We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews. Pleasantly surprised, yes, I agree that it's not the European standard of 5 star, but don't let that put you off. Room overlooked the sea although a way from it. Clean and of good standard, nice toiletries in bathroom. food is what you would expect of a buffet, their meze excellent, constantly re filled. hot dishes ok but your not paying for Al la Carte are you. Hotel just getting geared up for summer season so gardens and pool being brought up to scratch. Staff very good in all areas. Ladies,try the Spa, they have a wonderful girl from Bali for the massages so dont miss it. Lots of high quality treatment too. Bar has happy hour 5to7 and staff very cheerful. Not much to do near hotel and after you have been into Kyrenia once no need to do again.
To enjoy this holiday hire a car, very easy and cheap if booked with a norther cyprus hire company,they drive on uk side of road and driving is safe. Please note you cannot take a northern cyprus rental car to the south of the island.

Evening needs some more entertainment but think that will change in the summer season.

So all in all a quiet and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Looking over the sea is better as you could be disturbed when people leave Casino.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarapagesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Malpas Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 945 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from 1 week stay at the Malpas Hotel and Casino which is certainly not the 5 star it claims to be.The hotel itself was pleasant if somewhat plastic and on the surface seemed promising. We arrived late and were pleasantly surprised that they had kept the restaurant open for us so that we could eat before check in after which we were accompanied to our room by a very pleasant bell boy. All that one would expect from a 5 Star. As mentioned we arrived late and in the dark so were not aware of out location until the following morning. The dawn brought with it the realisation that we were quite a way from Kyrenia and would need to rely on the courtesy bus to get us to Kyrenia. The hotel provides 2 departures in the morning. 10.00 and 11.30am but only one return at 4.00pm with an obvious outcome of too many people for the return journey. We think they rely on some people making their own way back at their own expense.After our first night we had to insist on changing rooms as we had a problem with the water not draining from our bath/shower resulting in a rather smelly room. They did move us without fuss. The main problem with the hotel is the restaurant the lay out akin to a canteen with tables so close together that unless you were intentionally seeking company left no room for privacy.The waiters were pleasant but not trained in basic etiquette and would clear plates away while partners were still eating and clean ajoining tables with some vigour whilst you were trying to enjoy your meal. The buffet dinner was very ordinary and samey ( save for the salad bar which was very good). The food was very rarely hot and there were definate signs of reconstituted food from one night to the next. By the end of the 3rd night we were truly fed up with it but given that the other restaurants advertised at the hotel were not open and that taxis would be required to eat elsewhere we were left with little choice. The JAZ bar was advertised on the hotels website as a place to relax. There was little or no sign of JAZ entertainment and on one night the place was little more than a town centre bar with television blasting out international football. On our penultimate night there was a function taking place we returned after a pleasant day out to find it impossible to park our hire car in the carpark and had to resort to parking in a neighbouring field. The management decided that they would light up the hotel with 'Staleg 19' search lights one of which shone directly onto our 2nd floor balcony but despite our complaint that we were being blinded no attempt was made to resolve it. On our last night there was a wedding and the noise from the function went on late into the night making sleep out of the question before our early am departure. Overall what a shame it is that a hotel with so much promise and potential cannot live up to its claim. We went early in the year and paid we suppose a bargain price but in truth only what it was worth, We certainly would not pay full price for it and would rate it 3 star at best.

Room Tip: If you want the sun on your balcony choose a mountain view or a room right on the nd of the hotel, M...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is a good 3 star but no more! The food is bland and always luke warm - most hotels manage to at least serve their soup hot,but not this one.Even lunch cooked just for us (the only customers there at lunch time) was brought to us nearly cold.
The room, in a block away from the main hotel, had the linen and towels (not always free of stains) changed every other day and the bins emptyed but the room was not hovered or the balconey swept for the 10 days we were there,nor were the surfaces wiped. The bath grew such a ring where the maid could not reach I had to clean it myself with shampoo and a hand towel!Tissues are not provided,and there is no kettle for tea/coffee making in the room. We would not stay here again,other cheaper hotels in the area offer higher standards.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33jillg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our 10-day visit in March was eagerly anticipated but was such a disappointment. This hotel is remote - far from the coast and the town of Kyrenia in fact far from anywhere! A car is a must. There is a daily courtesy bus from the hotel to Kyrenia which returns at 4pm and was usually over subscribed - often with workers. Alternatively taxis have to be used. No drink/food is allowed in the hotel (health & safety?!) but the hotel courtesy bus allows its workers to sit on laps & the floor to get to work! The buffet style dining room was crowded, the tables cramped and the food edible and repetitive, but nowhere near 5star! The lounge is an extension of the reception area. Entertainment - none. Think very carefully before booking.

Room Tip: Out of season - if you want sunshine DO NOT pay for a (distant) sea-view room as all "sea view...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishRedwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Check in is after 2pm, a lot of the staff at the reception are very young and need more training in customer service, most of them are not particulary pleasant. We had a room on the third floor over looking a small car park but it was a nice view of the mountains and the sea.The room was large and clean but not five star standard, it needs a bit of tlc. The evening meal was good but some of the food could be hotter. There is a good choice, it's buffet style. On our second day there they had a function that started in the afternoon and went on and on and on. The music was boom boom boom, it carried on until late at night. When it finished the hotel decided to clear every thing away at 4 AM !! A number of guests were talking about this at breakfast, they were not happy either. The breakfast was good, we sat out on the terrace with our cuppa as the weather was so good. We got the free bus in to Kyrenia at 11.30am BEWARE the bus back is at 4pm, thats a long time in Kyrenia! When we checked out we were not asked if our stay was ok but this is the usual service from the Malpas. We go when there is a good deal on, we would not pay full rate to stay here as there is better around.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor but if you can avoid weekends as they have functions of different sorts.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We travelled in March to get away from the great British weather and were glad we did! We were rewarded with lovely sunshine (hot enough to brave the outside pool).

We travelled with Cyprus Premier who were very good, only issue for me was the flight which was with Pegasus who are a budget airline. I think in future I would pay extra for the upgrade to Turkish airlines.

The facilities are what make this hotel, lovely reception area and bar (about £3 a pint so fairly average for hotel prices). The indoor pool area was lovely and the Turkish bath in particular was great (and something different). We both had massages which were about £40 which were great.

As mentioned the weather was nice enough to sunbathe and the outdoor pool area was also very nice and well maintained. The bar staff came down to take drinks orders as the outdoor pool bar wasn’t open when we went (neither was the beach club or fish restaurant).

The food at the buffet was nice, something different every night but we did eat out one night just so we could be served rather than the ‘up and down’ of the buffet.

The room was lovely, possibly one of the best I have stayed in. Nice big bath and powerful shower and a view of the mountains at the rear. We didn’t experience the searches that others have reported and so were able to store water and other items bought at the nearby supermarket in the mini bar (which was expensive if you used it). My only issue was it was quite hot and when I asked at reception they said the temperature is set centrally so there is nothing they could do.

The hotel is a way out of Kyrenia as others have stated but we knew that before we went. We used the Dolmus (about a quid per person each way) to go into Kyrenia and it was fine. We also got a taxi into town one night for a meal and if memory serves it was about £15.
All in all we had a relaxing week and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a 10 day stay from 19th march, be aware you can not bring in your own water or drinks of any kind we were told they will put 50% added to our hotel bill!!! There was a fire in the casino, no one informed us, if it wasnt for people, and staff makeing a noise in the morning outside our room we would still be sleeping, the smell of burning woke us up. The fire alarm had been smashed but obviously didnt work! we had no power for 2 days , no info from anybody it was a joke , to far out the private beach was closed, no fine dinning resturant open, the food was poor always the same choice. hot dogs for brecki(5t) Nobar or toilets open at pool. Good luck hope you have a better time than us .

Room Tip: Sea view a defo but the sea is quite far out
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRUISEINKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCat44, Guest Relations Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would, however, just like to clarify a few things. Firstly, it is the policy of 5-star hotels in North Cyprus not to allow food or beverages to be brought into the hotel from outside. This is made clear in the Welcome Letter given to our guests at check-in, and there are also notices at the hotel entrance. We certainly do not charge 50% on top of a guest's hotel bill! Secondly, we did indeed have a small fire which was totally contained in an area of the Casino, and at no time was a cause for concern in the hotel building. We informed all our guests by a letter to their rooms and apologised for the disruption to the internet and phone lines. The power to the hotel was not disrupted in any way. Our outdoor pool and beach club are not open in March (out of season) but due to the warm weather experieced on some days during this period, we provided sunbeds by the pool for our guests to read in the sun. (Also during this period, on March 22, Kyrenia was hit by hurricane force winds which caused major disruption in the Kyrenia area.) With regard to the quality of food on offer in our Fontana Restaurant, we operate under rigorous quality control and the variety we offer is usually fine for most of our guests. I apologise if you felt the food was never good enough. Finally, we are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday but we hope that you will not be put off visiting our wonderful country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
439 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: $83 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing