We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really domestic!!!”
Review of Restaurant Puk

Restaurant Puk
Reserve with
Restaurant Puk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 2,462 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Restaurant PUK is a classic and historic Danish restaurant in the very heart of Copenhagen. It is one of the oldest restaurants in Copenhagen with a history dating back to 1750. Here came the Danish King Christian VII along with his mistress in the late 19th century when they were in town together. You can enjoy all the traditional Danish courses crafted with a blend of respect for tradition and a pride in the art of cooking and the best products from Danish farmers.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really domestic!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

If u want to try a local food without spending too much this is the restaurant for u!! Really domestic place, the food is good ( try the salmon cooked in the oak with the smashing potatoes) . Only the service is quite slowly. Try it! You. Can reserve also via email

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    458
    109
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal, good location, but a little on the pricy side”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food here was just excellent. I had the breaded veal and my husband had the a steak that was surrounded by mashed potatoes that was baked and had an herb butter sauce. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. One note, DO NOT ask for other sauces! Take the food as it comes. Trust me, it is just wonderful.

My one warning is this, it is on the pricy side. The meals start from about $26 USD. It was worth it though. They serve LARGE portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akdcwl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good place for Danish food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We took a chance in this one, and were very happy. We had the open sandwiches with herring. Very good. Maybe a bit more brea would have been nice - and probably the waitress would have brought some if we'd asked. I wouldn't bother with the desserts - pretty disappointing for the price. Good value wine.

Other diners had main courses and they looked pretty good (the courses, not the other diners).

We sat outside, but I imagine indoors would be really cosy in he winter.

I would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Soeren was the bomb "Excellent waiter" and Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Puk is a great place in Copenhagen. We travel for a living and think that a good meal is worth the price, especially if it comes with great service. Soeren is professional, friendly, accommodating, and most importantly customer focused. Copenhagen is expensive and sometimes the meals are not worth the price, but Puk always delivers great food in a nice setting. In the summer, we sat outdoors in 3 different occasions and sampled the breaded veal cutlet, the Filet of beef baked with mashed potatoes on a piece of solid oak served with herb-butter, the salmon prepared the same way, Steak served with salad, fries and bearnaise sauce, the pork and everything was consistently great. For beer, Soeren recommended the Danish Red no. 16 and we love it. Sorry, we will not be able to return until next Spring.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Authentic Danish and delicious”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Tried here having read previous reviews., we weren't disappointed. Choose the evening platter for the whole table. great value at £20 a head. It gave us the chance to try dishes which we wouldn't normally have chosen.
The herring in particular was marvellous, in fact all the fish dishes were divine.
Service was prompt and friendly. No hesitation in recommending to other visitors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Puk also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Puk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing