't see the other 'cruisers' as the vehicles are spaced out for each trip). We enjoyed viewing the changing scenery, listening to the bird and animal sounds and breathing the fresh clean country air!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Unusual attraction”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Unusual attraction, claimed to be unique in its automatic 'self-drive' features: everyone's in a 4 seat car. There's literally nothing to do on the 19km trip, except operate the handbrake at either end.
A short turnaround stop gives you chance to stretch your legs and second half is more scenic than the forest-bound first.
Quite cold when on the move (though blankets are provided) it’s wise to take a fleece or windstopper up there even when it's warm in town.
Interesting experience but probably a little expensive.
Need to book in advance so they can prepare the cars.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Riding the rail!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived at the centre and were greeted by a very friendly staff, after a short wait we were taken to our little " rail car" and given a safety brief and were off. The cars cruise along at maximum speed of 20km/hour and there is a narrative that is informative when you reach certain points of interest. The narrative is short and informative and for most of the trip there is silence and you can hear and see the birds along the way. Very scenic way to see this area and the car is open to have a clear view and take photo's.
We found this attraction in a magazine, asked about it, and found it is not widely known about. The Caravan park we stayed at, actually had to Google it.
They are going to have to advertise more or it may not survive and that would be a shame!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railcruising also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Railcruising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing