We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dim Sum is hard to come by in Denmark, but here it is.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Garden

Royal Garden
Ranked #608 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is hard to come by in Denmark, but here it is.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I went to Royal Garden to try their Dim Sum and I must say it's the best and most authentic tasting Dim Sum I've had in Denmark so far. Great selection and it tastes like in restaurants in Hong Kong (as far as I recall). I haven't had anything else on their menu, so I can't talk about that, other than the dishes looked delicious and people seemed happy with their food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rasmusaggerholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    9
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
276 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

What I really like about this place is that it is perfectly acceptable just to have a very tasty snack with tea for a very affordable price or a full meal depending on the mood.

They serve a very wide range of Dim Sum, great for sharing and occaisionally difficult to stop being carried away and over-ordering.

They use an illustrated menu for Dim Sum and a printed tick list with the descriptions.

The crispy duck is an other firm favourite. If one sticks to beer, the bill remains manageable.
I have tried a number of the other main dishes and while they were fine, they were not exceptional.

Not particularly trendy or intimate but good for a family meal.

Booking for Sunday lunch is an absolute must since it is extremely poular then.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 589MichaelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice authentic place, but really hard to communicate with the waiters. We had to confirm our order 3 times - and we still got the wrong food. It tasted ok - but was not the dim sums we ordered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Is this Hong Kong?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to have Dim Sum. You wonder whether you are in Hong Kong but no, this is Cooenhagen! On top of that the prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I've lost count how many times I've now eaten at Royal Garden now. The dim sum is certainly the best in town. All the dishes I've tried have been well cooked, full of flavour and well presented. Prices aren't too bad, drinks reasonably priced.

Crispy duck pancakes are a big winner.

Worth booking in advance for larger parties as they have a couple of side rooms that may be better suited.

They also do a takeaway service.

Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Garden also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing