We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions, Balkan atmosphere and not very expensive”
Review of Hercegovina - CLOSED

Hercegovina
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Danish, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
Ljunghusen
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big portions, Balkan atmosphere and not very expensive”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a simple place with buffet style food, at least the one I had, which was a Christmas buffet. It was 199DKK which wasn't bad for hat we got. There were several dishes and they were all good, andyou can eat all you want. Staff was nice and friendly, entertainment from a bnd and as a bonus also a belly dancer. Enjoyed it. I will come back, hen I'm hungry and don't wan't to spend a fortune. Can recommend it if you're not looking for fancy food, but rather meat and a lot of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    77
    34
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We squeezed in 50 minutes before closing time and ordered from the menu. My girlfriend had the veal roast and I had the sirloin steak. Very tasty and tender with a good sauce. The desserts were a bit ordinary but had a good size :)
BTW, we had a glass of slivovitz as an apéritif (when in Rome...) and to my surprise, it was actually quite good. Also, the live music is worth mentioning. They played what I assume to be local Herzegovinian music. The atmosphere was good, almost authentic, but hardly romantic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow and boring”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hercegovina in Tivoli, Copenhagen, used to be a good restaurant serving good ethnic Balkan food. Not anymore. `Wait to be seated` is a sign found in most good restaurants. How long should you wait? Our almost ten minute wait was a bit too much, but as we had a date in the restaurant, what can you do? The lonely waitress tried hard, was friendly but couldn´t cope alone. There were three musicians disturbing (by playing) our eating, they would have had better things to do. The food? Boring, simply boring. The cevapcici, which are wonderful spicy meatballs when correctly done, were like pressed cardboard, no taste whatsoever. The other dishes weren´t much better. Yes, the personnel was friendly, tried hard, but the staff in the kitchen have no ambition left. The other restaurants in Tivoli just must be better. Try them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMS0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Buffet Dinner & desserts are fine”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

visited with friends from Manchester & Finland along with danish guys. ambiance was good.Table arrangement should have been little spacy. It seems the grilled chicken, lamb & pork are excellent.

Pilsner (carlsberg) works fine.Need to mention ice cream with wine dressing is good. As usual i (vegien) is forced to have an salad with green pepper (i could not find any pepper).

Next to our table we had a family with an young boy celebrating his birthday and live music party wished him with an birthday song.

Its different.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HARINCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Buffet table worth the price”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went with friends to eat and since we didn't have a reservation we were put to the table on the terrace. It wasn't cold since there was windows. We ordered buffet which was rich with (at least) sausages, spinach, salmon, soup, bread, potatoes, rice. A great decision and we all enjoyed the food a lot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank consttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hercegovina also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing