We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it?”
Review of Indian Taj Restaurant - CLOSED

Indian Taj Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
daswo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth it?”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I likeIndian food so when my taxi driver, who was from India, suggested the Taj, I was happy to try it out. I ordered a lamb starter, chicken Jalfrezi for main course, plain naan and some rice. I had two Cobra beers and the cost was about 100 dollars. Pricey, but it was Copenhagen so it is in line with other good restaurants. I had a high level of expectation and I have to say, for the price, I was disappointed. First, the lamb was very god flavored, but over cooked, so much so it was tough. I let this slide because the flavor was good enough to overlook it. Main course was good and there was plenty of it, I didn't leave hungry that is for sure. Seasoning was good and it was fresh and delicious. However, the naan was hard,cold and old. This made the meal disappointing for me, because I looked forward to a fresh, warm naan and I just didn't get it. So, overall the meal was flavorful, and plentiful but little things made the overall value and experience bad. Service wasn't fast but it was very professional and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    27
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pathetic!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

If you like adventure (the risky type) and have a rich bank account. The place is for you. This restaurant along with the likes of kohinoor, indian palace have no clue of indian food whatsoever. Run by ppl who look more pakistani's than indians these places are fleecing ppl in the name of indian food.
As others have written bad food, overpriced, unknowledgable and arrogancy is awash at these restaurants offering nothing but huge bill.

Helpful?
1 Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian Danish”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On the edge of town and close to the hotel it was tasty, fast and cheapish. Give it a try when in Copenhagen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
178 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Expensive food and inexperienced waiters”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited this restaurant a saturday evening in August. The service is slow, inexperienced and not very friendly. Food is ok but really not worth the price! Also a "large" beer is 85DKK which is very expensive. Rice comes extra 35DKK and it is a very small portion. I can not recommend this place. Try to find a better indian restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Classic tourist trap with really bad service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The service in this place is awful. It took 20 min to get the drinks and a further 30 min to get the food. The food is ok but totally overpriced. The Indian beer is extremely expensive!! 85 DKK for 40 cl...

The worst thing was when we got the bill... The staff had no idea of who should pay what and we (16 persons) spent an hour to sort this out ourselves. The staff was just angry and defensive.

DON'T go here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swede1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Taj Restaurant also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing