We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great danish food”

Restaurant Krebsegaarden
Ranked #10 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Our restaurant is based on a concept where the premises decor and the menu will always be inspired by the current exhibition in Gallery Krebsen (located in the rear building across the courtyard). On the walls of the first room you enter, you will therefore typically find images of a current exhibition at the gallery and thus could experience a new atmosphere at least eight times a year. We hope you will enjoy our atmosphere and food.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

Was our first time eating authentic danish cuisine. What a small and cosy restaurant. The food was lovely and fresh. And the atmosphere is very lively. This is not a quiet place if you are looking for this. We still recommend it very much!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alterrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 149 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

We found this gem due to it’s high rating on TripAdvisor and we can confirm that it absolutely lives up to its rating. Mats and Carsten are really excellent hosts that put a lot of thought into the menu and really execute well on their vision. It felt less like a restaurant meal and more like visiting good friends that happen to be really amazing chefs. Carsten helped us put together a nice tasting menu and the wine pairings were terrific. The menu changes often, but we would highly recommend adding the cheese board to your meal. Mats has curated this perfectly and he laid out 17(!) different selections for us that were all terrific. Definitely a spot you must visit in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

Great experience altogether. Nice food , nice atmosphere, awesome service . Definitely it’s a place to have your dinner.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lilia1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

The food and the two Norwegian chefs that run the restaurant is a must in Copenhagen. They change the menu every month and each dish overgoes even a three star Michelin. Delightful tastes with a twist. We recommend the 4 to 5 meal with a winepacket. We were lucky to get a table due to cancellation. So book many months in advice, if not, call the same day to hear if there is cancellations. A food experience you will remember for a long time!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank IngvilT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

Krebsegaarden is located in an old house in the middle of the old city of Copenhagen. The narrow cobble stone streets and houses take you back to the Old Europe, Entering the restaurant, you are warmly welcomed by one of the owners, and the stage is set: This is a very personal restaurant, With few tables, and owners dedicated to creating a memorable dining experience for its guests - and they do it with passion!
This is not a New Nordic restaurant, but rather a selection of classic Nordic tastes with a French twist: Wonderful for the taste buds, a real meal in total, and not the frills and froth of the modern Nordic resturants. In addition, the wine selection is excellent; and, the owners are very apt at chosing great wines from a bit out-of-the ordinary regions. Ask them to compose a selection of wines to emphasize Your dining experience, and you will be surprised at how well they do it! This is Our 3rd visit in a year, and standards are as high as ever, although menus frequently change with season and availabilities.This is equally good for a private romantic dinner as for a business occassion - I have been there for both, and will definitely be back! If you are a party of 6-8 guests: Ask for the table in the basement, and you will have a unique dining experience in a very different "Chambre separée". And the best experience is perhaps when you ask for the bill: At Krebsegaarden you leave with a happy thought that this is very good value for its price! Only one problem: Few tables available, so Run and book (or at least book early)!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilhelmm-norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Krebsegaarden also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Krebsegaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.