We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Toldbod Bodega

Toldbod Bodega
Ranked #283 of 2,350 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Probably the oldest restaurant in Copenhagen meets with charm and hospitality.
Felt there like dining at home.
Very good Danish national cuisine.
Recommend testing local Akvavit. It reminded me of Czech Beherovka.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DmitryMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    44
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quirky, fun, and generous”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A small eatery to the North of the city advertises as "probably the oldest restaurant in town". Warmly welcomed, and attentive to my wife's special dietary needs. A place to visit for an evening - food wasn't "fast", but was delicious & inventive. Yes, we will definitely go there again if visiting Copenhagen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have enjoyd this establishment for many years. It was one of my favorites in Copenhagen. In fact I met my wife here 9 years ago.

Back then it was a place with a a good atmosphere, really good food and a friendly personal service. Today, there is still a good atmosphere and the food is still a good. But the friendly, personal service has sadly gone!

If you want to enjoy a traditional Danish lunch, try it out. But be patient, the hours between the dishes you have ordered, are long! .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, inviting and wonderful food too boot! ”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place charms you as soon as you walk through the door. The happy welcoming faces of the polite and warm staff are always happy to help you with a table or to serve you a fine beer. The food we ordered was wonderful, really flavoursome home cooking style dishes that match the mood and decor. No pretentiousness here.

There is no Wifi and the food might have had a touch too much salt for me but that matched the rich home cooking style. Its worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, décor and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is with no doubt in top 3 of traditional Danish lunch places in Copenhagen. Service is a bit slow and it takes time getting your food but it’s worth waiting for. Prices are slightly above average but you’ll get quality here - definitely worth a visit if you want to try the real thing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toldbod Bodega also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Toldbod Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing