We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for one of those Big Birthdays last August, we stayed here with my teenage grandchildren, and we all loved it the food is very good if you can't find any thing you like then you are just a terrible fussy eater. It quite away from Kyrenia town, but there is a curtisy bus that runs several time throughout the day, shame it didn't run in the evening, but there is always a taxi.
Its takes the whole day to get there from Stansted because of the curtesy stop in Turkey that took about an hour.
The rooms were very clean and tidy, The waiters very friendly, pool was nice although the music was a bit loud, there was the Jetty which the curtesy bus took us to, and belonged to the MAlpas was quiet, there is a bar and Restaurant there for hot and cold food, there is also a Fish Restaurant there open in the evenings. We loved it, would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbarloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 993 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Am currently staying @ Malpas Hotel as I write. So far I've had no cause to moan or complain about any areas. The room is excellent facing the 5 Finger Mountain range and has a very sunny balcony too! I was aware re no kettle faclities in the room so brought my own supplies as a seasoned traveller....so no big issue there. Ample supplies of soap, cotton wool, shower gels /caps , bubble baths, body lotion, hair shampoo / conditioners in the bathroom and a pair of b/room slippers +bath / hand towels too!

Electric plugs same as UK so no need to bring euro plug for phone charger or for laptop pcs.

So far the only mild hick up had been re wi-fi reception in the b/room but just mentioning to the Reception desk guy once the techno person came & resolved the probs...am a happy bunny!! The lobby / foyer has gr8 reception & very comfy sofas to lounge.

Very nice garden / terrace. Curtsey bus to Kyrenia too.

The Reastaurant Staff are absolutely wonderful....always around to explain about the many hot / cold dishes on offer....always smiling & friendly....am looking forward to spending futher
22 days here.

Am glad I selected this Hotel to spend my winter break....will supply further review on my return to "chilly" UK....till then I'll enjoy their warm hospitality & the warmer climes!!

Room Tip: Always OPT for the 3rd floor mountain facing rooms as very sunny! Have only used spa once but will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed from Boxing Day until 7th Jan 2013. I feel almost ashamed to write this review @ £75 a night Half Board 5 star hotel should have got me thinking why so cheap? It's cheap because this isn't a 5 star hotel, there seem to be cut backs on the room facilities. No tea/coffee facilities, no slippers or robes, the hair dryer looked like the hoover from a petrol station, not even a box of tissues!I found the beds uncomfortable and the duver supplied hardly covered the bed. We had to ask for our bed linen to be changed and for the carpet to be hoovered. For 2 days our balcony door was left open by the cleaner not only was the room freezing but also a security risk. Wi-fi at extra cost. The food is ok, alot of choice but not to 5 star quality. we preffered the breakfast, as dinner wasn't very good. Small things like not asking for your room number as you enter the restaurant, but ask you as you take a mouthful of food annoyed us. There was also a smell of oil in the air constantly. We paid a premium for a "New Year Gala" Same food on the buffet nothing speacial and a local singer seemed more like a old peoples home Christmas get together than a gala. Not impressed really. If you want a good 3 star on the cheap then this is for you, do not get carried away in thinking this is a 5 star well over rated on that score. The sea view we had made up for the dissapointment, but standard room requirements are a miss and standard requirements come at a cost.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from lovely holiday at the Malpas. The member of staff who made our holiday so memorable was Serkan, a waiter in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was so smiley, friendly and polite. Have to say that the food gets a bit samey especially if there for 2 weeks. Ivan and the bar staff were very nice and friendly. The 2 omelette guys at breakfast were always cheerful and aimed to please. We would go back to the Malpas in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

our stay this year was not quite up to the standard we are used to The first 2 nights entertaintment was very poor .also the food we thought was not as good as last xmas .the staff were excellent rooms clean a shame the dance foor has been removed

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is our third stay at Malpas as a family, we always love going back as the service is exceptional and the hotel offers very good value for money. Staff are always friendly and willing to help- nothing is too much for them. We feel very comfortable and very at home and will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ibz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

this was the 3rd xmas stay & the tenth time i,ve stayed in this hotel since 2010. As usual xmas check in was busy with 3 people at reception. Arrived about 3pm but did not get room until after 4pm as it was still being cleaned when i arrived but it was not a problem. All the staff were friendly as usual and very attentive. A nice surprise was finding the room had been refurbished with new carpet, flat screen tv & new decor.Food in the restaurant was good & the few little problems from the previous xmas had been rectified which shows that the hotel take customer comments on board. Service in the bar has been improved meaning less waiting time for drinks.Only downside this time was the room being cleaned, the cleaner never arrived until 4.30pm in the afternoon to clean which was unacceptable as i was in the room watching tv, so only had towels changed. Overall a most enjoyable experience again, got what i paid for, did not pay 5 star prices so did not expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
269 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
461 reviews
11.2 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
327 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
920 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#1 of 14 in Kyrenia
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: $63 - $1,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing