We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railcruising

Railcruising
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mamaku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the unique joy of traveling along a railway line in your own powered self-drive railway vehicle, called a RailCruiser. The RailCruiser is a fully automated, state of the art petrol-electric four seat self-drive railway vehicle, with comfortable seats and unobstructed views. It is fitted with clear drop down waterproof sides. Departing from Mamaku Railway Station travel 10km through a majestic 1000 year old native forest, past rolling pastures with views out over Lake Rotorua to Tarukenga Railway Station. After a short break at Tarukenga whilst the RailCruisers are turned, you return in your RailCruiser back to Mamaku. Cruising along at 20km/hr, you can listen to the audio tour. This is the ultimate way to experience a railway.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A fantastic way to spend a couple of hours. Found it very peaceful and relaxing riding in the train, viewing the beautiful countryside (good view of Lake Rotorua) while listening to the commentary. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and it was good to find out about the history of the area and of the railway. Facilities were very good, and train cabins are fantastic to travel in. All members of our party, from 3 year old to 40 year old, loved it. Would definitely recommend this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank macdonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    66
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Interesting Ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Saw the brochure and being a railway fan thought I had better do this while in the Rotorua district.

Easy to book and a friendly welcome at the station in Mamaku. Full safety briefing given and we were off. Commentary where necessary/appropriate and great views of Lake Rotorua.

While I can appreciate the safety requirement that the cabs be controlled automatically it would have been great if you had some control of the cab so you got the experience of driving a vehicle on a rail line. It will be great when the trip is extended further along the old line towards Rotorua. Even so it was a great experience.

Some souvenirs for purchase (eg fridge magnets) would be a nice added touch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
1 review
“Unique Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Something special and innovative.
An enjoyable couple of hours through country not accessible to the "normal" public in your own rail car.
Highly recommended for something completely different.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique attraction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely log cabin station with hot drinks to warm you up on a cold day. Plenty of parking. Rugs to keep you warm on the way there as you can only use the heater on the way back .Cute little 4 seater cabs that are automatically speed adjusted, operated, and tracked. Safety briefing given explaining what to do in an emergency.The return trip takes just under one and a half hours travelling at a speed of aprox 20kph.Farmland ,cuttings, ridges, forests and a farm crossing are all traversed . An informative commentary comes on when going past points of interest. The Drive out to Mamaku station from Rotorua takes about 15 - 20 mins. Very enjoyable trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband & I have just done the Railcruising experience - we loved it - something different & certainly a 'must do'. we drove ourselves out there is only 19 ks from Rotorua & plenty of parking
There are tea & coffee facilities if you want them & you can just help yourself.
The 2 staff members were super friendly & helpful. It was a cold morning but on the brochure they advise warm clothing so we took their advice. There are roll down plastic see thru blinds on the sides of the wee vehicle but we left one of them up & it wasn't a problem as rugs are provided if needed, also there is on board heating.
The audio tour is really interesting & comes on at various times so that you are not having to listen to it the whole way.
it is a four seat, petrol - electric hybrid vehicle so you're not getting any fumes etc.
Altogether a brilliant invention - the only one in the world apparently - we look forward to doing it in the summer too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railcruising also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Railcruising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing