We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to take a crowd of gourmets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khun Juk Oriental

Khun Juk Oriental
Ranked #16 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $146
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
København
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to take a crowd of gourmets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a member of a a group of people, all very interested in cooking. When it it was my turn to come up with a restaurant to invite for something special there was no doubt in my mind: Khun Juk Oriental.
The crowd is rather spoiled and used to travelling but all agreed: Khun Juk Oriental is amazing!
The whole package - right from the reception from a smiling and helpful Juk himself, beautiful and tastefful surroundings to a fantastic experience in respect to the food. And the wine Juk suggested matched "spot on" and helped giving us the impression of professionalism, right down to the smallest detail. We chose the menu. And it turned out to be a very good choice indeed. Beautifully balanced and spicy in exactly the right way. The mints that came with the coffee - what a great finale! We cannot wait to be back. True value for money. Thank you and see you soon! Lise Norup

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lise n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    113
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Khun Juk is oriental not Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I love this restaurant and I've been a regular guest for more than 10 years. If you care to look at the website Khun Juk never said they were pure thai so people who are disappointed about this fact don't do their home work before they go. Khun Juk is not a cheap thai restaurant but even so for Copenhagen it is a very reasonable priced restaurant especially when you look at the quality of the products they use. Copenhagen is one of the most expensive places to stay so comparing prices with other european cities doesn't make any sense. Someone mentioned crap sticks and must have dreamed. A crap stick has never been served in Khun Juk. They only use crab meat. Luckily most people do understand what Khun Juk is about and the restaurant is often full so if you want to go, book a table in advance. I think it's one of the best values in our city and the service is perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anne juel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having lived in Copenhagen for fourteen months it was a pleasure to discover Khun Juk. The food and the service are faultless and the price was extremely reasonable for this expensive city. No pretensions here - just good food and excellent service. We will definitely return to this lovely little restaurant. A real find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JintyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is truly a hidden gem, tucked away in the courtyard of very old buildinds that make up the central part of Copenhagen.
I have been to Khun Juk many times, and I will return again and again.

The food is not the type of the traditional thaifood (streetfood?), but gourmet thaifood with inspiration from, and a very good interpretation of the french kitchen (fusion you could say). I do like, and eat, very spicy and chilihot food, but then I choose one of the thairestaurants found in the area behind the main trainstation of Copenhagen, but that's another story, altogether. At Khun Juk the food is not "smoke out of your ears" spicy/hot, because wine would not have a chance then, and there is good wine to be had at Khun Juk!
At Knun Juk you 'wine and dine'. Elegant food with wines to match.

There is not 100+ dishes to choose from on the menu, and the concept with the choices on the menu seems to be quality over quantity.

The dishes are plentyful and there is enough of everything, and it is all of the highest quality. Rarely have I had meat that is more tender and cooked to perfection. My pesonal favorite is the lamb.
The seafood is also to be recommended, no immitation anything.

Some reviews here, find the prices too high. I don't, no it is not cheap at Khun Juk if you only look at the prices, but if you compare with the quality you get, then it is more than reasonable.

I usually go there on weekdays when it ,usually, is possible to get a table without a reservation the place is small, only about 15 tables.
Go there early, as local law prohibits the restaurant to stay open after midnight,

The truly traditional thai at Khun Juk is the service. The Legendary Thai Smile!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“hmmmmmm!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

after all the rave reviews I decided to try this place with my wife. We are big fans of Thai food and eat regularly in Thai restaurants on our travels.

Lovely small restaurant, and fantastic service. I mean out of the ordinary good. We sat down and the first surprise was the menu. A decent list of starters but not so many main course choices (and no pad thai, pad si ew, in fact no noodles at all). The starters were nice, a good flavoursome sate chicken with a nice liitle chili kick for me, prawn and crab meat rolls for the mrs. The crab was that crab stick variety and she was a little disappointed. They then brought some amuse bouches which were a nice touch. I had a beef curry, my wife duck...the sauces were identical and while nice i have to agree with traveller 1852 and say they lacked a bit of kick and depth of flavour.

In short this was a nice restaurant with great service but we left feeling that it had been a bit overhyped. It wasnt cheap either. 800dk for two starters, two main courses and a couple beers and a glass of wine? pretty steep. For my money I have had better, cheaper Thai food elsewhere, like Davi Thai in Brussels for instance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stoneislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khun Juk Oriental also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Khun Juk Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing