We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel will definately return for another hoiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed September 23, 2010

After reading some of the reviews for the Malpas I was quite concerned. I need not of worried. We arrived too late for dinner but was given freshly made sandwiches and fries.The hotel was great, the food both breakfast and evening meal was very nice, the staff were all friendly, the hotel was clean ,air con worked well and the rooms nicely decorated. The shower was powerfull and hot water was always available. We didn't think that the prices of the drinks was too bad, a beer was the same price as when in Kyrenia at a bar. Even tho the hotel does not have a beach nearby we enjoyed going to the beach club using the free transport provided by the hotel. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this is a good place to stay. It is not within walking distance to much but the hotel does supply free transport in the day into Kyrenia which is about 5 miles away. My only negative comment would be about the broken grates around the pool, but this would not stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbd_2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Malpas Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 945 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

just returned from North Cyprus ,stayed in Kyrenia.at the Malpas for 17 days. it could not have been better. everything there for you in the hotel you needed. rooms lovely, food great and great choice for every meal. Pool huge plus can go to the beach club which is situated by the sea. no complaints at all. you are better off with a car to get you around although the hotel does provide transport to Kyrenia and also to the beach club, although the day we left they were changing the times of the transport and that would not have been so good as for some reason they changed it from 10 am to 13 15. which is a silly mistake on their part. however think they would take you there if you asked.. the staff were very helpful, and were always willing to help. they employ an English lady called Sharon who is on hand to help if you need it.. we did meet a mrs moan alot, but then you always do. so dont be put off by a bad review if you see one, its great there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredcoupleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Returned yesterday from a week at the definitely 5* Malpas. Sometimes I think I must be living in a parallel universe, having read some of the comments about the Malpas prior to our stay. A feeling I also got from some of the (older) British guests I spoke with during the week.

We have stayed in Cyprus before in Paphos, at the Annabelle, which is a very nice, expensive, 5* hotel. So TRNC was a new experience for us. We have also stayed in Dubai, including a long weekend at the Burj Al Arab, and at week at the One & Only Royal Mirage, so we know a good 5* hotel when we see one.

We booked a one week stay at the Malpas, through Cyprus Premiere (a special discounted rate advertised in a daily paper) for ourselves and our three 20 something sons to celebrate our 50th birthdays. I researched the hotel prior to booking as we did not want to stay in a family resort hotel where there were lots of young children. After seeing the hotel website the Malpas appeared to be exactly what we were looking for, smart elegant and modern, with plenty of facilities.

We arrived very late in the evening, due to problems at the airport where some travellers were unaccounted for and the reps were very diligent in their enquiries, making sure no one was left behind. On arrival at the hotel we asked if they could provide us with something to eat as dinner had finished. The Reception staff were only too happy to oblige and we were seated in the Jazz Bar with coffee to await our "sandwiches". A waiter appeared with covered dishes, cutlery and napkins on a trolley. He set the table and revealed, with a flourish, freshly made sandwiches with bowls of hot french fries and condiments.

On waking the next morning we were able to appreciate the sea view from our balconies in the Diamond Court building. We had only booked one room with sea view (for ourselves) but the hotel had given us rooms next to each other so the boys got their view for free! There were pools and fountains outside in the gardens, and views out over the Malpas church to Kyrenia. The rooms were large, airy and well furnished, the air conditioning was excellent ( usually the first thing my husband complains about) especially as the temperature was in the high 30 degrees each day and rose to 40 degrees at one point. The rooms were spotlessly clean and fresh, you could tell the room had been thoroughly cleaned when you returned each day.

The bathrooms were immaculate, the showers were powerful and the quality towels were clean, fresh and replaced daily. Public areas were clean and pleasant, the couches on the landings although fabric covered were spotless. Double glazed doors and windows onto the balcony meant that there was no noise in the evening even though there was nightly entertainment on the hotel terrace.

Dinner and breakfast, served in the Fontana Restaurant were both buffet style. The quality and choice of the dishes was excellent. We all ate far too much, but there was so much choice we just had to try things. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, with linen covered tables and attentive waiters clearing tables and relaying with clean covers throughout service. The same in the evening. We ate out only once at the recommendation of our rep, Onur, who advised us that the restaurants in Bellaspaise provide a free taxi service to and from the hotel when you book a table for dinner. This was definitely worth doing, we had a wonderful view of Kyrenia at night, and it was even more special as there was a jazz concert taking place in the Abbey refectory and the music drifted out across the village.

We spent at lot of time around the pool, which was well maintaned and clean. Other reviews have said that the decking around the pool area was dirty and in poor condition, but we saw nothing like that at all. The pool staff were courteous and attentive, again the towels provided were good quality and extremely clean and fresh and the furniture was good quality and in good repair. The food from the pool bar was also fresh and well presented. There was never a problem getting loungers, and the pool was large enough to accommodate even large groups of guests comfortably.

One of the boys used the Spa and was impressed with the service and facilities.
We did not use the Casino, intended to but did not get around to it.

The service in the Jazz Bar was excellent, the bar manager spoke fluent English and was attentive and friendly. Bar prices were on a par or slightly less than in the UK and everyone was happy with the waiter service which was efficient and friendly. However, while we were there another British guest decided to complain to the management because the Happy Hour did not include the special price drinks ( the prices of wine, beer and gin had been lowered in May - probably due to the comments which have previously been made on this site regarding the high cost of drinks) which he felt should have been double discounted! The outcome of this was that Happy Hour was cancelled by the Management. So a real own goal there then!

Our rep was able to book a 4x4 for us at a very reasonable rate of £112 for four days, which was much better than the prices we were quoted in town (£60 per day for a 6 year old Freelander). The vehicle was a 2010 model and very comfortable. This was far more economical than taking the organised excursions as there were 5 in our party and we did find that entrance into St Hilarion, Salamis etc was very reasonable at around £3.50 per adult. The cost of the organised excursions was around £20 per person but did include lunch.

We had to leave early in the morning to get to the airport and the Reception staff were happy to arrange early morning calls - which were made by the desk staff and not an automated system - and provided us with a packed breakfast and fresh coffee before our coach arrived at 5.35am.

All the staff were efficient and friendly, not everyone spoke English, but they all tried very hard to be helpful and polite and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday, which was exactly what we were looking for. Our sons were happily impressed with the choice of hotel and wished that we could all have stayed longer. We will definitely return to the Malpas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

A lovely setting, lovely grounds, helpful staff, very well looked after, food good with lots of selection, very clean and would recommend it to anybody that wants a relaxing holiday. Suggect a car hire so that you can get around the island to see all the sites. The weather was glorious but very hot in August but coped well at the hotel as the swimming pool was amazing with lovely views across the countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Great hotel very friendly staff lovely big pool very relaxing .
If this had been with drinks included
Would have given this hotel 100 percent .
Wlll go again .

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kaye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Although the hotel is lovely, I would not class it as 5-star. The website is very misleading. They advertise 2 main restaurants but in the evening there was only the buffet available. This is probably why they give all guests "free half-board", and it is not that good that you would want to eat there every night. The pool restaurant closes at 8pm and the roof bar and restaurant was closed (only for private parties) so where is the other restaurant? The fish restaurant at the beach club (which is advertised as having wonderful views of Kyrenia - but actually has views of rocks and a fence) looks deserted and there is no transport in the evening. The advertised disco is also at the beach club and only operates at the weekend, a great disappointment for our two teenage grandchildren.

Having sampled the buffet, we decided that we would have to go into Kyrenia for dinner every other night but the hotel bus finishes at 6pm. A taxi costs £10 each way so an evening out became more expensive.

Transport to the beach club did not run every hour and when we complained, the Manager did arrange for the bus to pick us up when we wished. The beach club itself was a lovely setting and the swimming was safe. Unfortunately, it needsa lot of TLC. Some of the steps were broken and the sunbeds needed overhauling and it all needed a coat of paint. The restaurant was very, very slow.

Our rooms were in the Annex, which was OK. We had a balcony with wonderful views. Our airconditioning was pathetic and all the beds had thick "pad" duvets which were far too hot. A sheet would be a good idea. If you have long or thick hair, take a hairdryer as the ones in the bathroom are pathetic. The rooms do not have irons and the hotel do not have any for guest use, you can use the hotel laundry for pressing but this is an added expense. There are no tea/coffee making facilities and the hotel have notices in the lobby asking guests not to bring food and drink into the hotel. The local supermarket does a roaring trade!

A lot of the staff did not speak english and communication was difficult, especially in the restaurant and reception. The bar staff and Aziz, who ran the pool, were excellent. The pool is beautiful and was kept spotlessly clean despite the numerous private evening receptions around the pool. Pity they could not have laid on a BBQ for the resident guests.

The business centre was one computer in reception.
The shopping mall did not exist and the little shop in reception was never open. When I eventually asked for the opening times I was told they would open it for me.

The sad thing is that this could be a wonderful hotel but we generally felt that this was a holiday hotel for the Turkish.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Spent a week during the end of a very hot July with my wife and 8 month old baby and happy to report that the hotel lived up to my expectations 100%.

Let me start by saying that I didn't expect a 5star according to recognised international standards (see other comments below) and I was right, but this is definitely an excellent 4 star hotel - and from what I understand, one of the best in Northern Cyprus, an opinion shared with the other guests we spoke with.

We stayed in a Pearl Bungalow which is set slightly away from the hotel and was surprisingly spacious - there was no noise from next door and more importantly the air conditioning worked perfectly as temperatures soared over 40 degrees.

Some people below have complained about the noise from the restaurant/pool where the music can get loud, but once inside your room/bungalows you can't hear anything from outside and the music stopped at 10pm (I can only remember hearing music outside on the Thursday night). Otherwise this hotel is relaxing and set in a beautiful location between the sea and the mountains. (NB - the pool is excellent and family friendly, but there isn't a beach within walking distance of any note . . .get a car and take yourself to one of countless beautiful beaches along the northern and east coasts)

The food is OK. Breakfasts had everything you could wish for . . .dinners are a buffet affair and not great - would only recommend you have dinner here if you have nothing else planned for the evening. We didn't get a chance to use their other restaurant by the sea (maybe this would have been better.

The stand out feature of this hotel was its staff. Excellent English spoken by all and very helpful at every level. We travelled with Direct Travel who delivered on everything they promised, their reps are available most of the morning in reception.

We flew to Larnanca with Monarch and it takes approx 1hr 15 min to transfer to the hotel - privte taxis pick you up and drop you and deal with your passports at the border. We think this was better idea than coming into Istanbul and waiting on the plane before flying out again to Ercan (30 mins to Kyrenia)

Forget about Europe when you travel here - this is very much a Turkish/Levantine country with the associated relaxed attitude to most things. Tourists have started to pour in and prices for food and drinks can be the same as you expect in London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northern76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
439 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: $83 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing