We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skindbuksen

Skindbuksen
Ranked #42 of 2,311 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We asked our hotel hostess for a local, good, Danish restaurant in the neighborhood. Caveat: Not recommended for pure vegetarians. Off menu was a Tomato soup the waitress recommended which was excellent. The fish and chips had herbs and pickled onions on top. Was very good. The smoked salmon and asparagus was served on toast topped with lettuce. It was quite a large portion. Very good. There are seats outside, where the smokers sit and seating a few steps down inside at long benches/tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TippyGirlTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    157
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious Danish food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant as we wanted typical Danish food, which I love. The waitress and waiter could not have been more friendly or helpful. They recommended a platter of a variety of food. Too be honest it was delicious, but a lot of food, we could not have eaten it all maybe we should have gotten the smaller platter! The cost was totally reasonable. We really enjoyed the piano player. I also loved that when I asked for a second glass of wine the waitress brought over the bottle and literally filled my glass to the top. We were only in Copenhagen a short time, but I would absolutely have gone back. It seemed to be mostly locals when we were ther.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service, nice food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant to us. We arrived there on Friday night and it was very busy, but the nice waitress did all she could to arrange a table for eight for us. She moved some tables around, asked other guests to move a little bit and we got our table. The food was very nice, big portions at reasonable prices. When the sun gave away for a real shower we all fled inside, where there was a guitarist and a lot of singing went on. Very nice. I warmly recommend the place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabineIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wanted to show indigenous Danish food to my publisher during pur joint stay in Copenhagen, and - after rainy trip to Bakken - we entered Skindbuksen wet and hungry.

Flæskesteg with rødkål, kartofler and brun sovs - that was our choice.
We took laso Røde Aalborg and Leffe beer.

So, we got plenty of food, real pork, real Danish food for Christmas but it is served during whole year.

Delicious food, charming old waiter who was smiling on my Danish.

It is old place, usualy full of tourists and some Danes who remember the golden days of this værtshus...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crnkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the search”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place was great. Awesome traditional danish food. Fairly priced in this expensive city. It is 100% a bar with fabulous food and great "bar service" - pokes & jokes so take your sense of humor.

Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skindbuksen also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Skindbuksen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing