We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful on the Outside”
Review of Roskilde Cathedral

Roskilde Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.94*
and up
Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen
More Info
$62.92*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Roskilde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The royal burial church of Denmark and a UNESCO world heritage site. Experience a magnificent church and an architectural masterpiece. 1000 Years of Danish history are gathered here under beautifully decorated vaults and in dark crypts. Here 39 kings and queens of Dnemark lie buried. Roskilde Cathedral is just 20 minutes away by train from Copenhagen central station.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful on the Outside”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Unfortunately, we had to save money, so we could not pay to venture inside. Based on the outside, I'm sure the inside would be nothing less than gorgeous!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizabelle1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    277
    49
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have already reviewed this attraction under the heading of Roskilde Cathedral. It is the same building (just in case anyone thinks there are two Churches to visit!)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyMoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Cathedral (or Domkirken as it says on the sign posts) is stunning and is the burial place of the Danish royals, with 20 kings and 17 queens having their final resting place there. Guide book in English is available which was really helpful, though disappointed that the museum exhibits bit at the top of the cathedral was all in Danish (hence not full marks).

I wouldn't go to Roskilde to only see this, but combined with the Viking museum it made for a perfect day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MummyMoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Public Relations Manager at Roskilde Cathedral, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Roskilde Cathedral.
We are currently looking into translating the danish text in the Cathedral Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cathedral for the Kings”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I enjoyed the Cathedral a lot! The ornate and very special coffins of the different Kings is fascinating. The Cathedral was quiet and few people were there, this gave us time to really wander and marvel at the craftsmanship. Took some great photos.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Historic Cathedral”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I recently toured the Roskilde Cathedral with a Danish friend. Not knowing the history of this cathedral, our Danish friend was a wonderful guide. You also receive a guidebook when you pay your entrance fee that is very helpful.
The cathedral is magnificent. Adding that this is the cathedral where all of the Danish royalty is buried makes it even more interesting. The crypts are beautiful.
This is a place to take your time and read the descriptions of each section. The quiet beauty is worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RabyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roskilde Cathedral also viewed

Roskilde, West Zealand
Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
 
Roskilde, West Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Roskilde Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing