We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, nourishing veggie food cooked with love”
Review of Morgenstedet

Morgenstedet
Ranked #173 of 2,460 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Christianshavn
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious, nourishing veggie food cooked with love”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I walked by this place and saw the beautifully painted welcome sign and people eating delicious-looking food on outside picnic tables -- I knew that I had to return once I had worked up an appetite!

Indeed, this place did not disappoint. It is unpretentious, with a basic yet satisfying menu. You can have the day's soup (served with homemade bread), a daily rice/veggie dish, or prepare a small/medium/large selection of the day's salads. On the day I visited, there were six great salad options -- from a Greek one, to a beet-carrot-mozzarella one, to a rice-noodle slaw, to a hummus, etc. A medium plate cost only 50 DKK (VERY affordable by Copenhagen standards) and it was perfectly filling for a not-too-stuffing dinner. Most importantly, as I was eating, I just felt like the food was nourishing me! You know how you sometimes get that feeling... Super tasty and beautiful outside seating (picnic tables and lawn) for a summer day!

RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wheninr0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    48
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Haven for hungry vegans on a budget”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Delicious wholesome food. Vegan, with gluten free options. Cooked with love. Friendly, busy vibe. Lots to choose from, and affordable (by Copenhagen's standards, at least!) I adored this place, don't be put off by the fact it's in Christiania. It was really very tame!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly... everything”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Delicious vegetarian food, fresh and neatly served. Basic but clean settings, charmingly simple place. We enjoyed the food greatly and will come again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonRaisinBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian food - freshly made”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very reasonably priced too... its self service.. but the chef knows his stuff. The menu is limited - but filling and fresh and tasty. Definitely recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Organic and Vegetarian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been to Morgenstedet a few times and absolutely loved it. The prices are very reasonable and the food is all organic & vegetarian. They have fresh salads made daily, homemade soups and a rice dish that's always great. If you're looking for a local restaurant with a quality guaranteed, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inuesse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgenstedet also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Morgenstedet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing