We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Riverview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Riverview
Ranked #1 of 1 Earith B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to this tea room many times since it opened and have had everything from full english to afternoon tea with Pimms. The service is always very friendly, the refurbishment is amazing and most of all the food is not to be missed.

It can be very busy at weekends so probably worth booking if there is a large party.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch171112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
28
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Whaaaaaa. Little secrect i should not tell the world. Nice cosy place to stay. Great breakfast great dinner and lunch home cooked. Great people. Graham and his wife Loverly people
Graham like to talk a lot and is nice to have a long conversation in english offcourse
Great disgn rooms aldo the front rooms need dubbel glazing one day if they make a profit they will make it. Nice river view and private parking. Whaaa thats inportant in the uk. Great cakes in the cafetaria. We stay there sevaral times and always invite uou for thea of coffee free of the house. Well all i can see we wish them sucsess Graham and his wife put in a lot off work in this guesthouse. Great place to stay near cambrigde near the automatic buss in willingham with parking to take you to cambrigde.

Room Tip: Not much to say as always. Front rooms a bits noissy in the morning. Choice back room or cottage b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place to stay. Parking opposite the cafe right by the river. You get a very warm welcome whenever you stay. The food is cooked to order and is very very tasty. The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfy beds. The shower is huge and the water nice and hot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Twostrokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic B abd B lovely rooms .

Fluffy towels, Great beds, Great Tea trays. Good service. Good breakfast. Great F and Fs . This place has been done up with taste and style. And has very obliging hosts.

- So be careful -this is not the old pub which is in the picture- that has been completly rebuilt (almost )to a high standard and now the place is a super B and B and tea rooms.

We arrived disfunctionally -one of us had to look after a dog and travel north at short notice- Hosts could not have been more helpful and flexible. We shall be back.

Stay there you will love it.

Room Tip: There is traffic noise so if you want a view of the river you just have to accept that but it is war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a great find on our way home from Ely Cathedral. There is ample parking across the road and we even watched a beaver in the river afterwards. The cafe menu was varied and interesting and I was delighted as a Coeliac to be served a gluten free roll with soup. Topped this off with a soy coffee, the first private cafe I had found offering this since we arrived from Australia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I really couldn't think of a single thing I would change about this place. I normally stay at the Marriott, Huntingdon when visiting Cambridgeshire (where family live) because I know what I am going to get. My sister suggested I tried this B&B, The Old Riverview as it had just been refurbished. Not expecting much, I agreed and booked Room 3. On arrival, the friendly owner (think his name is Graham) took my bag upstairs and showed me to my room. What a beautiful room - really very comfortable, spacious and everything you need, plus more, for a great stay! I was completely won over when I was kindly offered tea & cake bringing up - I cant refuse tea and cake! A really lovely welcome. The bed and linen was really comfortable and felt like a home from home. Great tea/coffee making facilities, and bathroom fabulous.
No idea what time breakfast is served from and to - I forgot to ask! But I called down at about 9am and they said whenever I was ready. Breakfast was delicious, and service was excellent.
Would I go back? Absolutely! My after thought of the place was, I wish there were more establishments like this all over the country - will definitely return. The owners and staff have got everything spot on - well done, and thank you.
Top Tip - the photo of the front of this place has changed as the place has been refurbished - I didnt recognise the place at first! Worth having a look at their website which shows photos of all the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 3 is simply beautiful, comfortable, spacious & airy - didn't see the others so cant com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
400 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was in dire need of food and drink on a long journey and I called in for breakfast. A lovely warm welcome, excellent service, beautifully cooked food and very reasonably priced. A definite place to return when in the area. Ample car parking too. Fantastic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earith
4.7 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.0 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bramble Corner
Bramble Corner
#1 of 1 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation
4.0 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
3.1 mi away
Orchard Cottage
Orchard Cottage
#1 of 2 in Willingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Riverview

Property: The Old Riverview
Address: 37 High Street | Earith, Earith PE28 3PP, England (Formerly Riverview Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Earith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Earith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a totally refurbished bespoke 19th Century Guest House. Each room offers fabulous individual accommodation, most rooms offering a view of the River Ouse. We have one four poster room with an en-suite including a separate shower and bath. All other rooms have en-suites with showers. Spacious and airy accommodation offering: free view TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. Excellent full English breakfast. Private river frontage or courtyard seating. We offer evening meals from Monday - Thursday at 7 o'clock in the evening. Check in from 4pm until 8pm, other times by prior arrangements. A family run friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing