We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advice: Go through the gate!”
Review of Slieve League

Slieve League
Book In Advance
More Info
$464.52*
and up
Dingle and Slea Head Drive Private Tour from Killarney
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Carrick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Don't miss your opportunity to visit one of Ireland's best kept secrets and a signature point on the Wild Atlantic Way. Located in south west Donegal along this magnificent costal driving route are Ireland's highest Sea Cliffs, Sliabh Liag. A visit to the cliffs and the surrounding region is a must on your Wild Atlantic Way adventure. Experience the local culture, heritage and people of Donegal against the backdrop of our spectacular and rugged coastline.
Falcon, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Advice: Go through the gate!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Advice right up front: As you drive in, you'll come to a parking lot about 3 miles outside of Carrick. The road will end at what appears to be a cattle gate. However, if you're driving a car (not a truck or RV) DON'T park here, unless you want a curvy, uphill, 1-mile hike! Push the gate open and drive through, remembering to close the gate behind you. About a mile up the road, there is another parking lot. The gate is simply to keep trucks and RVs off the top part of the road. (When you leave, remember to close the gate also.)

Further advice: dress warmly, and be prepared for WIND! I can't say that's it's windy there all the time, but the wind was sustained at about 20-25mph the day we were there, with gusts to 30-40mph.

Really easy directions: turn south at the Slieve League Lodge (don't stay here, see separate review) in Carrick. This will be Teelin Road. Drive about 1.7 miles, and you'll see "The Rusty" on the left-hand side. Take your next right. Follow this road until you're there, remembering to go...through the gate.

Now, on to the actual review: this was a pretty cool site to see. People like to compare/contrast these with the Cliffs of Moher, but personally, I don't think you can compare the two. If you have time, see both!

The views from these cliffs are spectacular, and well worth a visit. The waves pound the coast and provide awesome contrast to the green/brown hills and cliffs, the blue-green water, and white waves and foam created! You'll see from my pictures that we were there on an overcast day, and I can only imagine the colors on a bright, sunny day! Unfortunately, a few pictures don't do this place justice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    120
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western ma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing sea cliffs”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Came here as part of a tour. Amazing views of the cliffs, along with seeing sheep grazing right next to the edge of the cliffs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maurysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breath taking views and special fishing experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I read in Lonely Planet about Slieve League and the possibility to do a boat trip. So I decided that this is definitely something i don't want to miss and I contaced Paddy Byrne a couple of months before the trip. He assured me that as the end of august is off season, we can call a day in advance to check the timetable and just show up. On our day it was unfortunate that everything was fully booked except for a fishing trip. So we decided to take the chance a join this fishing trip. We still had the amazing views of the mountains but also the experience of doing some fishing (never fished in my life). Although sea fishing is definitely not my cup of tea, it was an experience i did not want to miss. I recommend everybody who is in the Donegal county to do his boat trip. You won't be dissappointed. Only one thing...take some drinks/sandwiches with you as you won't be able to buy anything. Moreover, there is no toilet on the boat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0bert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The top of the world”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful, amazing sights ever and we have seen many including Grand Canyon and Niagara Falls, USA and Cliffs of Moher, Ireland. Views are stunning - just wish we had enough time to do the hike along the top. Sheep and flowers/plants everywhere. The day we were there it was sooo windy I thought I was going to get blown over the edge since you are really hiking pretty close to it!! It just made it even more exciting and breathtaking. What an outstanding experience. Next time I think we would also do the boatride to it to get a different perspective.
Since this is more north and not as popular (YET) it was not that crowded which really added to the great experience. It definitely is worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank laxfan516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spectacular views await you with far higher cliffs than the much visited Cliffs of Moher. Be sure to drive to the second upper lot to avoid the lengthy hike uphill. You can see for many miles across the sea on a clear day. Steep, but manageable walking paths far fewer tourists than Moher. Watch the fog as it rolls in quickly and can make your auto descent a bit tricky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernjack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slieve League also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Glencolmcille, County Donegal
 
Carrick, County Donegal
 

Been to Slieve League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing