We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but a tourist trap because it is defenitely not value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biscaya Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Biscaya Tapas Bar
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Biscaya Tapas Bar in Copenhagen is inspired by the stormy bay between France and the northern part of Spain. Located close to Rådhuspladsen, Copenhagen's central main square, it serves a wide range of freshly prepared tapas varying from day to day, depending on the season, on a continually renewed menu. Biscaya Tapas Bar also serves other modern and traditional Spanish dishes, all prepared by the Spanish chef and full of Spanish flavour. Finally, Biscaya Tapas Bar is also a wine bar, with a selection featuring over 50 different Spanish vineyards.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food but a tourist trap because it is defenitely not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food is really good and they have a lot of different tapas. However, I think it is extremely over priced and they rip you off on extras like water. You should be aware of this before you go there. There are much better Spanish tapas joints in the city.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank corrineandmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    38
    31
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaerloese, Denmark
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Boring tapas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We ordered the tapas menu and was disappointed with it, boring and average to no taste. We had red wine, but could not get water on the side for free, but had to pay around 40 kr for a glass of water. The waitress was rude and non-caring. Too bad, because I've been here before where the food was great and good service, but now I'll not return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

An OK place to get tapas and spanish wine. Not fancy, but OK. I recommend picking your on dishes, so you'll get what you like.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J.P.Hernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We needed a bite late. The tapas was excellent. Service good. Desert was average.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Real699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revolting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is as far from tapas as you can get. To be honest I’m still not sure what exactly it was that we were served. We made the mistake of going for their 9 tapas special - a selection of their most popular dishes! I am still struggling to see what was special about it and how congealed meat in gravy and a few potatoes came to be their most popular item.

Their supposed 9 variations of tapas is actually 5 dishes but the unapologetic waiter told me that they count the starter platter (8 items of cheese, salami, something which they claimed was olive tapenade and deep fried bread) as 5 tapas. Yes I struggled with his calculations on that one too. The other 4 tapas dishes consisted of 4 pots of what looked suspiciously like two versions of microwaved frikadeller in gravy, some potatoes and a purée. Had I known how revolting this would all be I would have ordered another side of their canned tomato smeared on bread. And could we drink a decent bottle of red to get rid of the aftertaste? No, because they tried to serve us a bottle of wine which had obviously gone bad (and made no objections when we sent it back).

We left feeling hungry, disappointed and thoroughly cheated. This place is a tourist trap in the worst sense of the word.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intlshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biscaya Tapas Bar also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing