We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Danish lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skindbuksen

Skindbuksen
Ranked #45 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Danish lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Denmark in the past we were seeking a good down to earth smørrebrød lunch and were not disappointed. Located behind the bar Hviids Vinstue on Kongens Nytorv, we were concerned it may be a tourist trap, however apart from one Swede, we appeared to be the only tourists! Thursday lunchtime and lucky we had a reservation. The portions were large, more herring than would fit on the bread, a large cholestrol-threatening slab of leverpostej for the Dyrlægens natmad, the fish fillet and roast beef sandwiches were also very good sizes. A couple of beers and aquavits and the whole lot came out less than dkk500. Great ambience and great service in the restaurant which is a couple of hundred years old. Will visit next time in town

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trevnmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    157
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional restaurant!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We ate traditional Danish dishes which were rich and plenty. The ambiance was homely and the staff were really friendly. The pricing is fair.
Recommended restaurant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was recently Nyhavn area and I chosed this very nice and typical restaurant.

The food and drinks were excellent. the people very friendly, taking into consideration also the good location in the centre of the beautiful Copenhagen, Skindbuksen restaurant it is a real point of reference.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatooine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fab REstaurant!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staff amazingly friendly, great food portions huge!
Authentic Danish evening of good honest food, fab hospitality (thank you Hendrick!) and a sing a long with the locals...fab evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Tasty Danish Smørrebrød!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I found this place wandering around the streets behind Stroget. The yellow exterior caught my eye then the fact the restaurant was full caught my eye.

We went in and were seated straight away at the last table they had available. We ordered the Smørrebrød. I ordered the roast pork one and my husband ordered the smoked salmon one. Both were absolutely delicious and incredibly fresh tasting, and the crackling that came with my pork was to die for. Very reasonable for Copenhagen prices too.

The interior is old and very cozy with ample character. Will definitely re-visit next time I'm in Copenhagen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skindbuksen also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Skindbuksen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing