We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ups and Downs of the Malpus Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The ups and Downs of the Malpus Hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We are just back from two weeks at the Malpus Hotel Catalkoy we went on the special offer 14 days for the price of twelve
Th e room was nice and warm which for January was good fresh sheets everday and clean towells in the bathroom
The bathroom was fine all apart from the hairdryer which was a tube on the wall useless for drying your hair glad i took my own
the hotel reception was very much like a corperate hotel all glass and stainless steel very uncomfortable settees which I understand are being changed, the main thing was the Casino which the hotel seemed to run round
When we arrived there were a lot of guests from Iran and the food was fine when they left and only a few of us there the food was awful some sort of chicken cooked a few different ways and meat balls when some football team came the food picked up again on the first morning I cracked into a boiled egg and it was almost raw I never had another egg for the rest of my stay some of the sweets cakes had Merry Christmas on
The indoor pool was fine but to deep for me being only five foot tall I like to be able to touch the bottom but it went over my head but my husband swam the rest of the treaments looked very good and very clean area
The main problem which is not the Hotells fault is the postion on top of the hill which gives amazing views but we had some older people in thier eighties taking advantage of the offer who could not walk up the hill they said they felt marooned two couples left after two days and went to the Pia Bella to be nearer the town. the Hotel ran a courtesy bus at ten in the morning but never collected them till four in the afternoon far to long in January they could catch the Dolmus but then walk up the hill or taxi for 20 lira I think this should be made clear in the Brochure all in all we enjoyed our winter break but would not return look forward to three weeks in Almond village in September

Room Tip: the rooms on the third floor seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    279
    172
    61
    48
See reviews for
168
504
29
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself and my partner were given a trip to cyprus over the new year period as a christmas gift. As we didn't book ourselves we had no idea what to expect, and i have to say i have mixed feelings about this hotel.
We arrived at the hotel a little before ten in the evening and were offered food even though the buffet was closed, i was pleasantly surprised by this but when we received a dry sandwich and some crisps i have to say that i wasn't all that impressed. Our room was clean upon arrival, but housekeeping was below par for a five star hotel. Food was ok, not very vairied until later in the week when a large business event was taking place, after that it seemed to improve. Facilities were good, both indoor and outdoor pools and a spa centre. We visited the casino once, and i have to say sevice was slow and some of the staff were quite rude. There is also a bar and the staff in there were very friendly and happy to put the football on for my partner, plus the service was good, prices varied with spirits+mixer and cocktails the most expensive but wine was cheap, 5TL per glass, the same price as a coke!
We enjoyed the island and had some good days out, as always things are much cheaper outside of the hotel and there are some great places to eat in Girne (Kirenya). We mainly used the hotel for sleeping, the beds were comfortable and the room a good temperature. We had an early flight home and were offered an early breakfast, to my dissapointment the dry sandwich and crisps returned for round two, and i have to say they really ought to improve on this, it really lets them down.
Overall it's not a bad hotel but it lacks in service and cleanliness ,not a five star, more like four, we had to wonder what the hotel is like in summer with a lot more guests?..... I loved north cyprus, my partner has been several times, this was my first and we will be coming back in summer, but not to the Malpas Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Rooms were very good standard and comfortable. In a quiet location. However we were located in the bungalows rather than the main hotel. They are a reasonable walk (400 metres) to the main facilities which could be difficult for older people and not ideal in the rain. Excellent choice of food with plenty to choose from. Staff all very helpful. Shuttle bus provided daily to Kyrenia town centre (15mins journey We would be happy to go back and are planning to return.

Room Tip: Request the main hotel rather than a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuestsMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Travelled with my boyfriend, daughter and Dad and his wife. Got a really cheap deal and thought it was too good to be true but once we arrived and we saw the hotel we were amazed. We were in a seperate part to the hotel but it suited us down to the ground really. Rooms were lovely and spacious and nice and clean no complaints. Food was lovely everyday lots to choose from, not much for fussy children but my little one didnt starve! lol. Outside pool is lovely but we didnt get to use it unfortunately it wasn't quite warm enough. Weather wise we were very lucky and it was between 19-22 degrees most days tshirts/shorts skirts weather but not quite warm enough for bikinis. We hired a car for the last 3 days which was great as we got to explore a lot of the island. Its a very nice place quiet relaxing holiday would definetely recommend. Will definetely return one day when little one ia bit older and probably in sprintime when it is a bit warmer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyjamie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in the MALPAS for Christmas 2010 & 2011 with the same group of friends, and had a fabulous time. We have just read the review of 'Keanette' who must have been in the Hotel about the same time as we were and all we can say is that they must have been in a different Hotel, are they sure it was the 'MALPAS'???

It fully deserves it's 5* rating, and as for the food, it was out of this world. Hopefully, we will be back at Christmas 2012 for another excellent break. Thank you MALPAS for a yet another lovely Christmas break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEARIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Malpas in July 2011 for our honeymoon. The hotel has rooms facing the sea or the mountain. We stayed in the room with the sea view since we were honeymooners. They gave us a bottle of wine and a plate of dried fruits which was really delicious. The room and the bathroom were both clean. The sea view from the balcony is wonderful.

The hotel is not located at the sea. This is one disadvantage of the hotel. It has shuttles that take you to the hotel's beach and to the city center. However the time schedules are not very convenient. The last one that goes to city center is at 16:30 and the return hours are similar. So when you go out, you have to take the cab to come back.

The hotel’s beach is not a sandy beach. However it is clean. You may consider going to other hotels’ beaches. However the hotel has a big and enjoyable pool. You can spend hours swimming in the pool. But be careful with the sun! The Northern Cyprus is really hot and the sun is really strong.

The food at the hotel was okey. The breakfasts were more delicious than the dinner. I didn’t enjoy the diner. So you may consider staying just bed and breakfast.

This is not the perfect honeymoon hotel, but I recommend it for the ones who likes pool instead of sea or who will not be bored to take the cab / shuttle to go to the sea side.

Room Tip: rooms with the sea view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had an excellent 3 day stay over christmas. The food was varied and plentiful. Staff were excellent and very helpful and happily joined in with the festiviies which added to the experience. Entertainment also was excellent especially the two lads of Tuxedo Junction for Christmas Night who we thought were absolutely fantastic.
We would recommend the Hotel to anyone in fact we and our friends are going to book for this year.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are just as good as the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
8.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
5.0 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
465 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
216 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
413 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Property: Malpas Hotel & Casino
Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing