We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good hotel but a little out of the way if you haven't hired a car.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed May 14, 2010

This was our first trip to North Cyprus. We booked a week at the Malpas and a week at the Pia Bella in Kyrenia town.

Having read other reviews before booking we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. The rooms, facilities, food and staff at the Malpas were all good. We stayed for a week on half board at a cost of £56 per night (for 2 people), which we thought was very reasonable. Only issue was the price of drinks but we expected this as it was mentioned in other reviews. A lady we spoke to, who has stayed at the Malpas a few times, said she had mentioned this to the manager who responded " 5 star hotel 5 star prices". A consequence of these prices is that everyone disappears after dinner to consume the bottles they have "spirited" away in their rooms. Don't go near the minibar in the rooms; £6.80 for spirits and £3.60 for a tin of coke!

The hotel is about 8Kms out of Kyrenia so if you havent got a car a taxi will cost about £10.

We l flew out the day before the volcano erupted. Some guests had to stay at the hotel awaiting flights. It was good to see the hotel charging their normal price for these extended stays. I wonder if this would be the case in some other cities/resorts?

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Malpas and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acorntours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Malpas Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 946 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

Bed,Breakfast and Dinner for 7 nights,we stayed in the annex building,very quiet and relaxing,roos well furnished and clean,good quality bedding towels and lining.
A vast choice on the buffet menu at both evening dinner and breakfast.Reception staff are always very helpful and friendly.
Hotel has its own beach area away from the actual hotel with free transport,plenty of easy access to the sea.
The swimming pool is fantastic with an ever attentive pool attendant
You wont be disappointed at the Malpas,First Class

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danek53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

8th April 2010
MALPAS HOTEL, NORTHERN CYPRUS

We had a lovely holiday at the Malpas Hotel, Northern Cyprus. We returned on Tuesday after spending 10 nights at the hotel.
The hotel is fantastic! The food is exceptional and the staff are friendly, polite, customer focussed and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. We can’t wait to return.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings.
Sue and Ian

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My wife and I hav been frequent visitors to the "Malpas" since it first opened some 4 years ago. We have always been made most welcome and apart from some initial teething problems such as language misunderstandings and the occasional hiccup with room service; the general outloook,year on year, has been highly favorable.
The sea view rooms offer the best vista and with the impresive backdrop of the Kyrenian Mountains the whole setting is magnificent.
The food at all sittings is excellent and I would suggest the best value is Half Board.
My wife and I live in the Republic of Cyprus (South) and when we go to the North it is like being in a different country even though it is just less than 1 hours drive away.
There is a certain quirkiness with the Malpas that seems to draw us back to it dispite several other superb Hotels in the area of Kyrenia.
I suppose it has become a kind of home from home and this feeling is nutured by the friendly staff and general bon homie that we experience on each visit.
The Pool area is huge with 2 large round pools joined at the center and surrounded by very comfortable sun beds and a Restaurant come Pool Bar looks after your every need.
Inside in the lower ground floor is a modern fitness suite and large pool with jacussi plus wet rooms<>sauna and turkish steamroom.
A beautician is on hand as well as massage treatments.
Both my wife and I love a little flutter and the Casino is second to none. Snacks and beverages are free for all punters ( this includes Alcohol)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaymasterCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I stayed at the Malapas for two nights on a friday and saturday. The hotel is nice to look and is thoroughly modern. The facilities appear to be first class and the food is a reasonable standard buffet at at breakfast and dinner. Rooms are of a good standard.

However the hotel did have a couple of shortcomings during our stay. Firstly Housekeeping. This is below par as my wife and I left the hotel to sight see in kyrenia. We left the "please make up my room" sign on the door, when we returned late that afternoon, no one had bothered. I did phone reception to complain, whom appeared to be at best ambivilent about the matter.

The attitude of the Spa staff do do witha little re-adjustment as the did not seem to be the "cheery" type that one associates with Spas. At times the heating was off in the indoor pool as well as the lighting. The decor around the pool area could do with freshening up!

Despite these couple of shortcomings I would reccomend the Malpas to those wishing to stay in Kyrenia, it is certainly better laid out than the Jasmine Court, and i attribute these couple of problems to "pre-season" teething problems. I will book to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have just returned from a holiday staying at the Malpas for 2 weeks. Unfortunately the food provided was not of 5 star rating, at least 12 other people (including me) whilst we were there experienced sickness and diarrhoea due to the food - in fact on many ocassions it was obvious that food was beng re-used the following day - examples liver was sliced up and on the cold buffet also cold beef and haddock on other days. We did enjoy the hotel facilities and our room was very good, but drinks were very expensive a bottle of house wine was 50 turkish lira, this being the cheapest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ainotEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCat44, Public |Relations Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2010

In response to the comments that have been written regarding the food/hygiene at our hotel, we would like to make the following points.
1. Malpas is the only hotel in North Cyprus currently to have been awarded the ISO 2000 certificate.
2. All meats, mezes, salads, water and milk desserts are tested by an independent laboratory regularly in accordance with ISO 2000.
3. A daily sample of all meats, salads, mezes, milk desserts from the Open Buffet is kept in a dedicated refrigerator, which can be tested in the case of an outbreak of illness in the hotel. (which has never occurred since the opening of the Malpas)
4. It should be noted that last week (20-27 March 2010) over 280 guests were staying at the hotel, and only a very small number felt ill, therefore concluding that the hotel food was not to blame.
5. The Casino kitchen is not under the hotel regulation, so the Malpas cannot be held responsible for any food consumed whilst in the casino.
6. Obviously, the hotel cannot be held responsible for any stomach upset caused by guests eating in restaurants/cafes outside the hotel during the day. ( In addition, there is also the food consumed in-flight to the island which should be taken into account.)
7. The weather at this time of year can also cause problems. The temperature variant can quite often affect a person and cause a stomach upset.
8. It should also be remembered that in North Cyprus it is not safe to drink water out of the tap. Only bottled water should be drunk.
We would once again like to stress that we are quite sure that any stomach upset suffered was not as a result of eating in our hotel, as the quality and hygiene of our restaurants and food is constantly checked and tested according to the ISO 2000 requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Malpas hotel Cyprus. The hotel was a real 5* hotel, the food was fresh, the rooms were very spacious and clean, and the staff were always ready with a smile, especially at the reception.If their was one thing l would change, it would be the price of the drinks.The theory being,that if they were cheaper you would buy more. It was also a bonus to use the spa facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whinoSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
251 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
440 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: $84 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing