We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frederiksberg Castle- a Danish pride and a must see”

Frederiksborg Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.69*
and up
Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Hillerod
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic castle was constructed on three islands and is surrounded by lake and beautiful gardens. Frederiksborg Castle has housed The Museum of National History since 1878. A tour through the museum's many beautiful rooms is an encounter with kings, queens, nobles, the bourgeois, events, and epochs, which have all shaped the country's history and development from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. The museum was founded by brewer J.C. Jacobsen, the founder of Carlsberg.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Frederiksberg Castle- a Danish pride and a must see”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took a coach to visit the Frederiksberg, a castle that was once almost abandoned because it was so dated and damaged, but then later rebuilt to its original scale and honor. The drive to the castle can be the freeway route or the beach route. We saw both to and from the castle. Upon arrival, my eyes were immediately drawn to the moat and the sweeping landscape behind the castle. Inside, the artwork in the church and the decoration within the main hall, plus the displays in each of the rooms allowed us to understand the cultural background of Denmark, how they love their queen, and how they take pride in their history and culture. The fact that this is a castle, there is one entrance and one exit. I realized that after two hours, I was getting a bit of claustrophobic and needed to leave. We had to take the same winding staircase down three levels to go down. If you use a walker or have difficulty walking, you may want to stay on the exterior of the castle. The moat and the grass area behind the castle was absolutely stunning. I personally would go back to Denmark just to see this castle again. One cannot expect to see the castle and all it has to offer in one day. There was an admission charge. I believe it translated into about $20 USD.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank teach_study
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    250
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
348 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Top attraction”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beautiful castle and a must if you interested in the history of Denmark. A very good idea for a one-day-trip out of Copenhagen. Hillerød is 40 min. by S-train from Copenhagen and the a good 20 min walk from the station to the castle through the agreeable city-center of Hillerød

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nordboen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Free Gardens and Beautiful Castle all well thought out”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a beautiful castle set in the town of Hillerod and well worth a visit. We visited with our son (14) and grandson (4).

The castle has a lovely sense of arrival with fountains and statues welcoming you before you proceed into the main courtyard. From here you go into the lobby where you can buy tickets to tour the castle. The tickets are 75DK but if you are a family you can buy a ticket for 150DK (about £15) for two adults and up to 3 children. You can borrow an audio guide or download to your own iPhone or iPod on iTunes [search Det Nationalhistoriske Museum] either before you go or by using the free WiFi in the lobby. I was very impressed with this system and downloaded the guide (make sure you wait for the full download before setting off from the lobby). There are lockers in the lobby for your bags, together with toilets, a coffee machine and the gift shop.

We thoroughly enjoyed being taken through 500 years of Danish history and seeing the wonderful rooms including the stunning chapel and magnificent great hall. The guide is informative and includes visual references on the device to ensure you are looking at the right exhibit.

Once your castle tour is over you can wander the gardens (free) and I would recommend dedicating a good couple of hours for this. The Baroque garden is amazing and offers incredible views of the castle. There is also a little boat that takes visitors on a little voyage on the lake.

There is only one restaurant near the castle, the Leonora, and this serves proper sit down meals rather than cafe fayre. I would recommend bringing a picnic and eating in the grounds. There are also many eateries just outside the castle grounds. We walked to the local supermarket and bought rolls, ham and cheese!

A good, value for money day out.

And the final bonus - parking is free!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Love-the-weekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
294 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A fabulous day trip from Copenhagen”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I went with friends who live in Copenhagen and we took bikes on the train to Hillerød, located in the North Zealand region, at the end of the train line. One you get off at the train station it is a short ride to the castle. There is a small bike parking available but you have to know where it is. Go through the front courtyard and turn left at the large fountain and go through the archway. It is just on the other side. Then you can explore the vast interior and afterwards take the bikes through the large gardens and nearby forest. The exterior of this castle, both front and back, is impressive, all in red brick and copper, although the front had a bit of scaffolding when we were there as they are doing some works. I understand it is largest Renaissance palace in Scandinavia (most of it was built before 1620). Only small bags are allowed inside but they have lockers available to store your things. They have a nice little bookshop that you can easily visit either before starting the visit or afterwards. Since this castle is also the National History Museum it is absolutely full of interesting furniture, paintings and decorative art. Make sure you allow enough time to get through all of the rooms. Don’t forget to look up at the ceilings for more wonderful paintings and ornate details. We saw a few of the staff dressed in period dress, some of which are in the paintings so look out for that. There was so much detail that it was hard to know where to focus at times. Photos are allowed and photographers will not be disappointed. In spite of the fact that it was summer and a beautiful sunny weekend, there were no crowds to deal with like so many of the châteaux in France, where I Iive, and we often had the rooms to ourselves, which I really appreciated. I particularly loved the Audience Chamber, The Grand Hall and the Chapel of Orders. On the top level there are modern paintings and photographs of well-known Danes and the Royal family. Look for the Andy Warhol portrait of the current queen, Queen Margrethe II, and the photo of her that he based his portrait on. You really have to visit the Baroque style gardens in the back, they are wonderful, and you’ll also have a great view of the castle from there. If you are lucky you will also be able to see some of the cute red squirrels that make their home in the gardens. There is lots of water surrounding the castle and the entire area is just so picturesque. For more great views, go into town and take photos from the banks of the lake. Chances are that you’ll have some swans glide into your photos for the ultimate snapshots.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This castle was awesome! We spent a lot of time here, exploring the rooms and the grounds. The decorations were modeled by the Danish after Versailles, so it's beautiful and opulent. The audio guide was well worth it, and we really enjoyed our time in the castle. I would definitely recommend this!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackieM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederiksborg Castle also viewed

Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Frederiksborg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing