We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd-ball!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skandia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Skandia
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Odd-ball!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel sorted out a booking snafu (and if that works when we see our credit-card statement, happiness). So full marks for service.

The hotel itself is a bit tired - our room was atypical, I suspect, but it didn't look like others were a lot better. Breakfast and wifi both OK.

Parking is a bit of a lottery - overnight in the street is OK (6pm-9am, with care) but there is also some off-street parking, just not always accessible.

Room Tip: Don't expect much - you may be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
9
30
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Although friendly, this Hotel has tiny rooms; is old, tatty and worn out and was the worst of several "Small Hotels in Denmark" that we stayed in, which are generally pretty good. The rooms are not 3 star, don't be fooled. My advice: check the room out before making a decision to stay. Lots better around the town.

Room Tip: Check them out first to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helsingoer hotels

Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although the staff was very cordial and attentive, and the breakfast- typically Danish fare- was very good, the rooms we stayed in (2 separate doubles) were awful. The bathrooms were moldy, and unhealthy. The cigarette smell in the hallways and from outside was intolerable for a room advertised as non-smoking. Unfortunately, we were there on a Saturday night, and the noise level from the train depot and the revelers made it impossible to sleep even with the windows closed- which made the room even more stifling. Wifi signal was very week. We (3 of us) all agree that it was a very disappointing experience, and would never recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, or at least a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I like the locations near the station. This one is near the station. Because of the provincial low transport intensity there is no trabsport noise or dirth and freaks.
Hotel is old, staff is OK, but not that trained and not very helpful. Equipment is old, but works. Breakfast is of Danish style, good products, but not a big variety.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

When judged against its peers, Hotel Skandia isn't too bad. We stayed one night when we weren't able to find any other rooms on short notice. Our room was small but not too small, and it was clean. Our room had a private bath and it, too, was clean. We didn't experience any bad odors like previous reviewers. The streets were noisy on Saturday afternoon, but by 8:00pm all the partiers had gone home and it was quiet. Even the train crossing wasn't that loud from our room overlooking the parking area. It did not keep us awake even with the window open.

We were pleased to have secure, free parking overnight. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. There was a plentiful selection of hot and cold choices at the breakfast buffet. We also appreciated the free Wifi. Aside from being an older structure with inexpensive furnishings, I couldn't find much to complain about. Considering how much I have paid for other hotels in Denmark, I wouldn't even say the rate was too high. Be prepared with earplugs in case you get a noisy room and you should be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sperry_twiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

stayed a few nights and must admit that my expectations were highe.. fine location in terms that it is central and near the strain station and all restaurants area and monuments. But they really should think about some modernization to the hall and in particular the rooms as it feels as if time stopped . Rooms are rather small and unfurnished and not to mention the bathrooms...service is non existant but there is a nice little bar with a great bartender.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioGuarducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, België
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Take care when booking this hotel ! Even with discount you pay much to much !
typical old hotel with very poor service and breakfast ! we paid 120€ and got a topfloor poor room with very amateuristic paintwork at the walls.


very noisy and annoying too because of the trains who are passing through the traffic roads.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brun0_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helsingoer
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marienlyst
Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Konventum
Konventum
#2 of 4 in Helsingoer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sleep2Night
Hotel Sleep2Night
#4 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Kyhns Guesthouse
Kyhns Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Helsingoer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skandia

Property: Hotel Skandia
Address: Bramstraede 1, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Helsingoer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skandia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Skandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skandia Hotel Helsingør
Hotel Skandia Denmark/Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing