We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of The Start Bay Inn

The Start Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Torcross
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Start Bay Inn is a family run unspoilt pub right next to the beach which specialises in seafood.It has been run by the Stubbs family since 1977.We serve fish and chips to die for with a portion size to suit any appetite. We also serve an extensive choice of locally caught seafood which is displayed on our specials board. The scallops are hand picked from the Start Bay sea bed by Paul Stubbs the previous Landlord and dressed by either Clair, or Gail his daughters or Stu who are partners in the business. All the crab is dropped off live in the back yard where we dress it. We serve non fish choices with local steaks and burgers being favourites. Vegetarian options are also available.A children's menu is available and if you don't want your little ones having chips again then salad or jacket potato is offered as an alternative. Our sweets cabinet is always well stocked and local ice cream available year round.The bar has a good selection of real ales and local cider and a reasonably priced wine list.Seating is either in the bar where in the winter we have an open fire, the children's room or outside on the patio on the sea front.We pride ourselves on reasonably priced generous portions with good service by happy staff.We are not a restaurant or a gastro pub. We are an honest pub serving good food at reasonable prices which is why we are busy.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We came here during the floods and bad weather in feb 2014. The pub was not very busy due to the weather, we placed our order and our food arrived about 10 minutes later.
I had fish cakes and chips my husband had a medium cod which was massive.
We swapped and I had some of the cod which was truly mouth watering.
My son had chicken nuggets and chips, they do a child's portion for 3.95 but it's only a couple of pound more for an adult portion and you get a very large meal.
It's very reasonably priced and worth every penny.
There is also free wifi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 701 of 918 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Food great, proer hand pulled beer just right and a welcome haven on a wet and windy day just off the beach.
Hot soup to start followed by cod and salald for my wife, I had home made fishcake followed by fresh Monk fish tails and chips.
Served with a smile, great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been going to the Start Bay Inn for several years. The food there is very good. They specialise in fish which is caught locally and is always excellent. The atmosphere in the pub is very friendly and the Staff are all friendly and polite. It can be very busy in Summer but there is a reserved area for families, so if you want to sit in a quiet area without children, you can. Try the jumbo cod and chips, it is huge and delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsBritain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well you should always be warned of a very quiet restaurant! the Start Bay was very busy, but comfortable, you soon forget the busyness when your food arrives and you tuck into a very satisfying, tasty, well cooked cod and chips, as my Boyfriend and I did. I would say though, if the coffee was as good as the food, there would be no doubt, that this is the best place to come for fish and chips and a coffee, (which could of done with being a little less bitter and if they make it less bitter, put in a big mug, rather that a tiny cup) He ordered a jumbo cod and chips, we got a few looks from other customers as it was brought over to us! when they say "Jumbo" they mean jumbo!! my boyfriend, (who's very critical about the quality of food) thoroughly enjoyed the cod and tops all the cod he's tried in the past. yes its a busy restaurant, but you sure get to know why...enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happylandcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
startbayinn, Owner at The Start Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review. So glad you enjoy our fantastic fish and chips and that your boyfriend enjoyed his ‘Jumbo’.
Many apologies that the coffee wasn’t to your liking. Our bean to cup machine makes a really smooth coffee, The filter coffee we use has been recently changed due to its strong flavour which wasn’t to every ones liking. I’m guessing you must have had a filter coffee. Our cappuchino cups are 8oz which, I suppose, does seem small compared to the ‘buckets’ you get from take away coffee places in town. We haven’t had much call for large size coffee here as people are so well filled with their enormous portions! Thanks for the feedback though, we’ll pop some mugs at the food counter for customers who like a larger coffee!
See you again soon.
Gail Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Quality of fish and chips quite reasonable but what a squash, absolutely crowded and we were shoulder to shoulder with other customers which tended to spoil our evening. The puddings seem a bit proprietary. Perhaps the pub is a victim of its own success. Now that we are pensioners we do prefer a less hectic meal experience.

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
startbayinn, Owner at The Start Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Start Bay Inn.
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your fish and chips.
It’s a real shame you didn’t enjoy the atmosphere in the pub when it is busy as it is usually quite busy.
Maybe on a Monday or Sunday evening in winter you might find a corner where a table will be available with no one at the table next door to you which you might prefer.
We are constantly tweaking the table layout to allow for more room for customers with original church pews replacing many of our not so old settle benches.
We have taken out tables in the family room to allow more room for customers.
If it’s a quiet empty pub you’re after then unfortunately we’re not the place for you.
If it’s a pub serviced by cheerful staff and full of satisfied customers then please give us another try.
Many Thanks

Gail Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Start Bay Inn also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to The Start Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing