We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience!”
Review of Railcruising

Railcruising
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mamaku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the unique joy of traveling along a railway line in your own powered self-drive railway vehicle, called a RailCruiser. The RailCruiser is a fully automated, state of the art petrol-electric four seat self-drive railway vehicle, with comfortable seats and unobstructed views. It is fitted with clear drop down waterproof sides. Departing from Mamaku Railway Station travel 10km through a majestic 1000 year old native forest, past rolling pastures with views out over Lake Rotorua to Tarukenga Railway Station. After a short break at Tarukenga whilst the RailCruisers are turned, you return in your RailCruiser back to Mamaku. Cruising along at 20km/hr, you can listen to the audio tour. This is the ultimate way to experience a railway.
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the rail cruising experience! My boyfriend and I were the only ones at our allotted time so it was a quick turnaround at the end of the line and it meant we were able to chat to Jane, the owner, for ages about the history and future plans, she was very friendly. Quite an expensive activity but very glad we did this one of a kind experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    73
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rail rushing - Something a bit unique”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a different experience and like a lot of things that are a bit special the enjoyment comes at a price. It is well worth the investment. A very enjoyable, high tech rail experience over a very old section of rail line.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trevor2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do in Rotorua - even for the locals.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Friendly owners, unique experience. Something we had written down to do on our dash list. As a local we had heard about it and driven past the sign many times. Today was the day and we left feeling pretty good about it. Comfortable,modern rail cars with a running commentary about the business and the area, as a local there were even a couple of things that I did not know. Lovely scenery, farms,animals, bush and great view of Lake Rotorua. As we traveled back to Mamaku station from Tarukenga I was saying to hubby that it would be nice to do this during winter as there is a heater in the rail car too! At first I thought it was a bit pricey but now that we have been and can see how much work has been involved in getting this unique attraction up and running...it's worth every cent. Well done Jane and Neil you have a real little gem in Mamaku.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mumblesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Railcrusing Rotorua Railway”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had seen an article in a railway magazine and I placed it on my schedule next time I was in the area.It was fantastic.These little cars that seat four people just like a little car on the highway,but you are steel instead.To be greeted on arrival at the station by the staff,then an explanation of hour they operate,then off they go after you have released the hand brake.They are computer controlled and coming to a small area where animals are the car automatically slows down then speeds up to a maximum speed of 20kph.The views along the long are great passing farms forested areas along with a commentary received by radio.
You have to go on them.To any railfan it has to be on your bucket list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BGW060241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Railcruising”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Greeted by friendly staff, [In Jellystone National Park's ranger station -for all you movie buffs!], our group of 9, [aged 3 to 60], enjoyed a unique experience, beautiful scenery and a most interesting [but not intrusive] commentary. It was reasonably priced, too. Because it was a special occasion, the most delightful morning tea was provided at a most pleasantly surprising cost [yummmmmy!]. Recommended for all!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railcruising also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Railcruising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing