We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much mixed thai like food try”
Review of Kiin Kiin

Kiin Kiin
Ranked #83 of 2,785 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $181
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrebro
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Snacks were 8 which was more than enough to make us full before the menu starts. We were also shocked by the portions of the testing menu. Most of them were very inventive and in a very different service style but unfortunately I can not say the same for the taste of this very mixed in other words forced to create something very different. I am more on the taste and simpleness rather than the show and mix part.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank cemydurukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 189 of 847 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

One of our party is Thai and her husband wanted to take the four of us to a good quality Thai restaurant while here in Copenhagen.

A quick search of Thai restaurant reviews rated Kiin Kiin highly. Luckily, the restaurant was able to fit us in. A Tuesday night and Kiin Kiin was packed. Having now experienced the inventive Thai fusion dishes served here it is easy to understand why. Deconstructed dishes, the use of foam, dry ice and smoke, brings not only the flavours of various areas of Thailand but also the smells of Bangkok.

The menu is a fixed course degustation style, but adjusted for any allergies. Tonight's menu consisted of 9 courses, not including 7 starter dishes. There is an accompanying wine flight and non-alcoholic juice flight as well. Their own brewed beers are also available - the Kiin beer brewed with Lemon and Lime was refreshing.

Most of the dishes worked wonderfully, although the cold red curry ice cream with scallops and white asparagus raised eye brows and a shake of the head from our Thai native.

It is not cheap - 985dk plus 486dk for the wine flight or 385dk for the juice menu, but worth every Kronor.

Kiin Kiin would rate up there as one of the best Thai restaurants I have tried. I would put it up there with Nahm Restaurant in Bangkok in terms of presentation, attentiveness of service, taste and inventiveness.

Would I come here again? In a heartbeat.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Ordnance54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Our visit to Copenhagen was rather brief, so we were very selective about our restaurant choices. Our dinner experience at Kiin Kiin was absolutely wonderful in every aspect. The staff was incredibly friendly, the ambiance was intimate and relaxing, the food was ultra-fresh and exquisitely prepared (all 8 appetizers and 9 courses), and the presentation was so charmingly original that we eagerly anticipated each forthcoming delight! We will be talking about the experience for years to come, and the memories make it worth twice the price.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank fdchaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

This was my second time at Kiin Kiin (the first time was in 2013). There were several changes to the menu from 2013 and it was definitely enjoyable both times. The service was exceptional and the owner/chef's involvement was definitely a positive. If you are looking at a weekend of Friday night, you will have to book way in advance.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlWain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Fans of Thai food, we could never have imagined the creative menu and over-the-top dining experience at Kiin Kiin. We began in the comfortable living room atmosphere downstairs where we were served our choice of cocktail and 7 or 8 appetizers -- unlike anything we've ever had: Lotus roots with lime leaves; soy merengue with cashews; miang kam crispy wonton; satay bonito flan; aubergine relish; chiang mai sausage. Each appetizer was presented in a unique server (no conventional dishware) with an explanation of the food by a well-trained server. (One of our group was gluten-intolerant, and special dishes were provided for her as required to meet her needs.) After the appetizer courses, we were led upstairs for the 'main' dining. Here we enjoyed 9 more courses, including a soup where each of us literally injected tofu from a syringe into the broth, creating a tofu noodle. Next was an asparagus with sweet miso and ginger; a salad which began as a bowl of cotton candy (Yes!) colored green from cucumber and sprinkled with watercress. The server mixed chiles, ginger and spices with soy and poured it over the cotton candy which melted like the Witch of the West. By this time we were very satisfied and thrilled with our experience, and there was yet more to come: Curried asparagus with mint; sweet breads with tamarin; braised beef in oyster sauce with ginger; and dessert: banana cake with salted ice cream. It was truly a meal to remember. The cost was exorbitant, but it was a unique experience that we will not forget.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet355
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiin Kiin also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kiin Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.