We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Copenhagen”

The Olive Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #11 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: The Olive is a family run restaurant focusing on casual, good home cooked food in a warm and cozy environment.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

My boyfriend and I made a reservation here a few weeks before our trip. We ordered a ton of food: mushroom soup (perfectly salted + creamy), beet and goat cheese (so fresh and really hit the spot!), a steak/sweet potato purée, and risotto. We didn’t have room for dessert (can you believe it?). The server, Hannah, was so lovely and made sure we had a well accommodated experience. Don’t miss this place while you’re in CPH!

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Sierra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 394 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2019

Dined at The Olive Kitchen and Bar on Saturday 24/8 during a recent visit to Copenhagen. It was by far the best meal of our trip and right up there with anywhere we've eaten. When you have excellent food matched by great, friendly, effortless service you have a winning combination. All staff were great but Hannah and Veronica were superb. It's a place you could easily walk past but word of mouth is so good you'll need to book in advance to get a table. Nice interior and a relaxing vibe as well. What's not to like?

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MACKIE901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

Quite simply some of the best food we have ever eaten! Fresh Danish mussels, pork fillet and Norwegian Sea salmon followed by a lava chocolate dessert to die for! The cocktails are unique and delicious too. I cannot fault anything about this place. Book early tho as it gets very busy!

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank KarenC599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

It is difficult to fault this restaurant - cozy ambience, reasonable table spacing, engaging and friendly staff who make you feel very welcome and explain the ingredients of each dish, good value wines by the glass and simple food, superbly prepared. We had the set menu - the highlight was the mushroom soup (best we have tasted) and the steak wasn't far behind. Good value, with a nice touch of free mineral water with the set menu.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

The Olive is a cute restaurant. Visited then on a Monday night by making a reservation online. I tried the previous Friday without a reservation and they were full. I got there 30 minutes early and got my table comfortably in the end.
The restaurant itself is small-ish so if you're in a bigger group, plan well in advance.
I had the veal ribs, soup, and creme brulee. The soup was a second starter as the starter portion of the ribs was quite filling + it seemed from previous reviews and the waitress, that it was the restaurant's best selling dish! The dessert was ok
What sets this place apart, especially for a city like Copenhagen, is the service. It felt disingenuous at the beginning, but then I realised that the staff are really very passionate. If it wasnt for the service it would have got 3 stars, as it is still fairly expensive (Copenhagen standard it seems) for a small restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank CletusPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Olive Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.