We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kronborg Castle”
Review of Kronborg Castle

Kronborg Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.52*
and up
Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle
More Info
$161.28*
and up
Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen
More Info
$207.20*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Best of Copenhagen and Northern Zealand with Kronborg...
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Helsingoer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kronborg Castle towers above a very narrow promontory between the coasts of Denmark and Sweden. The renaissance castle stands majestically with its spires, towers, columns, sandstone and copper roofs. Kronborg Castle is a magnificent renaissance castle and a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site. This year marks the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare. Kronborg Castle is marking this occasion by celebrating Shakespeare's immortal play Hamlet with a cocktail of theatrical adventure, drama and festivities in the magnificent halls of the castle.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kronborg Castle”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Lack of restroom around the place, which is sad, as many tourist arrive from town and the city is 10min away from the Castle which is very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SABY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    766
    168
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Shakespeare was correct, a wonderful setting!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The history was fascinating and we really enjoyed the short tour of the royal rooms and the quant descriptions of the historian guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Second Time is the Charm”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have been to Kronberg castle, twice. I went once in 2005; and I went just this month. The difference is a fuller appreciation of the importance of the castle, and its UNESCO status speaks to this, in the history of Scandinavia, especially between Sweden and Denmark. On the free guided tour, check times before you go, you can hear about the taxation on ships through this narrow stretch of sea between what is, now, Sweden and Denmark. Besides being Hamlet's Elsinore, the castle's history is fascinating. For example, the canons still point across the sea to Sweden, although decommissioned. Having spent a significant time in Sweden and Denmark, I more fully understand this positioning. One strong recommendation is to use the Copenhagen card if you intend to travel here. Not only can you save money (they do the math for you on the Copenhagen card website), but I found it motivating to see as much as I could because I had bought the card, and I didn't have to mess with buying any transport cards or anything, so it was easy to use. If I would have had more time, I would have taken the ferry across to Sweden to see the mirror position in Helsingborg, Sweden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“History and Drama”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I approached Kronborg fearful of a cringe-burdened Hamlet experience; I left very pleasantly surprised. The castle is stunning to look at from afar and close-up: intact, solid and so unlike traditional English castles. We took an excellent tour with Hamlet's friend Horatio - extremely well played with due seriousness and not a hint of mockery. Definitely worth the trip.

(Helsingor is an easy train ride from Copenhagen, even at the moment with a two train journey due to track works).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I loved hearing about its importance to the history of Denmark, including hearing about Eric, the last Baltic Viking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kronborg Castle also viewed

Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kronborg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing