We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Copenhagen!”
Review of Pastis

Pastis
Ranked #297 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Copenhagen!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is just one of those places, I keep returning to. And there is a very good reason for that: The food is absolutely delicious, the level of service is extremely high and the atmospere is cozy and laid back during the week and vibrant in the weekends.

They are known for their Steak Frites and if you try it, you'll know why! However, I always go for the fried turbot. It comes in a white wine sauce with crispy vegetables. If you have room for dessert, try the chocolate mousse.

I always leave this place with a smile on my face.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissSandraCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    162
    41
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strib, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little Paris in Copenhagen”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

No, this is not one of the best meals i've ever had in my life - it is what it is; a steak with frites and bearnaise sauce - but it really is an amazing and fun experience. And food tastes great. Simplicity overall and the ingredients at its finest.

Steak is really good and the frites/bearnaise are to die for; really good. Prices is rather high, but it's totally worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank owj1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice atmosphere and food. Location is a bit off, but the entire experience makes up for this! A good tip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurCoolFamilyofSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good French food in Copenhagen”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Found Pastis on a review site for Copenhagen and very glad we made it for lunch. Although the fixed price daily lunch menu offerings did not sound appealing ( a bit heavy for a hot summer day), our meals were very good.

We were seated promptly, and offered drinks and menus. Bread took longer to arrive but was worth the wait. We notices the wall art is provocative but very French - nudes in photos around the place. But back to the important bit - the food.

My friend ordered the steak tartare, which the waitress checked we knew was served raw. It was a generous serve of quality meat with a well dressed side salad of mixed leaves and moreish fries. I
had the steak sandwich which was a huge warm bun with lots of steak cooked medium rare, a large helping of caramelised onions, melted gruyere, gherkins, sundried tomatoes and mixed leaves, with accompanied by a pickle relish. It was huge and hard to resist - when all else failed and l was full, the bun was neglected a bit.

Service was a little slow, but we had time to spare, so not an issue on this occasion. Came to 355 kroner before tips and don't begrudge the cost at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonstar1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Delicious Find”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On our way to a parking garage, we passed Pastis. Many people were eating lunch, which piqued our interest. We reviewed the menu, & decided to eat dinner there with our adult children & their mates. All of us were very, very pleased with our meals. Two sons ordered a rabbit dish, which they said was outstanding. The rest of us ate a cod dish. Again, we were all very, very pleased. The French fries are crispy yum. We ate there another evening, & were not disappointed. It was a second terrific dinner. We intend to eat their again before returning home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hehamero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastis also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing