We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, cosy place, excellent caring staff, affordable price”

BENTO Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #233 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
Casteau, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, cosy place, excellent caring staff, affordable price”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I found this restaurant through Tripadvisor. Not dissapointed at all. Very cosy place, nice atmosphere, and above all, the staff is excellent. They answered every question we had, also about interior decoration of the restaurant. The grandma in the kitchen even came to provide additional details, in Japanese, that the other staff had to translate for us. Very caring about customers. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomzeeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    55
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious & friendly service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very friendly welcome, even tough we didn't have a reservation on a Saturday night. The place looks and feels authentic, and somehow smells great (like a sauna?). We ordered sushi -which was delicious- and got some complimentary miso soup and green tea with green soy beans. The service was incredible.

Only downside: be sure to bring cash. They don't accept most credit cards, and it's quite pricy. However, it's worth every Danish Krone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joske_Leblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Copenhagen”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been to Bento approx 50 times. The sushi and the service has been perfekt at every visit. I like to atmosphere in this little family-run restaurant. Their bartender, Ito San, makes some pretty good cocktails - be sure to try one or two of them too :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I tried this place in September this year, and it did not disappoint.

I was too late for the bento boxes but managed to try some great maki rolls, nigiri sushi and even the strange Shishamo (whole small fried fish, packed with roe).

The place is easy to walk by, a small step down in a cellar is all you notice. Once inside, after I had ordered, I got green tea and salted edamamae (soy) beans. All served by an old asian "grandmother" that made me feel like I was far away from Copenhagen.

Authentic flavours all the way!

I added a Asahi beer (from draft) to keep me hydrated (the Shishamo is quite salty) and also a warm cup of sake. Great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited last week, without having booked a table up front.
The service was exceptional and the food was great!
We ordered sushi, dumplings and sake.
The place is small but clean and the staff is smiling and helpful.

I would definitely go there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tottlemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BENTO Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to BENTO Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing