We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden cost, cold atmosphere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danhostel Roskilde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danhostel Roskilde
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden cost, cold atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

After staying at an awesome small bb the night before (slottets bb roskilde), this room felt like a prison cell. Functional and clean, but very minimalistic. Sheets and towels cost extra (not so in the other places we stayed, and also no information about that at the Roskilde info center). Internet costs EUR 2.70 per hour and over EUR 14 per day for wifi (yes it's 2013)... and it was broken for days, so no internet at all. And it is far from the center, from cafes with internet.
Our room had 4 beds, all single, no double bed. No shampoo, sheets have to be put on by guests. Toilet paper is provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location on the pier next to the Viking Ship Museum in Roskilde. It's a well-designed modern building that's a joy to stay in. The public spaces are very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked, offering a great opportunity to meet some charming folks from all around Europe. Small caveats: there are original murals on the walls in the rooms that are bizarre and a bit headache-inducing. They are original, I'll admit, but we could have lived without them and their Nordic nightmares. Additionally, my mattress was so worn and broken down that it slumped badly to the side and cause me to nearly fall onto the floor. That said, we had a lovely visit and I would highly recommend this spot for it's exceptional location.

Room Tip: Check the mattress before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Danhostel Roskilde is located next to the fjord and the viking museum, which is really good.
We (family with two children) stayed a few nights there and it's been a good choice taking this hostel. The rooms were clean and quiet. Furthermore, breakfast was also ok.
So, my only critcism is that it's a bit dark in case the sun didn't shine, especially in the rooms, but in the breakfast room too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inseltroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here on 6/10/12, clean rooms, friendly staff and a good Danish buffet breakfast. Best Hostel I've stayed in.

Lovely views across the fyord 5 mins walk from the Viking Boat Museum & 15 mins from
Roskilde Cathedral. I would stay here again highly recomended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roskilde
1.3 mi away
Comwell Roskilde
Comwell Roskilde
#1 of 7 in Roskilde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scandic Roskilde
Scandic Roskilde
#2 of 7 in Roskilde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zleep Hotel Roskilde
Zleep Hotel Roskilde
#6 of 7 in Roskilde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hoeje Taastrup
9.8 mi away
Wittrup Motel
Wittrup Motel
#65 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Sofryd
Hotel Sofryd
#1 of 1 in Jyllinge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danhostel Roskilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danhostel Roskilde

Property: Danhostel Roskilde
Address: Vindeboder 7, Roskilde 4000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Roskilde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Roskilde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Danhostel Roskilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing