We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Peder Oxe

Peder Oxe
Ranked #111 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Danish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: You will find Peder Oxe at Graabroedretorv, in the heart of old town Copenhagen. The restaurant serves the very best beef from free range cattle and you will also find fresh fish, shellfish, lamb and game on the menu. At lunchtime the Danish classic ‘smorrebrod’ (open faced sandwich) is served and here the guests have the possibility of choosing exactly the pieces of smørrebrød they desire. The menu is adjusted according to the changing seasons.
leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We dined here on a busy friday evening, although they found us a table even though we hadn't reserved in advance. We both had three courses and found the food to be well prepared and we particularly enjoyed the chocolate mousse cake which with the addition of the grapefruit was quite unusual but tasted very good. Service was friendly but a bit hit and miss as one main was served and then we had to ask about the other, but that didn't spoil the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francevisitorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    431
    142
    52
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food! Fast service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Ok. We wanted a little Danish food and found this spot! Geared to us tourist and fast service. Limited menu choices which helps speed the service. Salad bar was limited in selection and is an added priced item but was worth it!

You will have to click the button on the light to get their attention but doing so resulted in immediate attention.

We went elsewhere for desert. But there are many choices here, just wanted to experience more locations.

This would be a second or third choice for revisit on future trips.

My venison was perfect!

Helpful?
1 Thank Svfd387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Copenhagen”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I've been going there every time I pass through Copenhagen for over a decade! I love this place.

My favorite table is near the six foot high square walk in fireplace.

The fish and game meats are all delicious

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culinary-widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“As good as they say!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We just had dinner at Peder Oxe and I must say, we were not disappointed in anything! The service is wonderful... young girls who are friendly and helpful and very professional. This place is very French in design and menu. Our beef was done to perfection; the baked potato was the best I have ever had; the vegetables fresh and crisp; and the sauces for both the potato an beef were fabulous. We had a beer before dinner and sampled the cask wine with dinner because we have never seen this offered before. A mild wine but fine with all of the wonderful tastes of the meal. Go there... you will love it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank marytspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tourist Restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The big and cozy restaurant is located nicely. The food was not a highlight but ok. I disliked that you had to pay for extra bread and butter. In my opinion a restaurant with such prices should provide it for free. The service was stressed and therefore not that friendly. All in all, compared to other restaurants in Copenhagen I think its overpriced and you there are many better ones in the same price category.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sainainu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils Ulrik E, Chef  at Peder Oxe, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Sainainu

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit at our restaurant. We would like to be known for excellent quality in both food and service. Therefore we are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again as our guest, giving us a second chance to show you, that your experience in May was not of the high standard, we are known for.

Kind regards

Nils Ulrik Egund

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peder Oxe also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Peder Oxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing