We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Food, Entertainment And Atmosphere. Defiantly My First Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull at Great Totham
Ranked #1 of 1 Great Totham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Never ever been disappointed with food or entertainment, have been here for family events, ladies evening, or just when hubby & I want a nice meal. Look alikes are brilliant and spot on, great evening. Fantastic family and alround environment with play area and open spaces.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Bull at Great Totham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was my second visit to the bull and I was just as impressed as the first visit. I went with a group of friends for a 50th birthday lunch and myself and all my friends were very impressed with the food and the service. The Bull itself has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard and creates a wonderful relaxing and comfortable place to eat and drink. It's my favourite place at this time to go and eat. Also their tribute cabaret evenings are a must. Fantastic food, excellent service and great singers. We went to see Lionel Richie and had a great evening. Have now booked to see Robbie Williams on the 22nd March. The willow room where these functions are held is a beautiful room with first class furnishings and decor. The ladies toilets are also of a very high standard and very clean. Highly recommend The Bull.

Karen Giles
Tiptree Colchester Essex

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

it is a super treat to find such a gem to deliver such a great overall experience.
the staff are extemely freindly and helpfull . The rooms are very clean with really good quality linen and duvets which you would not normally find. warm comfortable rooms with good showers.
a small bit of noise migration from room to room won't spoil too much. I have stayed here a number of times over the past few months and the food is so good that i have not felt the urge to explore surrounding eating houses as i look forward to eating at the Bull each time i stay.
i would reccomend anyone that needs to stay in this area to treat themselves to a night at 'The Bull'. only down side is there is not enough rooms and not always available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to The Bull & we have already booked our 4th stay! We have been to the Elvis Tribute Night, a Soul Weekend & our latest was the Abba Tribute Night. Each night has been a 10 out of 10 experience. The artists have been great & the food is some of the best we have ever eaten. All the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble for any of them. We always stay the night and the rooms are really nice & have been refurbished to a top standard. All the complimentary toiletries, teas, coffees, biscuits & china cups & saucers are all top quality as are the linens & towels. Everything is spotless and it is truly a beautiful place to stay. We have also eaten off the lunchtime menu and again the food is delicious. The breakfasts are the best we have had and if you do not want the traditional cooked breakfast there are some great alternatives - I recommend the crumpets & blackberry butter! Thanks to David & every one of his staff (cleaners included) for some really memorable stays. Here's to our next one. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the top floor as we can see the horses in the nearby field.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraineblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We dined at the Bull last night for our firm's christmas dinner. There were 6 of us (three couples) and we had an enjoyable evening.
We were advised when we booked that there was a party night in The Willow Room that evening and it would therefore be a good idea to be at our table by 7pm so that our order did not get delayed by this. The service was good (attentive but not intrusive) and the food was lovely. Admittedly the portions were not huge but they were sufficient.
We would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Bull following Michael Buble Tribute night. (Review on The Bull & Willow Rooms Restaurant entry).
When we arrived we were shown to the room by a very attentive member of staff who took time to explain things despite being very busy as football was showing & the bar was packed. It is the first time ever that we were told about what to do & where to assemble if there was a fire.
The room was upstairs & the four rooms in the cottage are named after Essex places - we stayed in Tiptree room.
The shower was powerful & hot, the bath towels were large & fluffy.
There was a good selection for breakfast & this was served by the lovely attentive staff member that had looked after us so well the night before. Thank you David & all the staff at the Bull & Willow Rooms - look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roastpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here just the one night while working in the area it was 6.45 in the evening and i had not booked anywhere so just looked up on the web for somewhere with a good review within 20 miles of where i was.The Bull came up with some of the best reviews and although it was 19 miles from my location i decided to give it a try.
It was a bit of a trek as it is located in a village which appeared to be off the beaten track whilst driving on a foggy evening.
The Bull has plenty of parking spaces and was quite full as many locals were there to watch football on the big screens.I spoke to the chap at the bar about a room and after filling in the relevant paperwork he lead me to the out building where the rooms were located.
I had read the rooms had been refurbished but mine was pretty basic and quite small although the bed was excellent and very comfortable.
I ate in the restaurant and was very happy with the quality of food but i did find the bar price a little steep.In the morning i did have a full English breakfast before setting of on my travels and in my book it rates as one of the best i have had.Food wise the Bull is very good but the rooms are overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Owner at The Bull at Great Totham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, i am sorry if you feel our price of £75.00 including breakfast expensive, we feel that we do offer very good value for money.

I would like to breakdown the cost for you as follows so you can see what the actual room does cost to run.

From the £75.00 we have to give £12.50 to the VAT man, all linen is cleaned after use at a cost of £14.00, with the parlour mades overheads and electric and heating the cost is on avaerage £14.00. With the baance we do of course supply a great breakfast which i am pleased you did enjoy.

I hope that this explanation will show you why we have to charge the price we do, if you are a regular visiter to the araea i would be happy to set a corporate for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Totham
3.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
233 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
552 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
75 reviews
3.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 11 in Maldon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Great Totham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Great Totham

Address: 2 Maldon Road, Great Totham CM9 8NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Totham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Totham
Price Range: $115 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Great Totham 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bull at Great Totham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing