We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khun Juk Oriental

Khun Juk Oriental
Ranked #16 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $146
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and wonderful service. I would return here again next time. Better Thai food than we had in Phuket, definitely!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    113
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best Asian/Thai restaurants I have visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

On a recent trip to Copenhagen, prior to embarking on a cruise, my partner and I decided to visit The Khun Juk Restaurant, following the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.

The restaurant is a little tricky to find as it is situated in a courtyard and building behind the main street buildings. Access is gained through a small passageway.

Although the restaurant was busy and we had not made a reservation, a table was found for us without difficulty.

The menu offers a small range of starters and main courses with a more extensive choice a la carte.

I chose the mixed seafood salad as starters with roasted lamb to follow. My partner selected avocado with crab followed by duck for the main course.

The courses are made to order. My starter was one of the largest I have seen with plentiful assorted high quality seafood with some side seasonings. The dish was absolutely wonderful - although rather large for a starter. In many restaurants a portion such as this would have been regarded as the main course or even to be shared by two or more people.

Shortly afterwards, the roast lamb appeared. Again, extremely generous portions and superbly prepared. Unfortunately, due the size of the starter, I was unable to complete the main course. A matter of deep regret.

My partner’s selection was equally large and of excellent quality.

The staff were extremely attentive without being persistent and we both thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one having a liking for Asian/Thai cuisine, but advise ensuring one does not eat too much prior to arrival.

You will not be disappointed.

Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank silver_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai Experience in CPH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Not only best Thai experience one of the best restaurants I've visited!! Food was great, I even noticed on their menu they have a starter with 6 small plates and they called it Thaipass comparing to Spanish Tapas, very Creative!!
Staff were amazing very friendly, helpful, generous as we finished our bottle of wine and they saw us still sitting there and enjoying the good decoration, vibe, atmosphere outside they brought us another two glass of wine on the house which was really nice of them..
And as we stayed till basically they wanted to close, I went to the toilet and was so nice seeing all the staff from Thailand gathered as a family enjoying their meal and they kept asking me to join them, very friendly people.
It's a must visit restaurant, I am sure you will enjoy the whole experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We discovered this little restaurant on a recent weekend trip.We found the food and the service to be of a very high standard. We had not booked but still managed to get a table on a Saturday night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great little hidden restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I visited the restaurant after a workday and it was quite hard to find as it is located at a courtyard. I sat outside on a rainy day and enjoyed the heaters.

Service was quite average and slow, but polite. Staff was probably planned to cover the inside tables of the restaurant, so terrace was kind of extra burden for them.

Asian Food was very good and I would definitely go again. Reservations are recommended as the place is quite small.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khun Juk Oriental also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Khun Juk Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing