We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% successful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% successful holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Even though we arrived very late,there was a warm welcome and fresh food and drinks were provided. Our third visit with grandchildren in a mini villa, they do not wish to go elsewhere, given a wide choice. The pool manager, Aziz, is so efficient, it makes life very easy around the pool area,whether it be drinks,food or reinflating the air beds for the children. A number of other British visitors also expressed to us their feeling of total satisfaction with the Malpas. The fish/prawns at the Cornaro Beach Club restaurant are outstanding. Altogether a very enjoyable holiday. Wishing the management continued success.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staggderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    274
    162
    59
    45
See reviews for
162
491
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was concerned about some of the reviews about this hotel, but we really enjoyed our stay. It is undoubtedly not a 5 Star by UK or USA standards but at about £850 per person for two weeks including flights from UK, transfers and half board, 5 star would cost a LOT more than that!.
We found the rooms to be very comfortable (we were in a separate building a short stroll from the main hotel which was nice and quiet, especially when they were having weddings and functions at the hotel). Beds were comfortable and housekeeping was very good (the housekeeping staff even managed too clean and tidy the very messy room occupied by two teenage boys in our party!).
The variety of food at breakfast and dinner was great. Buffets can often be boring and repetitive but we found that if we chose carefully there was always something new to try each evening. After having eaten out a couple of nights we really did appreciate the vlalue and variety of food at the buffet..
Drinks were quite expensive but the hotel has clearly taken notice of complaints about wine prices and the perfectly adequate house white was 25 Turkish Lira, so we partook of that regularly! Although bringing food and drink into the hotel are supposedly forbidden,( a silly rule!) there are ways and means if discretion is used and we enjoyed pre supper drinks parties on our balconies without much difficulty.
The pool area was pretty quiet except at weekends. There is a huge pool and the sunbeds were comfortble with plenty of umbrellas. The pool attaendant was rather stroppy and would only allow one towel per person except to his favourites!! We did raise this with the hotle and it will hopefully be addressed.
The spa area is very nice but hardly used. It could do with some tlc in the way of plants, fragrant candles etc and better cleaning of the decking to the pool area but ther was a lovely hammam room, steam room and sauna with a huge (if cold) indoor pool and a (cold?!) jacuzzi.
It is not a lively hotel in terms of entertainment but as we were a party of 10, we made our own entertainment in the evenings with quizzes, games, snooker competitions etc). The regular singer Tony Jones was very nice and the hotel is starting to introduce other entertainment very soon we were told, including a Cyprus night once a week.
The waiting and bar staff were lovely and helpful. Some of the reception staff were a little grumpy but others super and we were warmly welcomed on arrival and offered sandwiches at the bar even though we had arrived long after dinner ended. Sometimes plates are slow to be cleared but it didn't cause us too much concern.
There were 3 or 4 weddings/events during our stay. There is a lot of preparation round the far side of the pool, but we found it all quite interesting to watch. One evening there was a gala evening for national day and the President and ministers came for a reception, with red carpet, etc etc. We even got to walk along the red carpet on the way to dinner! Later in the afternoons however all the sound testing etc can be a little annoying.
At weekends the pool area clientelle does seem to change with the influx of Casino weekend guests (!!), which might be a little off putting to some, but good people watching for others! We only had a quick walk through the casino....all seemed a little tacky..but maybe just not our scene!.
The hotel provides a shuttle service into Kyrenia and to the beach club which we used several times. There isn't anywhere within walking distance, so a car or taxis are needed. Our boys played golf a few times at the beautiful local Kyrenium golf club which is definitely worth a visit.
Overall we found the malpas to be very comfortable and relaxing and excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JChisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Malpas is a private owned hotel , the staff are really helpful , nothing too much trouble, only had one problem which was our fault , locked ourselves out of the safe at night , sorted within 10 minutes new safe provided
Location 8km from the Kyrenia 20 TL each way , town nice to visit, buses to town available on the main road about 5 minutes walk away , beach bar same standard as the hotel , free bus down to beach
Drink prices in the hotel cheaper than expected , same price if you visit the town bars.
Entertainment at night , singers most nights for approx 3 - 4 hrs
Hotel facilitates weddings and functions usually weekends , around pool area after 6pm , some clients complained but unnecessary , really organised well and great to watch Local customs.
Worth a visit but do not expect lots of night life , if you need this in Cyprus go to the Southern side

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markkatie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

upon arriving at the hotel after being a day late due to our flight being delayed, we went to reception to check into our room,we was told that our room was not actually ready by a female receptionist, we asked how this was possible as we should have been there one day ago and that we had infact already paid for the previous nights room, she walked off and totally ignored us, a bit weird but that was our first introduction to the hotel staff, anyhow we was then shown to our room and upon coming to the room we found that we could not get in, the room cards which you use were not working, eventually we did get in after two trips to reception to get the entry cards ,also rubbish was left in the bathroom?at weekends they have weddings where they have very loud music playing so maybe take some earplugs with you. if you want a good night sleep?cyprus in its self is a beautiful place for a holiday rickie/vivienne

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickiefit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Having spent 2 wks at the Malpas we were more than happy with all aspects of the Hotel except the Evening Meal.............breakfast was more than acceptable but not so the evening meal which had a tendancy to be bland and un-inspiring. For our 2nd wk we were lucky to have friends join us as a surprise and ventured further afield and found some lovely eateries but at a cost of approx £20 per night for taxi fare this would not have been acceptable for our whole 2 week stay. We can recommend the following with much praise however,The Dolce Vita ( Turkish / French cuisine) Al Shaheen ( Indian, if visited on a Thursday evening you are entertained by Danny, an Elvis impersonator who aside from a few bum notes was great) Niazi's ( near the Harbour in Kyrenia with a very varied menu) and The Bo Thai (Thai cuisine which is in walking distance of the Hotel, just down on the main road to Kyrenia) There is a Seafood Restaurant owned by the Malpas which is situated at their Beach site, but it is fair to say that although I had the best King Prawn dishl of my stay it was more than slightly marred by the fact that this is also the site where the Malpas Disco is situated and on our visit the Disco guys were running sound checks for later that night. These checks ran into decibels of a painful degree so much so that the Restaurant staff were constantly appologising for the inconvenience and even offered us free desserts to placate us somewhat. We refused these and returned to the hotel. I would like to say that I am not adverse to Disco's by any means but the noise of the sound check was absolutely deafening and dragged on for what seemed to be an age. Had they been underway when we had arrived we would not have placed an order for food in the first place. It was a real shame as the setting of the Restaurant overlooking the sea and the quality of the food was superb.
There are lots of places to visit in Northern Cypress and hiring a car is a good option, the hotel does however provide transport to and from Kyrenia each day plus a bus to the beach area, which is a manmade boardwalk built over the Med providing free Parosols,beds and towels and offers a wonderful service from the staff. There is no Beach as such though so don't be disappointed at there being no sand.
Although we would not visit again, other destinations beckon, we would recommend this hotel as you would have to go a long way to better the views of this prime site, the standard of the rooms and hotel plus the attentiveness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Recently stayed at the Malpas hotel half board. The breakfasts were passable, evening meals were rubbish. This meals contained boiled neck of mutton 5 nights out of the 14 we stayed. Also 5 of the nights Ox liver, chicken wings, meat balls and kebab meat. So Brits be warned. If you want a nice snack or ice-cream through the day , take a trip to Mardos ice-cream and cafe which is aprox 1 mile away from the hotel. Its situated on the main road leading into Kyrenia city centre. Look out for the Olive tree casino sign on your left hand side and Mardo is opposite this on the right. You will be well served by Cathy and Ozzy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Malpas is a five star hotel about 6 miles from Kyrenia. Rooms are large bed comfortable, bathroom clean well maintained with high end fittings. Food is mainly very good, staff are polite friendly and helpful. So lots of positives.
Down side, there are very few facilities near the hotel so you will need a car or taxi's if you want to eat out or experience any entertainment. The exception to this is a retaurant called Bo Thai at the bottom of the which is very good and I would certainly recomend.
In the restaurant they play what is supposed to be back ground music quite loudly. We abandoned meals on several occasions and went to the Bo Thai instead. This is the same in the outside eating area along side the restaurant. On one occasion they were playing what we belived was Turkish folk music through the PA system, at the same time they had hired a local entertainer to play the usual stuff you get on holidays, at the same time there was a youg persons ball going on around the pool area which was blasting out very bassey rave music and then to complete the mix the local mosque kicked off calling the locals to prayer. The loud music theme is every where around the pool we heard a turkish version of smoke on the water 9 times in a single day played that loud that despite putting my ear canal head phones in it was still to loud. Take the shuttle bus to the sea they play the sort of music you normally hear coming from a boom box in the back of a citreon saxo or similar.
Ironically there is a sign on the entrance to the hotel stating that for 'Health and Safety' reasons customers cannot bring into the hotel bottels of water or tins of cola etc. I say ironically because from a health and safety view the pool area is worse than you will see in any of those disasters waiting to happen video's.
The pool is huge and surronded by ceramic tiles which do not appear to be the proper anti-slip type you see people walking around like penguins trying to stay upright. Drinks and meals are served in ordinary glass and pottery we got showered with glass when one of the waiters dropped by the pool. Around the tiles is a poor equivalent of wooden decking with all the sun beds on the wood. The wood is in a poor condition and is frankly filthy with old cigarette butts and other grime which has got between the planks and can not be easily removed. The wood is fractured in various places I got splinters in the bottom of my foot were the metal sunbed frames had roughed up the surface. I have saved the best until last. We lay on our sun beds whilst the pool attendant used a 240v industrial floor cleaner to clean the ceramic tiles around the pool. A 240v domestic extension lead (they use uk style plugs and sockets) with a four socket outlet was partially submerged in the pool with the socket outlets left by the side of the pool and then a second extesion lead was plugged into the first with the socket outlet part tied to the handle bars of the cleaner. This went on for about an hour with people in the pool. Make no mistake the risk of electricution to those in the pool was serious and potentially fatal. I could not believe what I had witnessed. There was also no obvious sign that the appliance or the extension leads had been PAT tested.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yberd1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
1.2 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
2.2 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
8.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kyrenia
475 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,058 reviews
10.8 mi away
Merit Royal Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Property: Malpas Hotel & Casino
Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing