We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant. Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Margate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant. Stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We paid less than £350 for a week in this hotel for half board. The staff were helpful especially Sheila who was English, she brought a beach towel from her home for me. The food was excellent although they catered for the Turkish visitors there was plenty of choice for the English taste. The only food I wasn't over keen on was the desserts they looked lovely though. There were a few issues but I'm not going to focus. On them as they were small. Oh just one then we arrived after evening meal and left before breakfast. They offered us some filled bagets which were filled with luncheon meat,and the ends were stale. Small thing I know however we technically paid for a meal in the cost of the holiday.
Overall great hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Malpas Hotel and for the time you have taken in writing on Trip advisor.
It was our pleasure to read your very kind review and we are glad to know you had a wonderful stay in our hotel.
Thank you for making us aware of some problems, so that we have the opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    274
    162
    59
    45
See reviews for
162
491
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Compton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Like many others read lots of negative views about this hotel before we travelled. All I can say is that they must have stayed at a different hotel!!!
Of course the drinks are going to be more expensive in the hotel you get that wherever in the world you travel, but the prices are not extortionate and you don't have to stay in the hotel to drink!!!
Overall view of the hotel excellent, they have great facilities. We used the gym every night followed by the steam room ( hottest one I have been in but suited me and my fiancé ) then a dip in the indoor pool.
The food buffet style each evening plenty of choice hot and cold dishes. The staff in the dining room were fabulous worked tirelessly each day and couldn't do enough for you. Sunshine was our favourite he was a real character and looked forward to seeing him and having a chat each day.
Staff by the pool also great wouldn't even let you put the umbrellas up did everything for you.

Would I recommend this hotel - Definately

Thank you we had a fantastic 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miggins90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind comment about our Hotel. It was a pleasure for us to serve you .your valuable feedback gives us an opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction. It will be a great pleasure for us to have you again as our guest. I will take honor to thank you on behalf of all the Malpas Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Position, accommodation, food and staff cannot be faulted.
We just could not find fault.
Although a little out of Kyrenia this was no problem as the hotel provides transport and the local dolmus service is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJS9586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to read your very kind review about our hotel. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us. It was an honor to serve guests like your great self. Hope to see you soon.
I will take the pleasure to thank you on and behalf of all the Malpas hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first time in Cyprus and how fantastic that we came to the Northern side. Malpas is clean, the staff are, as everyone has said, helpful and friendly. The food is constantly excellent even though some is not to my own taste that doesn't mean that its not top class, just not for me. The pool is clean and cold - a must when you need to cool down. The sunbeds, hammocks and swing chairs are in excellent condition and the towels clean and plentiful. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels on a daily basis. The only downside was the beach club-not exactly a beach and could do with a little renovation and new loungers but still plenty of clean towels should you brave the steps into the sea. We would have liked to have been closer to a beach but we will know next time Kyrenia or Girne is quaint clean and interesting. Its safe to walk anywhere and although you are accosted every ten seconds by restaurant staff they aren't overly pushy and i do appreciate that this is their job and it bothered us not one iota. The harbour is lovely viewed from one of the roof top bars and restaurants. All in all it was a lovely holiday and we will definately return to Kyrenia.

Room Tip: The annex when finished will be lovely as the rooms are large and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mammamiapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Malpas Hotel and for the time you have taken in writing on Trip advisor.
It was our pleasure to read your very kind review and we are glad to know you had a wonderful stay in our hotel.
Thank you for making us aware of some problems, so that we have the opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

After booking a week's holiday, we went on to read the hotel reviews on this site and were rather dismayed at the contributions overall, which tended to focus on the negative aspects. We were therefore delighted with our week's stay. Spacious, ultra clean rooms with good comfortable beds (linen changed daily), stylish public areas, breathtaking pools and luxuriant landscaping. The food suited us - vast choices of both hot and cold which tended to favour the Mediterranean (and rightly so) but the catering aimed also to keep the more traditional British guests well catered for.
All this could be found at many good quality hotels and so what made the holiday a delight was the exceptional service provided by the cheerful, diligent and tireless staff. Without exception - outstanding. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: First floor with a view of the Med. was fantastic but a mountain view room would have been perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for kind comments about our Hotel. It was a pleasure for us to serve you .your valuable feedback gives us an opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction. It will be a great pleasure for us to have you again as our guest. I will take honor to thank you on behalf of all the Malpas Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is the second time we have used this hotel and would not hesitate to use it again. It is clean, friendly and the food excellent and plentiful. We stayed on a half board in March. It stands on high ground but is ideal for exploring North Cyrpus from.

The waiters and waitresses were very welcoming and helpful. The reception staff couldn't do enough for us. We will be going back AGAIN for sure.

10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms above the Casino as people congregate there to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Malpas for 6 nights at the beginning of May. First night had room over looking mountains, very comfortable but a bit dark due to the rain. We swapped rooms after first night to get sea and pool view, it did cost additional money but well worth it. I did write to hotel before to request room with no joy, might be worth checking when book, but not everyone can get one, so worth it when you arrive as hotel was full but for the right price:-) we were unfortunate with the weather it rained most days, didn't do any of the organised trips but people who did enjoyed them. Had a couple of trips around the town, the castle worth a visit and the old harbour lovely with some great restaurants, the corner restaurant great food and friendly staff. On the rainy days we went to casino, played the slots. Didn't loose any money and got free drinks( you have to ask the girls as they don't offer) the Staff were really good, very helpful and friendly and the food was great, lots of choice. Pool was refreshingly cool, which will be lovely when hotter, lots of chairs, the helicopter swing chairs were great, bought one on our return to UK! Sheila the English lady on reception most helpful is you have any queries. Drink prices very comparable to the town, water more expensive but that's normal. Over all we had a great stay and would go again. Speaking to friend who lives there, May can be a bit hit and miss with the weather so would leave it till June, also makes me want to visit Turkey as found the locals very friendly. Local busses and taxi's good. 20 TL from hotel to town, by bus 2.5TL. Sauna and steam room good, massages good, jacuzzi cold and pool nice after sauna.

Room Tip: Our first room was 329 very comfortable but not best view as raining. Changed to 238 great view sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leena-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
1.2 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
2.2 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
8.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kyrenia
474 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,057 reviews
10.8 mi away
Merit Royal Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Property: Malpas Hotel & Casino
Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing