We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, not so nice drink prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not so nice drink prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Malpas Hotel is a lovely hotel, a hire car is essential if you wish to explore as the hotel is in a quiet area. The pool area is good with plenty of sun loungers.The food is plentiful to suit most palates. On the down side drink prices went up half way through our week , a large beer was 8ntl then went up to 12 ntl . All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Malpas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanjeanniexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    274
    164
    59
    45
See reviews for
163
492
28
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Malpas many times over the last few years and it essentially does what it says on the tin. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the general ambiance is very relaxed. We have always used it as a base and have number of areas we like to visit some well hidden from the beaten track so we alway have some kind of vehicle. The restaurant offer buffet for breakfast and diner which were included in the price although we hardly ever eat from the buffet. They do a pretty good job of offering a wide range to suite all tastes but I really dont like buffets. You can always order at the bar if you prefer or by the pool where the food is good but not great and you will have to pay as it is not included. The Cotton Jazz bar is really more eclectic in its music, there was a fantastic live band playing one night. One of the guests (British!!) was drunk and singing badly and loudly over the lead singer, she would probably have been moved on in the UK but you can hardly blame the Hotel for their guests! The Malpas has a great spa and gym with steam room, sauna and Hamam. There is also a beauty and hair salon though I dont use those! If you like gambling there is a Casino and apparently a nightclub although we haven't investigated either. As a holiday destination the Malpas is excellent, I would really recommend it. There are a number of hotels along this coast however this one is a bit different and more friendly. I see comments about taking water to rooms etc we have never had a problem, I guess to some extent it is to do with how you present yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Banshee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Malpas. We had read reviews about building work going on and being a little concerned contacted the agents who were assured by the hotel that external work had been completed and internal work would be completed before we arrived, unfortunately that wasn't the case, as they were working around the clock to complete before the opening of the former fire damaged Casino on the Friday evening before we left. In all honesty the building work didn't concern us too much and didn't affect our holiday to that degree. The hotel seemed very popular with the Brits and true to form the whinge was about the standard of the food. Whilst being plentiful at breakfast and evening meal it was a variation of the same thing dressed up in a different way. The hot buffet was at best lukewarm, and the soup was never hot. The buffet was 'geared up' towards Turkish cuisine and not really international for the more 'picky' clients. Notably things seemed to change rapidly within the week we were there, there appeared to be a sudden change of staff, Guest relations went around asking people if all ok and taking a notes of complaints etc. On our last evening which was Friday the change was immense; suddenly you had chefs appearing in their 'whites' with chefs hats in the dining room, laughably there was a chef doing some sort of demonstration with salad vegetables, although no-one seemed to notice, there was a guy dressed like 'Ali Baba' offering some sort of Turkish delicacy, and the 'Cheeky Girls' from Siberia appeared as Hostesses greeting you at the restaurant entrance. This sudden change was either down to response from complaints from the guests, or more likely to do with the re-opening of the Casino and the impending VIP guests. The change was also evident with new patio furniture around the terraces and pool, cleaning up the gardens in general and constant fluffing of the cushions on the reception sofas. These changes will be welcome for newly arriving guests, lets hope they can keep it up for the rest of the season. Pro's: Nice location, lovely pool, great pool bar waiter Mehmet, and pool boy worked liked a demon keeping everyone in towels and moving sun parasols around plus helping out a the pool bar when they had a 'rush on'. Food at pool bar was 'hit and miss' depending which 'chef' was on. Rooms kept clean with fresh linen and towels daily. Bar drinks average for hotels and good value for money. Con's: Food comments as above, attention to detail on silly little things which built up and became annoying, they appeared to want to put things right, but needed constant reminding. Don't be fooled by the 5* rating this isn't graded by international star ratings and therefore cannot be compared with the rest of Europe, also hotel is a bit remote so a car is recommended, even for a trip to nearby Kyrenia which is about 6kms away. Also lots of old people while we were there, and after dinner and by 10.30 it was pretty much dead with most people in bed. Would we go again to Malpas?...probably not.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view have view of the pool and have afternoon and late evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAB3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just got back from our second visit to the Malpas Hotel. My mum and I came back as we loved our visit their 2 years ago. We were slightly worried was it a good idea to go back when we had had such a lovely first visit?
The answer is yes - the food was fantastic - actually better than before the chef's artistic flair was amazing and the stir fry was to die for! The puddings were just amazing - our waste lines can testify to that!
The waiting staff especially in the restaurant and the pool staff were lovely, friendly and very welcoming and some even remembered us from the first visit!
Definitely recommend the boat trip around the coast and always love a drink at Kyrenia harbour! taking the village bus was an experience, but fun!
As before loved the pool and views of the mountains and sea.
We stayed in the actual hotel this time, whilst it was nice, it was nosier than the rooms situated away from the hotel where we stayed last time. If I hear Rod Stewart again singing I am sailing at 7.30am......!!
Building works were going on, but this did not really impact on us - would have been nice to have been told though!
We will both definitely be returning!

Room Tip: The rooms away from the hotel are quieter and more spacious. make sure if in the main hotel you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a two week break and stayed at the Malpas , very very disappointed. This is no more than a 3star, As previously stated the building work was noisy ,dusty and very disrupting .We were originally put in an annex room and these were smelly ,dark and disgusting.When we complained we were eventually moved ,but the main reception staff were unhelpful and really were quite annoyed by our complaint.Smiling does not seem to be a quality they have? Again as previous reviews no appology was given,the reception staff need to take some lessons from the waiters and pool boys who were absolutely fantastic and could not do enough for you ,We nearly stayed at the Acappolco and wish we had ,this had its own beach and had the 5star quality that the Malpas wants but does not aspire to?Again as previously stated likes to charge the 5star prices!!!!!! The casino was opened by the time we left but they really do not want British guests in there , unlike the locals we were made to feel really uncomfortable.Please do not waste your hard earned money staying at this hotel.WOULD NEVER GO BACK!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are the best but the reception staff will make it hard for you to obtain one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edzell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked this via Cyprus Paradise after ad in Sunday papers & went April 2013. Hotel was very good though certainly not 5*...more like 3-4*. Very clean, good choice of buffet food and Staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately both the indoor and outdoor pools were not heated and were freezing. (Never yet been to a spa where the pool not heated!). Also the juccuzi was neither heated nor working and the sauna wasn't working. Only the Turkish bath and steam rooms were operational. I was informed that this was all due to a fire in the casino the previous week and it would be a week before it would be sorted. Also the beach club was not yet opened, despite all these facilities being advertised in the sales blurb. Cyprus Paradise were useless when I later complained and virtually accused me of lying, and that having checked with the hotel, everything was working! They also said that the indoor pool was not meant to be heated!
Also, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, with only the bus to Kyrenia (which was nice) or tours. No access to the 'beach' which was only rocks anyway. Probably better to have a hired car if want to explore.
In short, nice hotel, rubbish spa (cos not working), and the surrounding area bleak with loads of half finished villa complexes.
Maybe we were just a week or two too early, but feel we should have been informed of these problems .
Cyprus Paradise are useless. unhelpful, and rude and we would never use them again.

Room Tip: Pool rooms (N facing) great view /little sun. If want sunny balcony choose mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiDocEdzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a superior room at Malpas for 4 days in May 2013.
The hotel is very appealing and relaxing.

We loved the terrace and the views - you can enjoy a cup of coffee on the terrace, in the sun and simply gaze at the horizon.

The swimming pool is nice and big enough. It was never too crowded during our stay. At night it lights up in many different colors – it was a nice sight; we could see it from our room.

The staff was very friendly.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were good, with many different options every day – you don’t get bored with the same dishes if you are staying at Malpas for several days in a row.

On the downside however:
- Even though the rooms were spacious but they were somehow worn out!! The carpet in our room was badly stained!
- To our surprise, the hotel is not directly on the beach – you need to take the hotel’s transport to get there (it is only a 5 minutes’ drive). If you have a car (which I strongly suggest you do), many lovely and calm beaches are a few minutes away from the hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing day at the beach, I recommend the turtle beach :)
- During our stay, the casino was closed for renovation. You can imagine the noise!! This was the main drawback to our vacation

Overall, it’s a lovely hotel, friendly staff, nice and relaxing views. However, since it is outside of Kyrenia, I strongly suggest renting a car to make the best out of your holiday!! We rented a car from “British rent a car” – we were pleased with their services. They also offer airport pick-up.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
8.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Property: Malpas Hotel & Casino
Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing