We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
413
314
200
75
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
314
200
75
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond courtbeach clubjazz barpool areapool staffnorthern cyprusthe main hotelplenty of choicelovely hotelsteam roomhalf boardsea viewturkish bathhired a carevening mealfree shuttlebuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been there from August 28 to September 6,
I traveled alone this time! that was great!
all staff are really friendly, very nice food, variation of deserts are fantastic! i just want to get rest after many hard working days in my country, Malpas hotel is the right place....
i like hotel at nights more, cos there is a very nice lighting there and you can enjoy of hearing live music,... great wine,...
about transportation, hotel bring us very nice transportation system at early in the morning there is a free shuttle to the private beach and there is another one that take you to Girne city, and they will take you back to the hotel at many different times.,
Another thing is: you can find Toristica stand at hotel then you can arrange your tours around the north Cyprus. like a piece of cake,... their staff are really friendly and give you nice and complete information. they can speak English, Turkish and Persian as well so there is no problem to communicate with them, the price of each tour is reasonable. between 35 to 45 U.S. dollars.
I like everything about this hotel, then i will definitely come back to Cyprus and stay in Malpas hotel again.

Room Tip: Please ask you travel agency to book a room for you on second or third floor, with beach view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ieeehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel 4 nights as a part of Salsa Jam Cyprus event.
The hotel is located 1 hour drive from Larnaca airport (shuttle service costs 70 €). The hotel provides an excellent atmosphere for a relaxing vacation. The pool is large with perfectly temperatured water. There food buffer is very good with a very large variety of Mediterranean food.
I didn't like the fact that the hotel does not serve free cold water, which requires you to purchase cold water all day long

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asaflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived at 11 pm, checked in and immediately asked if we would like some food. Our cases were taken to the room, we went to the bar and 10 minutes later baguettes with breaded chicken and salad and home made chips turned up. Very unexpected but very welcome. Great start.
Never had 2 weeks with a more empty pool. Never unable to get a chair. Pool guy gives you towels on arrival, follows you to where you want to sit and puts parasol up for you. Always loads to choose from, he collects up towels from unused chairs so never anyone having to go down before breakfast to put towels on chairs, which was great.
Food hot and varied, different things every night. Too many cats in restaurant though and a few times they got up on tables, which was too much even for us ( and we were taking food back to villa to feed kittens and mum that were outside!)
Recommend the Sapphire villas. Spacious, seperate room for kids, our room upstairs.
Five star is always not what you expect in UK but if you go abroad often you know this so stop whining about 'it should be 3 star'. This is what we expect to find in a Turkish 5 star. Its a lovely hotel. All the staff there we found very friendly. Obviously if you are miserable and a 'finger clicker' expecting special service they won't be so friendly to you. Basically if you want people to be nice don't be so bloody rude to them.
The kids had a great time. All staff lovely to them, empty pool, lots of food choice.
Location isn't great as nowhere to go or a stroll in the evening. Beach too far to walk to so would recommend having a car if you want to get about. No markets to go to either. Don't bother going to Kyrenias as only fruit, veg and clothes. No fake stuff and haggling if thats what you want from a market.
If you want peace and quiet with no loud pool music and no evening 'animations and kids club' then this is great. Thanks to Sharon, the english hotel customer liason lady, for taking me to the chemist when my husband got ill. This was only downside of holiday as he had upset stomach for 3 days but no one else got it and she says that no other guests had complained so not sure where it came from.
St Hilarion is a must visit and Kyrenia Castle is worth a look. Husband went down to beach and said wasn't worth making trip to. Just a jetty with sunbeds on and pebbles. Cant comment as didn't go.
Nicosia worth a visit but don't bother crossing border. You go from the old character and anarchy of the Turkish side to what could be any English High Street with Debenhams, Peacocks, McDonalds etc. We don't want that on holiday so had a quick lunch and walked back across.

Room Tip: Sapphire Villas lovely and peaceful. Nice walk to restaurant in evening and away from any noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have been to Northern Cyprus quite a few times but have never stayed at The Malpas before. We had 3 days here as part of a longer holiday in June. The room was beautiful - decorated in what I would call a boutique hotel style, lovely balcony which overlooked the grassed area and pool. Only slight negative is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities. All very clean. Hotel pool is just lovely - pool never got busy or rowdy, we were handed clean sunbathing towels each time we went down to the pool. I couldn't disagree more with negative comments about the food - if you haven't been to Northern Cyprus before, you might have different expectations, but most hotels have buffet style food and this is by far the best that we've had. Huge choice, all presented extremely well, good variety, omelettes / fried eggs etc cooked to order in the morning, various options cooked fresh in front of you at dinner.

It doesn't have a beach within walking distance, but there is a shuttle bus to it (not really a beach, its more of a jetty into the sea). It is done quite nicely but its doesn't quite match the photo in the hotel brochure. Nice, but not the same high standard as the hotel.

It is remote and there isn't much to do (although there is a bar and there was a singer on one night we were there) which suited us down to the ground as we were only there for 3 days (a rare break from the children!). It was just a beautiful peaceful break in beautiful surroundings with good food in a 5* hotel. If however you want to be in the thick of it, be able to walk to local bars in the evening, expect something a bit more lively, this isn't the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they overlook the grounds / pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I would rate this hotel as 2 or 3 star package holiday. Standard rooms are shabby with sagging mattresses. Nice outside around the pool, but the hotel is isolated and the so called shuttle bus to Kyrenia is once a day. 10 am in the morning returning 6pm in the evening. Hotel not even on a taxi run, so taxis have to be booked through the reception and can prove to be expensive.
The hotel was offering free HB when we booked our stay, and I can only assume that the menu was trimmed to accommodate the offer. Food was two star standard.buffet.

Dining room carpets badly stained. Most of the staff were rude and unhelpful. We cut our holiday short and moved into Kyrenia itself. We moved to a 4 star hotel, a lesser rating than we are used to but much better in every aspect than the Malpas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCat44, Guest Relations Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Wtih all due respect this review in which the guest is writing about their experience in July 2012 is rather odd for the following reasons:

1. Our standard hotel rooms were all completely refurbished in March of this year.
2. Our courtesty shuttle bus returns from Kyrenia city centre back to the hotel at 16.30.
3.Malpas Hotel, as with other hotels out of the centre of town, and off the main road, are of course not 'on a taxi run'. The hotel has a 24-hour taxi service which costs about 20TL (8GBP) for the trip into town. Presumably, the guest realised that we are located away from the main town prior to booking.
4. Malpas Hotel offers all its rooms to guests on a half board basis. It is standard procedure and not something unusual.
5. We beg to differ that our open buffet is 'two star standard'. Our chefs strive to provide a good variety of quality dishes for our guests.
6. When we refurbished our main Fontana Restaurant in April, the restaurant was recarpeted.
7. We have two Guest Relations personnel available (7 days a week in July 2012) to help guests with any queries that they may have, and to help in any way possible so our guests enjoy their stay at Malpas. All our personnel try to be helpful to our guests at all times.

The reason why I have written this Management Response is to point out the 'incorrect facts' that the above reviewer made reference to, and based her review upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews