We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal we had in Copenhagen”

Madklubben Bistro De Luxe
Ranked #205 of 2,350 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Copenhagen”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would definitely recommend Madklubben bistro de luxe if you are looking to eat a very good meal for under 200 Kroner in Copenhagen. It is one of the most affordable dining experiences in Copenhagen!

I had the pork cheeks and the meat was cooked to tender perfection. You get three nicely sized portions of pork, enough to satisfy your appetite. We ordered three desserts to share, the highlight of which was the hazelnut mousse with its smooth but crunchy texture.

The staff were friendly though it was evident they were a bit short staffed, however we went on Valentine's Day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    223
    85
    32
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting menu but vegetarian/vegan options could be better”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were a bigger party so we ordered our food in advance. Interesting dishes and the ambiance in the restaurant was very nice. Service was a bit hasty but the restaurant was full so could be explained by that.

We were a couple who had vegan and vegetarian menus, and those really could be better. The food was good, but a bit dull, the vegan main dish was two grilled carrots with some things on the side, the vegetarian onions in a delicious sauce.

Overall a nice concept with regional and seasonal food, a very good price and nice ambiance and design of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKSLFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“De-li-ci-ous!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very crowded places but crowded for a reason - it's very delicious in there! Highly recommended! if we ever go back to CPH - we'll definitely go back here and to Taste few doors down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
441 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent food and equally nice drinks and service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was here recently with a couple of friends. The food was really excellent; meat as well as vegetable. Fresh and tasty indeed. The white wine was dry, whereas the port was just right for the cheese. Service was also very good and we indeed did not suffer from being at "big", busy restaurant.
Note: booking early is probably advantageous as you get a table at the front rather than at the back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good food and attentive service despite the size”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a place good for either a business dinner with plenty of co-workers or for a romantic dining. The rear is very wide and can host party dinners with copious guests, while the front offers a more intimate dining experience.
The food is excellent and the utmost choice of prime ingredients makes it a typical danish eatery.
Great meet and wide selection of beers and wines for a great dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValerioVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madklubben Bistro De Luxe also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Madklubben Bistro De Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing