We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ten Splendid Days at the Malpas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Birchington, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ten Splendid Days at the Malpas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having read a number of negative accounts for the Malpas, my wife and I were more than pleasantly surprised following the enjoyable 10 days that we spent there.
On our evening arrival, we were ushered into the restaurant, even though it was about to close, for refreshment after our journey. Check-in was easy and we were shown to our sea-view room with balcony on the second floor. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well presented with plenty of towels. We brought our own travel jug for morning cups of tea and coffee – why do some people always expect to find these facilities in foreign hotels?
There seems to be much discussion regarding rooms with a mountain (sun) or sea view (no sun). Personally, we preferred the sea view room. With temperatures averaging 25° - 30°C, who would want to risk sunstroke sitting on a baking balcony. With the hotel being a few kilometres inland, as well as the splendid sea view, we were able to watch life going by in the Kyrenia suburbs.
The majority of the staff we encountered were helpful and eager to please. Special mentions must go to: Cynthia, the Guest Relations Representative who provided valuable assistance on a number of occasions and, most importantly, always followed up to ensure we were happy. Mehmet is a credit to the hotel. His friendly and willing nature proved popular with all guests whether it be at the poolside cafe or the main restaurant and bar. Asaada, a waiter in the main restaurant, always provided a smiling welcome.
Comments have been made about the food. Perhaps, it was somewhat “samey”, but remember this is Turkish style cuisine. There was plenty of choice and I defy anyone not to be able to find something to their liking. We found no problems with “cold food” – the restaurant displayed requests for any problems like this to be brought to their attention. My wife, who has dietary intolerances, was taken care of by the restaurant manager, Mr Mustapha, who proved very helpful in discussing her requirements and instructing the chefs to prepare suitable dishes for her.
The swimming pool area is one of the hotel’s best assets. With more than enough loungers and parasols to go round, we encountered none of the “reserved” sun-bed problems that one sees so often in hotels. The pool attendant was amazing, spending much of his time racing around the pool area preventing guests from having to move sunbeds or open parasols. He seemed truly dedicated to the guests’ welfare and comfort.
The only disappointment is the guests’ Beach Club. A complimentary shuttle is provided, but sadly the area has seen better days and has suffered the ravages of wind and waves. We believe that there are plans to provide much needed investment in order to bring this back to an acceptable beach relaxation area.
Car hire at £20 – £23 (depending on hire duration) which includes full insurance is real value for money. Cynthia of Guest Relations kindly advised and researched the best deal. Take the opportunity to explore - Bellapais Abbey, Kyrenia Castle, Famagusta and Nicosia amongst others.
In conclusion, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Malpas and considered it to be very good value for money. We would recommend this hotel for those not requiring constant entertainment, but simply enjoying peace and relaxation in a pleasant location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    274
    164
    59
    45
See reviews for
163
492
28
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crayford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Thinking of going to Northern Cyprus for your next holiday? Then think Malpas Hotel & Casino, NO! don't think it, DO IT! Our initial reception was brilliant. Our room was superb, with magnificent views of the ocean and the pools and the room service was excellent. Now I have to admit that I'm not a lover of 'self-service' (I don't even really enjoy carveries when at home) however, the lay-out of the restaurant, the variety of foods (both local and international), and the attitude of the waiters and waitresses left absolutely nothing to be desired. The pool area was kept in an immaculate condition and the supplied towels were always freshly laundered and
readily available. The food from the pool-side bar was excellent and the waiters ever-ready
to serve you at your loungers. The hotel laid on transport to both the near-by town of Kyrenia and their private beach and restaurant which was both free, clean, punctual and frequent. Should you ever need assistance,as we once did, Claire and Cynthia are both caring and excellent negotiators. Was there a down-side? Yes! the Casino was my down-fall, may-be next time!!

Room Tip: We had a sea view which suffered from no noise from the evening entertainment. Our friends had a mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The bed was the most comfortable, the food was nice and the staff were incredibly friendly. However, I went on a package deal for a week which cost over £1600, Mercury claiming that it was 5*. This is not a five star hotel therefore not worth what we paid but this is a shame as I really liked it and would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Was at the Malpas Mid September 2013, Let me say at the start of this review, we had a nice time. It could have been great if my expectations was not 5 star !!! But as this is rated a 5 star I thought that's what we would get ??
In a few ways the Malpas was 5 star, but unfortunately in many ways it wasn't.
I'll start with the really good bits..........
Staff are fantastic, from the reception, dining room to the pool staff who were lovely all the time, nothing too much trouble.
The views from the pool are amazing, see attached photo's
Clean throughout, lovely entrance and reception/lounge area
Nice size rooms, nice and quiet, we were in the block to the side of main hotel, really nice. We travelled with Mercury Direct, Rep was really nice and very informative, just enough not too much.
Courtesy buses, very good, always on time, to the town and the beach club. If the drivers saw you walking they would stop and ask if you wanted a lift.

Now the poor bits................ See photos;
No activities at all, none, not even the odd water aerobics.
No animation team, there is an amphitheatre around the pool but this was never used ( we were there for 10 nights from 11th -21st Sept, hardly out of season. The only entertainment was one guy with a guitar out on the terrace, he wasn't bad but same songs, similar entertainment for the whole 10 nights (cab down to the town was called for a few nights, which was reasonable charge £8/9 each way)
Bar staff was very polite and sweet but too slow, even if you went to the bar yourself it took an age to get your drink and they wasn't even busy. Only one barman, so if he got an order with a few cocktails you had to wait and age.
No newspaper on sale, one little shop with empty shelves, which we never saw open.
Bed linen not changed enough, after 5 days, I had to tell maid to change, which she did without question. I would expect at least every 3 days in 5 star!
TV Channels rubbish. no DVD
Beach club is advertised, but actually there is no beach at all, only decking with access to sea. bar staff at the beach club really nice, once again nothing too much trouble. Unfortunately towels and furniture let the beach club down big time, also very messy ( see pics.) you will understand why we think its not 5 star. (probably was when new, but had been left to rot)
Food was Ok, but only ever warm, never hot. Good selection.
No tea/coffee facilities in room, not done apparently in Cyprus !! again not 5 star, Take your own kettle and tea bags etc.,
I would have loved to have a treatment in the spa, but when I enquired the lady in the spa only had a photocopy of all treatments and price list and I could take away to browse, so I didn't
Overall an ok holiday, would go back probably, with own kettle and lower expectations.
Beach club badly needs a revamp.
Malpas could easily be a 5 star but at present I would say a 4 star overall.

Hope this review helps

Room Tip: Rooms in the block to the side of main building is nice and quiet. if that's what you like. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent a week at the Malpas. After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about the place. However, when we got there, we were late but they had kept the dining room open for us. The choice was limited due to the lateness of the hour but we found plenty to eat and enjoy. Our room had a sea view and was of a good size, clean and welcoming. Breakfast the next morning was a very pleasant surprise, fresh bread, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, 3min or 5min boiled, freshly made omelettes, cheese, ham, full continental and also salads and olives etc. The grounds were clean and well looked after and the pool area was clean and comfortable, with attentive staff, clean towels and plenty of sun beds and parasols.
The reception staff were very knowledgable about the area and helpful. They rang us in our room when our hire car arrived an hour early and really made us feel welcome.
The buffet in the dining room each night was beautifully presented, with a wide selection. I did hear people complain because they weren't used to "foreign " food and only ate pork chops and roast with veg, but I say to them. "You are in a foreign country, try everything you never know, you might like it." There was always soups, fresh salads with cold meats such as beef and chicken. for mains there was always something freshly cooked such as barbecued chicken, fried fish, stir fried noodles etc. and local dishes with Couscus, Stuffed aubergines (egg plants), stuffed tomatoes, stews, rice, fried potatoes and a selection of delicious local vegetables. The dessert section was an absolute feast for the eyes with lots of choice and variety
The bar at night had singers and guitar players, Ok not well known or famous but easy to listen to and you could still have a conversation. Bar prices were reasonable, cheaper than UK and Hotels are always pricier than local bars. We had a couple of bottles of local wine in our room which was comparable to the average spanish or french red wine, not a Rioja or a Bergundy but full bodied and fruity.
All in all it was excellent value for money. It's situated just of the main road on a perfectly good tarmac road at the foothills of the mountains and has superb views over the mountains on the south facing side. Kyrenia, is a £6 taxi ride away and about 45 mins from the airport. Didn't try the Spa but talked to people who did and they enjoyed the experience. Wi-fi was about £2.50 per day and we could access it in our room and on the balcony.
We will return next year hopefully for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlanZoeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holidayat the Malpas Hotel. The staff were very friendly and was helpful. We were allocated one of the lovely villas, but asked to be moved to the main hotel as I struggled to walk to the returants and ammenaties, which they did immediately.
The food was lovely with plenty of choice. The hotel itself was very clean and the linens were changed daily.
The hotel is quite remote, but the hotel provide a courtesy bus hourly, should you want to venture into the town. I find it very hard to believe the poor reviews this hotel has had in the recent past and wouldn't think twice about recommending it to anyone.
Special thank you to the pool waiter, Mammet, and the towel boy for being so helpful.
Jack & Elaine from Halifax

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at "Malpas" 5-12 Oct. on what we can only describe as the best value for money holiday we have yet had. The whole package was efficiently organised from start to finish. Flights were on time or early and transfers seamless. When we arrived after the long trip we were told to leave our luggage which they would bring in and to go straight to the restaurant where we had a lovely and welcome meal. Subsequent check in was easy and efficient.
The hotel was immaculate and the rooms cleaned to a high standard daily. The pools were fantastic and every member of staff that we encountered could not have been more friendly or helpful. The open buffet breakfasts and evening meals we found really good and the the choices on offer daily were many and varied. We went on one organised trip which was organised by "Cyprus Paradise" which was very interesting and we were able to see some of the beautiful unspoilt country to the north west and swim at "Golden Beach". The water was warm and clear. - the guide was very knowledgable and humorous. We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus to Kyrenia and again found it well worth the trip. Met some lovely people and had a wonderful time all round. Hope very much to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains rather than the sea get sun in the mornings even in October when the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
8.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Property: Malpas Hotel & Casino
Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing