We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai-ken away”
Review of Kiin Kiin

Kiin Kiin
Ranked #83 of 2,785 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $180
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrebro
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

What is better than Kiin Kiin on a raining Friday night in July. Started with the 6 different snacks in the basement - all tastefull an inventive. Moved upstairs for the tasting menu - the dishes were well prepared, inventive and from the beginning to the end an exciting experience. We drank beer and I would recommend this drinks for this type of food. We are looking forward coming back in the near future. Thanks for a great evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 17annen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 847 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2016

We booked a meal here before we travelled. Having never done a Thai Michelin star restaurant before we weren't sure what to expect. It was wonderful from start to finish, with service to match ( without being pretentious). The restaurant called me in the morning to ask about dietary requirements which was good. I don't want to start describing fishes as I dint want to spoil the surprise for future guests. The effort that had gone into each dish was evident with all dishes served in a very creative way. The was such a wide range of experiences, different ways of delivering Thai flavours and aromas. We chose to do the wine matching drinks package and as a result of which have tried some exquisite wines. We had an extra dessert course back downstairs in the lounge area (where pre dinner street food snacks are served. The chef came out to see us, it was lovely to chat to her. It is expensive but worth it. Book in advance as it isn't that big inside. Oh and the toilets are lovely too!! It you are a foodie and enjoy Thai food and all things Thai this is a must!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

We are on the side of those who found the explosions of flavor from each dish, mains as well as taster bites, extraordinary. My need to eat gluten free was fully and cheerfully met. Service met the same standard. This is in effect a Thai kaiseki restaurant -- there is one set menu (although for some courses we were given two different versions, one for each of us, and invited to share) and the presentations are highly imaginative and individualized -- variations to please the eyes as well as the tongue. From a foodie perspective, then, a great meal.

But the cost -- over $200 per person once one added in the VAT, water, three unimpressive glasses of wine, tip (! in two weeks dining well in Paris and Copenhagen, the first time leaving a tip was suggested to us on presentation of our credit card), and an additional charge for using a credit card (ditto). For that reason only, we probably would not return.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Not sure if this place needs another raving review but here it is.
Outstanding food, phenomenal flavors. If you a foodie it may very well be the best meal you've ever had. Reserve it for special occasions since it is a 5 hour experience and come hungry.
There were some comments about safety of the neighborhood. Do not worry. Normal middle class appartment buildings neighborhood. We took bus 5A from the city hall and back late after midnight with absolutely no issues or safety concerns on Monday night.
Cons: service seems to be a little overwhelmed especially at the start. We were getting a lot of snacks in the beginning (whivh they warn us about) but it took awhile to get drinks on the table. Later on everything flowed very nicely.
There is no room here to describe all the dishes but here some pictures.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank loveotpusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016

We were astonished at the poor quality of the food and drinks here. The initial welcome was actually second to none and we were entertain and "wowed" with a series of taster bites, all of which are delicious. So it was with great expectations we went through to the main dining area. Unfortunately things went down hill from here. The food is generally mediocre, with the same combination of lemon grass, coriander and chillies and a lot of peanuts in almost everything! The tastes were generally very strong, and not something one expects from fine dining, where there is usually subtlety and elegance to the flavours. There were also courses that seemed absurd, such as a 2 sip drink given to you in a big bowl of sand and shells decorations, in which a small plastic bag with the drink and a straw is buried! The other thing we felt was insulting to customers used to fine dining, was the juice menu. While the juice menu at another Michelin star restaurant we ate at in the same trip was carefully matched to enhance the dining experience, here there was nothing of that thought and care. Instead they simply brought various juices in one after another, and to be honest, we would not be surprise if we had snuck round the back to find a stack of Fanta cans open, as one of the juices tasted like that! Another juice tasted like carton mango drink watered down! We couldn't wait to leave. It was a terribly gimmicky and disappointing evening.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiin Kiin also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kiin Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.