We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room and very hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice room and very hot”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

the plane journey via turkey is a bit of a drag but worth it ...the hotel is 6 miles outside kyrenia but there is a bus right from reception several times a day if you want to go into town . Taxis are always available too .
the hotel is on a sloping site so no good for walking difficulties although there is a little buggy to go round and plenty of slopes at the entrances . The room we had was in the pine court and was clean and modern very nice was told to expect dirt etc but was fine.
we had a mini bar which we later found was chargeable avoid the red bull as it turner out to be approx £12 a can !!
the drinks were expensive in the hotel bars and the service was good mostly. The suggestion i would make would be a adults only bar in the pine court block maybe ? i don't expect toddlers runnung about at 11.30pm at night.
the casino was small and a haven for smokers !! maybe a smoke free area please it did spoli our fun .
The main restaurant is a buffet style and dont leave your drinks they take them away and try to charge you for more! customer service in the amin one is non exsistent they just keep taking your plates away as fast as possible.
the little bistro we discovered (extra charge ) is lovely sometimes we were the only ones in there great smoke free and service with a smile :) food was good although some language barriers but to be expected.
the trip to famagusta was great a good day out went to salamis etc as well.
the other downer was the pool area which was never cleaned during our week the same spills were dried under the loungers as when we first went there. The beach was great though and free loungers too .

all in all a good hotel with a spa but very crowded and would benefit from some kid free areas

Room Tip: the pine court block is newest and clean avoid the bungalows looked horrible inside some people dema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireWakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I have read your review and will look to improve the services in the areas you have mentioned.
The İdea about an adult bar is a good one and we will see what we are able to do for the future.
Casinos are independently owned, and the no smoking policies are dictated by the government who allow this in casinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    527
    255
    116
    98
See reviews for
606
418
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Acapulco for a few days for a conference, and have nothing negative to report. The room was very, very clean, the location was wonderful on a sparkling waterfront. The service was crisp and efficient without being overbearing. We could understand the comments other reviewers have left concerning the restaurant, as it is quite large and serves many, many people. At peak times, there is a lot of (sometimes chaotic) traffic around the buffet tables. However, at no time was there any danger of running out of food, and the selection was impressively large and varied. Also, if crowds bother you that much, simply time your arrival to avoid the peak times. We noticed that for the first half hour or so after opening, it was quite easy to navigate around the tables.

Room Tip: The Palm Court rooms appear to be newer and are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Your comments are appreciated and I am pleased that you enjoyed your conference and the services at the hotel. We are at present looking at ways to improve the restaurant area and have also opened the restaurant upstairs to help with this.
I hope that you will return to the Acapulco for a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we went to this hotel in July last summer.the hotel has a large area and good facilities. good beach,beautiful sea,big pools. the hotel has two form of rooms.village & standard rooms.we were in village rooms.these rooms have better price and you feel good in these rooms.sound of crickets(a kind of insect) is always with you,it was pleasant for me but some people did not like that.there was a lot of fun for my children the food was great.room service was ok,the conditioners were on duty all the day.we had a great time there.the weather is very hot in this month.If you want to see the city, it is better to go there in another time.overall it was a good hotel.I recommend this hotel for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TehranHamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It is nice to know that you and your family liked the Acapulco Hotel and that you may return again in the future. We hope that if you do you will see further improvements in the resort and in our services, as our guests are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
724 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We only came on a day trip, so can't comment on rooms, but overall first impressions are not good.

The look and location are amazing. The hotel reception felt soulless, like an airport waiting lounge.

For a luxury hotel, I'm surprised how filthy dirty the floor surrounding the pool was. Disgusting infact. Are the floors not wiped down? Our feet were filthy and we were first to arrive! All sunbeds were taken by guests with towels confirming their allocation but not in sight of course. Under the shade umbrellas, as soon as you moved them, it was thick with dirt, cig butts and old rubbish.

I get this is a family resort but the unbelievably loud music, pool games, ball games in pool and the claustrophobic atmosphere (the sunbeds are pretty much touching, so they can cram more people in of course) makes this a really unejoyable experience.

Overpriced and bland food just tops it all. Staff that we met were though very lovely of course, as usual.

In summary, if you are seeking a holiday that is good for the kids then this is the place for you, lots for them to do and this hotel clearly caters for them. Don't come here if you are a couple seeking quiet time lazing the days away. And I say this only because its what I feel, others may differ...if you have ever watched the TV programme, 'Benidorm' then this is not too far away from that, just a lot more locals rather than Brits abroad.

Make your choice...big hotel, minimal personal feel and outlook.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am surprised by your comments as as we have a team of cleaners for the pool and beach and we have not had any further complaints. I have however, passed these details to the pool and beach managers and they will increase the number of checks they make during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Hi,I was a bit worried aftr reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised ....... My Son,Daughter and myself had an absolutely awesome time, the front desk staff was very helpful despite experiencing language barrier they all tried very hard to help us,the food had a lot of variety to try and there was always something new,lots of salad,cheeses,mezze n Mediterranean like meals.The hotel had a friendly and a safe environment and one could stroll around without any hesitation,the pool was very clean and the beach was WOW.....awesome there was never a shortage of beds,I gave it 4 star cause I had to pay for wifi all the time it seemed a hassle for me though they were very good overall I had a GREAT TIME,would recommend anybody to stay at Acapulco hotel,will not be disappointed,mrs Chaudhry( 9/6/13-16/6/13)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglequeen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I hope that we will see you and your family back at the Acapulco in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A massive resort and conference centre very well located and perhaps quite appropriate for tour groups and mass tourism.
The rooms are comfortable but basic services such as the use of a safe and most of all internet are charged extra.
We arrived for a conference late in the evening due to our flight and it took quite some time to be checked-in. When this happened, we were told that our rooms are 'over there' and shown a building opposite to the reception. We went there only to find out that our rooms were at the building behind the building we were shown.
The room was comfortable and clean but the air-condition extremely noisy. Good set of amenities in the bathroom but when we had two bath towels we did not have a bathmat and vice versa.
The restaurant is more like a food factory serving hundreds of customers with a lot of different buffets but identical offer day-in day-out.
The gardens and the beach are beautiful.
The staff is friendly but in their majority do not speak any other language but Turkish.
Internet access needs to be purchased separately and the guest is advised that quality of coverage is good only in the area around reception, not in the rooms and bungalows.
Internet was also not available in the conference rooms something that caused problems to several delegates of the conference I attended.
Check-out was long as everyone is trying to check-out at 12.00 noon. There is no indication of which part of the reception desk is for check out, so I and some other colleagues queued up for 20 minutes only to find out that this queue was not for check-outs!
The very friendly receptionist had to alert through a walkie-talkie a minibar attendant to check my room minibar, regardless of the fact that my minibar was empty when I checked in to my room. 'I am sorry, this is the process' said the receptionist and we had to wait for further 5 minutes to get the 'all clear'. In total, it took me 35 minutes to check-out.
Overall, the hotel has what it takes to be a good resort but needs some further work in the organisation and training of its staff to rise up to the level of an international conference centre. Strongly recommended for leisure but 'not quite there' for conferences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexPOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have taken into consideration your comments regarding check in/check out and the restaurant and will discuss these with the reception manager and our food & beverage manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

iwas there about august and its worst hotel i ever stayd in evry thing is too expensive and they had very bad behavior so ithink that hotel not good for spend money so try anothr hotel or resort
they are just thife

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farhd f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
3.1 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
9.3 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Malpas Hotel & Casino
#4 of 4 in Catalkoy
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Merit Crystal Cove
Merit Crystal Cove
#6 of 30 in Kyrenia
378 reviews
11.8 mi away
Merit Royal Hotel & Casino
5.7 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kyrenia
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA

Property: Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
Address: Catalkoy Kyrenia Mersin 10, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 789
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Resort And Convention & Spa
Acapulco Resort & Convention & Spa Hotel Catalkoy
Acapulco Hotel Convention
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing