We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
595
264
79
30
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
264
79
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display boat trip hands on activities train station english tour short film different types great for kids main building roskilde fjord ship museum minute walk copenhagen card thousand years worth the trip boats rope
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 977 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Near Roskilde Cathedral is this museum, our second Viking museum. Without a doubt, this one is better than the one in Oslo, although here are remnants of 5 Viking ships while the Oslo museum has 2 almost intact ones. This museum is comprehensive with several buildings, a courtyard demonstration area, resto, and informative 45" guided tour with Hans. His perspective and interpretation is that of a historian rather than a museum curator.
I learned from the tour that Vikings did not have horns attached to their helmet and were able to often surprise the enemy by landing the keel-less boat close to the site and not anchor offshore.

Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent close to 2 hours inside the museum hall only in October and found it to be informative and highly educational. During the summer months, this would have been a half day visit easily if not longer. The five salvaged ships come alive with the displayed illustration and chronology of their recovery effort as well as explanations on how each ship had been used for different purposes. I thought the time we spent to reach Roskilde from Copenhagen was well worth it. I wish I could have sailed on one of the boats, which would have been the ultimate experience but this was not an option for “winter season.” Seeing the restored ships in the water was a true reward. Highly recommend this place.

Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great experience visiting the workshops where you can see and touch ships. Very impressed about the level of precision they got and the variety of tools the used and still use at present. You can also go on a boat trip in summer time.

Thank manuromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our recent trip to Denmark, this is the one location that I wished we could have spent three more hours visiting than we did. The five Viking ships on display that were recovered from the Roskilde Fjord are the central attraction. But the working boatyard utilizing traditional construction techniques and the resulting ships that have been constructed are almost as interesting. The fact that you can go and sail a Viking ship really brings the history to life. We did not have time to go for a sail, but it is definitely something on our list to return and do. The cafe serves "New Nordic" fare using Viking ingredients. It was an excellent value and part of the overall experience. Roskilde is something of a detour, but it is well worth the time and money to visit.

Thank IdahoBenfiquista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We liked especially that this museum not just presents the parts of the old ships, but also works with research on how these were built and used. Re-builds of all the old ships are part of the outdoor exhibitions.

Thank CoSuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great half day visit. Ancient history brought to life with modern craftsmanship. And you get to climb all over the largest of the reconstructions.

Thank 335KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth a half day from Copenhagen (especially if you have the Card and get the train and entrance for free). The museum has several reconstructed Viking trading ships and war ships in the main building, and nearby you can watch craftsfolk building and repairing new ones. There is a short video and ample signage in English. The cafe also has good food for lunch.

Thank 677JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful museum with interactive exhibits coupled with a mix of historical and cultural affects. I came on a cold October day and was happy to not have a crowd as it gave me time to chat with the woodworker. It was nice to hear her talk about her work as something of a first or second true love.

Thank Shelia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Not much to see to be honest, if you are looking for fully preserved boats, forget it.
Had I known it was such a key down, I would have visited other attractions. The location is very nice though.

Thank WelcomeToJamrock79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Highly recommended day trip from Copenhagen
My wife and I visited the Roskilde Viking ship museum and spent about 2 hours viewing the various displays. There was also an option to sail on a rebuilt viking ship but we were not really up to this after just traveling 26 hours travelling on a plane. To get to the museum you take a 30 minute train west from Copenhagen. It is a lovely little down and would suggest you cople this with the very famous Roskilde Cathedral - about a 15 minute walk way through a lovely local city park, then visit the local Roskilde Museum. Overall this is an excellent day trip.

1  Thank dlturner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews