We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip, thanks to Seamus and Nora”
Review of Ireland By Bike

Ireland By Bike
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Carrick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ireland by Bike provide bike tours and bike rental in Ireland's beautiful North West Coastal region. We provide the option of high quality hybrid and electric bikes. Our self-guided tours follow well planned routes along mostly quiet backroads, taking you to some of the most beautiful places on earth.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We have biked Europe four times, and this was our best trip yet. On previous trips with our tandem we planned our own routes, carried our meals and camped each night in the tent we hauled along. This time we worked with Seamus and Nora to plan a 10-day circle route in NW Ireland. Their knowledge of the backroads, unique scenery and welcoming B&Bs made this such a better trip. Even more important, when IcelandAir lost our tandem on the flight to Ireland Seamus provided us with bikes well-matched to the climbing and range of roads we were traveled. He knows bikes, he knows the countryside and he knows the needs/interests of bike tourists. We were continually delighted by the level of care and service provided, and by the quality and hospitality of the B&B hosts we met. Our two weeks in NW Ireland were so much more than we would have experienced had we been traveling on our own.

1  Thank davcyn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusGal, Owner at Ireland By Bike, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed your tour so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"b bs"
in 9 reviews
"highlands tour"
in 6 reviews
"side trips"
in 4 reviews
"grand tour"
in 4 reviews
"great cycling"
in 3 reviews
"points of interest"
in 3 reviews
"self guided"
in 3 reviews
"night tour"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"active holiday"
in 2 reviews
"phone call"
in 2 reviews
"back roads"
in 2 reviews
"slieve league"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 3 reviews
"seamus"
in 31 reviews
"gps"
in 9 reviews
"highlights"
in 7 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2017

We have done six bike tours in Europe and this was the best yet for cycling! Seamus has found beautiful, quiet roads, had wonderful suggestions for side trips based on our interests, and treated us as if we were family.

Seamus and Nora were very accommodating and worked with us so that we could end the trip at the Giant's Causeway (on the cover of a lot of Ireland tour books). That added two nice days of cycling to the Northwest Grand Tour. A spectacular five mile walk on the clifftop path along the Giant's Causeway was the perfect way to end 10 days of great cycling despite the cool and sometimes wet Ireland "summer".

One of the great things about Seamus and his company is that not only has ridden the roads, he choose the bikes, outfitted them well for the trip, and has kept them in great condition. They were the best shifting and braking bikes we've rented for our trips. Details like bar end extenders and a good pump (not the junky pumps we've had on other trips) in case of a flat show that he has thought about what is important. Speaking of which, he planned the trip so that 80% of the time, we had great tailwinds -- I really pitied the riders we came across who were going in the other direction.

One caveat: we like climbing hills and are bored by flatland riding. The climbs on this trip made us very happy :-). The climbs were rewarded by stunning views and some great descents. Only a couple of the climbs were long, but several were very steep: 14% or more for a short distance. The bikes are geared for it; make sure you are... The days were typically 50-55 miles with 3,000 to 4,000 feet of climbing. Ireland by Bike has shorter and easier routes, but I wouldn't have traded this tour for any of the others because the effort was amply rewarded.

2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusGal, Owner at Ireland By Bike, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we hope you have many great adventures in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

We did the 9 day tour and would not change a single thing about it even if we could. The route was as described - hilly, but not difficult and passed all of the top destinations we would want to see if we planned the trip ourselves. The bikes were perfect for the terrain and the included extras (carrier bags, gps, route maps, repair kit (we didn't need it!), helmet and lock were great to have. The chosen B&Bs were fantastic and the hosts were lovely. It was incredibly nice to have our luggage available no matter what time we arrived at our destination whether that was early afternoon or later in the evening. The optional excursions listed in the printed guides were awesome and we did all but one so we felt we took advantage of all that was offered and were beyond happy with the trip. I would highly recommend Ireland by Bike!

1  Thank Jo-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusGal, Owner at Ireland By Bike, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

It's great to know that you were so happy with everything. Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Ireland By Bike Rentals is a small family run business that rents out bike tours and will even plan your trip through Donegal for you. Nora Gallagher (the owner) and her family are some of the nicest people you'll meet and will do whatever it takes to make sure you have an amazing experience in Ireland. Me and my family rented bikes for the day and rode 36km for 6 hours through all of Carrick. It's a tough ride with all the hills but it is the most satisfying and beautiful bike ride you'll ever take. Riding through the small towns and seeing some of the most amazing sights and views is breathtaking, literally. While biking you really get to take in the scenery that is hard to do while driving. Me and my family will never forget how beautiful Donegal and this bike ride were. It must truly be experienced to understand just how beautiful of a Country Ireland is.

3  Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusGal, Owner at Ireland By Bike, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

We are delighted that you all enjoyed the cycle. Thanks so much for your review. It means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

My husband and I are retired but active Colorado natives and love adventurous vacations. The backroads and beyond tour was exactly what we wanted. Seamus was knowledgeable and friendly, B and B hosts and hostesses acted like we were old friends, food was delicious, routes were beautiful and truly backroad....we felt like we were the only tourists in the towns and countryside. Rosaleen greeted us cold, wet and rainy with tea and treats, Susan packed us a lunch for the long ride through Glenveagh, Anne shared her garden and fishing stories! We saw the farming communities and highlight scenery of Ireland that was so quaint and spectacular. The hike down the Atlantic coast north of Glencolmcille is something that everyone should witness!! Be prepared for rain both physically and emotionally!

1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusGal, Owner at Ireland By Bike, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you both so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything about the tour and that you shared your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ireland By Bike also viewed

Carrick, County Donegal
Carrick, County Donegal
 
Malin Beg, County Donegal
 

Been to Ireland By Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing