We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner ”
Review of Kiin Kiin

Kiin Kiin
Ranked #83 of 2,785 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $180
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrebro
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Incredible service and a wonderful dining experience. The food is so unique and full of flavor. It was possibly the best dining experience of my life. Dish after dish of unique takes on Thai food! I am surely to be back here and to recommend this establishment to any friends visiting Copenhagen.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank maneli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 847 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

After doing extensive research, I decided to check out Kiin Kiin for our last meal on our trip to Copenhagen. To preface, Thai food is one of my favorite type of food. Ever. So, even though we weren't in Thailand, the opportunity to try, "The best Thai food outside of Thailand" was impossible to resist! Especially after weeks of eating Italian cuisine in Italy, I was ready to reward myself to a meal that embodied bold flavors, balance, and more!

To start off, the service and ambiance of this restaurant is very notable. The interaction between the server and the guests are extremely well thought out to ensure that the guests receive a thoroughly enriching experience.

There are a few dishes that truly did stand out. I've divided them into 2 categories: experience versus palate/taste.

For palate/taste, I thought the following were delicious Thai dishes with an elaborate Nordic spin:

The apertif:
- Lotus root chip with lime leaves (perfectly crisp)
- Soy meringue with cashew in a wasabi yogurt dipping sauce (the texture of the meringue and the hint of heat from the wasabi was amazing)
- Chang Mai sausage (though it wasn't served hot, it was definitely flavorful)

In the restaurant:
- Salad with celery scallops and spicy marinade (the dressing was definitely truer to the spices and tastes of traditional Thai cuisines, the scallop was so soft, and the greens were so beautiful and fresh)
- tom ka with chanterelle mushroom (incredible how the coconut soups comes out frozen in nitrogen and when ready to eat, it mixes in so well with the different herbs and sauces on the plate)
- the lobster with Thai ginger and sweet basil (the lobster was cooked perfectly! The Thai ginger and sweet basil were a bit too glazey/sweet... Almost like a sweet and sour glaze)
- braised beef massaman (the beef was cooked perfectly medium rare. However, again, the sauce it was sitting it was way too salty).
- sticky rice with poached peaches (the experience was beautiful as the cotton candy like top melted under the beautiful creamy coconut milk, the sticky rice and poached peaches were so delicious, but be careful, it's very very sweet.)

For the experience, but not so much the taste:

The chef did some beautiful things that made the experience phenomenal.

- koh Samui on chaweng beach: to drink a tom yum soup out of straw from a bowl of sand and shells is just... Wow. So incredibly creative! However, the taste of the soup was a bit too heavy on the salt and fish sauce.

- chai meng sausage: when they bring this out, they also bring to you the scents of thailands street. Quite an amazing experience!

So why the 3 star review?
Salty
Too much glaze
Too much.

It at times felt like a beautiful dish, but tasted like something I could get at a fast food take out, Americanized Asian cuisine restaurant. It was way too heavily reliant on the glazes and the thick sauces--which do not ring true thai cuisine to me.

At $400 for two without wine, I expect to be not only blown away by the experience, but by the actual food. Unfortunately, I've just had way too many great Thai cuisine experiences that Kiin Kiin was a bit disappointing. But... It was a beautiful experience. I will definitely leave Copenhagen with the memories of the dining experience, just not the tastes of it deeply emblazoned on my mind.

(If in San Francisco, you MUST try Lers Ros Thai).

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Jennell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

The tasting menu is imaginative and fun, for example, there is a cheeky offering of a bowl full of sand and shells where the (spicy, delicious) soup is hidden in a small bag under the sand, to be drunk with a straw. Fresh and startling tastes, a real experience in gastronomy. On the night we were there, it appeared that the restaurant was overwhelmed by the number of covers and half-way through, the food simply stopped coming out of the kitchen. We had to wait some 45 minutes between one course and the next at that stage and the dinner took 4 hours because of those delays. That really diminishes the experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliceTripAdvsior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful and innovative way to present food. On the other hand the flavors were quite subtle except for the dishes with chili, which was the dominant flavor. There is a fixed menu and no a la carte. There is a quite relaxing atmosphere and the sits and table are very cozy. Our favorites, the ginger beer and the beef with mushrooms (can't remember the right name)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank The40travelingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

What a trip through the excellente thai cousine! Flavoursom, delicate, potent. The entire meal, approximatly 15-18 courses, was beautifully presented with artistic flair.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Norwegianfoodiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiin Kiin also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kiin Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.