We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious platter of treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Puk

Restaurant Puk
Reserve with
Restaurant Puk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Gastropub, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Restaurant PUK is a classic and historic Danish restaurant in the very heart of Copenhagen. It is one of the oldest restaurants in Copenhagen with a history dating back to 1750. Here came the Danish King Christian VII along with his mistress in the late 19th century when they were in town together. You can enjoy all the traditional Danish courses crafted with a blend of respect for tradition and a pride in the art of cooking and the best products from Danish farmers.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious platter of treats”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a superb lunch here. Not sure why it isn't higher up in the ratings as it was excellent homely food in vast quantities. We had one huge platter, felt full, and then another arrived! Which we managed to squeeze in. All delicious and very much worth a visit! Very cosy atmosphere too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadeofshyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    424
    104
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had booked a table for five, and that was probably needed as the restaurant was quite crowded even on a Monday night. The service was very friendly yet professional, and even though the restaurant was almost full for most of our meal we never had to wait for service. The menu is quite traditional, and the food both looked and tasted great. As mentioned by several others the portions are quite large so it might be a good idea to avoid or share the starters. Even though there are cheaper options, I will definately claim that this place gives excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Genuine Danish Experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were recommended to try Puk by the Marriott hotel in Copenhagen. It was a bit ore pricy than other restaurants in the area, but worth the experience. The food was beautifully prepared and professionally presented, and the portions are definitely large enough to fill you up. Be sure to take time to observe the habits of the locals and enjoy the cobblestone streets around the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaredsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Danish comfort food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge. It has traditional Danish food, which sometimes reminds me of German food. We ate outside. My husband had salmon on an oak plank which he really enjoyed. I had sliced, roast pork with red cabbage and potatoes. The portions are huge so we didn't order an appitizer. We ordered an inexpensive bottle of chardonnay and the total was $126 for two. All the food in Denmark (and Sweden) is very expensive for what you get. The food was good but not anything special. Service was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really domestic!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

If u want to try a local food without spending too much this is the restaurant for u!! Really domestic place, the food is good ( try the salmon cooked in the oak with the smashing potatoes) . Only the service is quite slowly. Try it! You. Can reserve also via email

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Puk also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Puk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing