We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative and Creative”
Review of Kiin Kiin

Kiin Kiin
Ranked #83 of 2,785 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $180
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrebro
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Had the wonderful opportunity to eat at Kiin Kiin on a two day stay in Copenhagen. The tasting menu was fun and definitely creative. One of the small tasting was a fruity drink fashioned with a straw immersed in sand. It got the better of my husband and he pulled it up to see how they did it. The server told us that in Thailand, recycling is a way of life for some people, so instead of giving the customer a container of drink, the vendor would pour into plastic bag, insert straw, tie it and serve to customer. This was same idea! Food was very good from the creative appetizers to the small plates. We enjoyed all of it

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carrot2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 182 of 847 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016

A warm welcome and so many pleasant and wonderful surprises, also a touch of magic. The food surpassed our expectations which were extremely high. Delicacies kept coming at a fast pace. Our senses were bombarded with sensations so that we departed after hours of pleasure sated and with a mild sensory overload. After such an experience a meditative stroll by the lake under the full moon is appropriate. The food though obviously S.E. Asian was like nothing I have experienced in Thailand or Viet Nam. Both the presentation and the flavors were sumptuous. The wine menu was excellent though not quite as awe inspiring.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

What is better than Kiin Kiin on a raining Friday night in July. Started with the 6 different snacks in the basement - all tastefull an inventive. Moved upstairs for the tasting menu - the dishes were well prepared, inventive and from the beginning to the end an exciting experience. We drank beer and I would recommend this drinks for this type of food. We are looking forward coming back in the near future. Thanks for a great evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 17annen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We booked a meal here before we travelled. Having never done a Thai Michelin star restaurant before we weren't sure what to expect. It was wonderful from start to finish, with service to match ( without being pretentious). The restaurant called me in the morning to ask about dietary requirements which was good. I don't want to start describing fishes as I dint want to spoil the surprise for future guests. The effort that had gone into each dish was evident with all dishes served in a very creative way. The was such a wide range of experiences, different ways of delivering Thai flavours and aromas. We chose to do the wine matching drinks package and as a result of which have tried some exquisite wines. We had an extra dessert course back downstairs in the lounge area (where pre dinner street food snacks are served. The chef came out to see us, it was lovely to chat to her. It is expensive but worth it. Book in advance as it isn't that big inside. Oh and the toilets are lovely too!! It you are a foodie and enjoy Thai food and all things Thai this is a must!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

We are on the side of those who found the explosions of flavor from each dish, mains as well as taster bites, extraordinary. My need to eat gluten free was fully and cheerfully met. Service met the same standard. This is in effect a Thai kaiseki restaurant -- there is one set menu (although for some courses we were given two different versions, one for each of us, and invited to share) and the presentations are highly imaginative and individualized -- variations to please the eyes as well as the tongue. From a foodie perspective, then, a great meal.

But the cost -- over $200 per person once one added in the VAT, water, three unimpressive glasses of wine, tip (! in two weeks dining well in Paris and Copenhagen, the first time leaving a tip was suggested to us on presentation of our credit card), and an additional charge for using a credit card (ditto). For that reason only, we probably would not return.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiin Kiin also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kiin Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.